1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root HTC One SV - Boost - Stuck on Splash Screen

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by BizzeBomB, Feb 7, 2014.

  1. BizzeBomB

    BizzeBomB Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2014

    Feb 7, 2014
    4
    2
    6
    As the title suggests, I've gone and done it! This is my first post on this forum but I have read dozens if not hundreds of pages on this forum in the past. I somehow managed to break my HTC One SV and was hoping if anyone more knowledgeable than I may be able to assist?

    So I unlocked it, installed CWM recovery, turned S-OFF, gave it superuser and finally had the phone in perfect condition. I should have just left it alone at that point but I kept trying to improve it. My main issue was that my internal memory for app management kept saying ~3.0GB of 4.0GB consumed even though when I ran a disk check utility my amount of space consumed by apps was <1GB. So I eventually just tried everything I could think of to clear out the internal memory in case there was a rogue file eating up space.

    I first tried to increase the partition size from inside the ROM. Then I tried increasing the partition size from inside CWM recovery. Then I tried to wipe dalvik cache, wipe cache, factory reset/wipe data... after that was done I went into hboot and chose "clear storage". Ever since then, all I can do is look at the splash screen.

    I've tried loading an alternative kernel (simon's kernel), I tried flashing in the stock boot/recovery and running factory reset, I tried putting recovery back to CWM and running a restore (thanks to wetbiker7)... when I run the restore it gets stuck on restoring the /system directory. I went into advanced restore and it can restore everything else but not /system.

    It gives an error saying:

    E: format_volume: make_extf4fs failed on /dev/block/mmcblk0p33
    Error while formatting /system!

    I've also tried running RUU and it fails as well...

    I get two different errors when attempting to run RUU respective to the amount of times tried.

    1st error:
    <bootloader>zip info parsing....
    FAILED <remote: 24 parsing android-info fail>

    2nd error:
    sending 'zip' <421760 KB>...
    FAILED <remote: 02 data length is too large>

    I'm really at a loss here and not quite sure what steps to try next.

    Another thing I noticed was ... before when I went to adb shell and checked the /system folder with the ls or du command I could see files and directory structures... now it appears to just be blank and I can't mount /system anymore.

    Please help?
     

    Advertisement

  2. palmtree5

    palmtree5 Sunny Vacation Supporter!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #38
    Points:
    633
    Posts:
    4,538
    Joined:
    May 2, 2012

    May 2, 2012
    4,538
    3,345
    633
    Male
    Student
    USA
    First, welcome to AF!

    When you say you ran the RUU, are you referring to this thread or the official RUU (available here)?
     
    BizzeBomB likes this.
  3. russellvone

    russellvone Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    660
    Joined:
    May 23, 2013

    May 23, 2013
    660
    177
    123
    Male
    fabricator
    @BizzeBomB

    please post with your device's info.....

    K2_CL?

    K2PLC_CL?

    K2_U?

    K2_UL?

    and which android version your currently running

    also if you have moonshine hboot RUUs won't work, you'll have to flash correct Hboot first then RUU

    good luck, and please if you have any more questions ask and AF will do our best to assist you
     
    BizzeBomB likes this.
  4. palmtree5

    palmtree5 Sunny Vacation Supporter!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #38
    Points:
    633
    Posts:
    4,538
    Joined:
    May 2, 2012

    May 2, 2012
    4,538
    3,345
    633
    Male
    Student
    USA
    Can't be the Boost version (K2_CL) because his system partition appears to be mmcblk0p33 (which is the system partition on all the non-Boost versions (according to various posts in this thread on XDA))
     
  5. Lordvincent 90

    Lordvincent 90 ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    583
    Posts:
    5,559
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011

    Oct 5, 2011
    5,559
    4,444
    583
    Male
    entertainer
    grand rapids,mi
    The title says boost. Could they just be using the wrong recovery? (0p33 is cdma_record on boost btw, i just checked)
     
    russellvone likes this.
  6. palmtree5

    palmtree5 Sunny Vacation Supporter!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #38
    Points:
    633
    Posts:
    4,538
    Joined:
    May 2, 2012

    May 2, 2012
    4,538
    3,345
    633
    Male
    Student
    USA
    Wow, don't know why I didn't think of that
     
  7. Lordvincent 90

    Lordvincent 90 ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    583
    Posts:
    5,559
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011

    Oct 5, 2011
    5,559
    4,444
    583
    Male
    entertainer
    grand rapids,mi
    :p
     
  8. palmtree5

    palmtree5 Sunny Vacation Supporter!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #38
    Points:
    633
    Posts:
    4,538
    Joined:
    May 2, 2012

    May 2, 2012
    4,538
    3,345
    633
    Male
    Student
    USA
    Could be I'm more focused on the KK build I'm working on
     
    Lordvincent 90 likes this.
  9. russellvone

    russellvone Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    660
    Joined:
    May 23, 2013

    May 23, 2013
    660
    177
    123
    Male
    fabricator
    I'm an idiot sometimes....seems like he figured it out without us
     
    BizzeBomB likes this.
  10. BizzeBomB

    BizzeBomB Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2014

    Feb 7, 2014
    4
    2
    6
    Sorry for the delayed response. Had to go to the hospital with a family member yesterday and been kind out of the loop electronically last couple days.

    I'm on Boost, I used K2_CL if I recall correctly and last version of Android that was working on it prior to this was 4.1.2.

    What is the correct way of flashing the hboot back to stock hboot so I can attempt an RUU?

    As for the RUU that I downloaded, I believe it was from the androidruu.com site.

    Sorry for the delayed response again.
     
  11. russellvone

    russellvone Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    660
    Joined:
    May 23, 2013

    May 23, 2013
    660
    177
    123
    Male
    fabricator
    decrypted_k2_cl_2.06.653.6_rom.zip

    charge your phone above 30% charge

    rename this to PL80IMG.zip and flash through bootloader
    (power off, volume down plus power)

    or

    flash through fastboot

    fastboot erase cache

    fastboot oem rebootRUU

    fastboot flash zip decrypted_k2_cl_2.06.653.6_rom.zip

    (if you get any errors just flash it again...... fastboot flash zip decrypted_k2_cl_2.06.653.6_rom.zip)

    fastboot reboot
     
  12. BizzeBomB

    BizzeBomB Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2014

    Feb 7, 2014
    4
    2
    6
    K, gonna download it tonight and then give it a try tomorrow sometime. I'll report back with the results... ::fingers crossed::
     
    russellvone likes this.
  13. BizzeBomB

    BizzeBomB Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2014

    Feb 7, 2014
    4
    2
    6
    HALLELUJAH! My phone is back up and working! Thank you tremendously! Just for future reference, the RUU I used wasn't working because it wasn't signed for the moonshine hboot, is that right or...???
     
    irishobo likes this.
  14. Fhoudek

    Fhoudek Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    May 10, 2014

    May 10, 2014
    7
    0
    5
    I have the same issue Boost HTC One SV. tried bootloader said it finished with PM80img.zip on eternal sd card. Still hangs at start screen HTC quietly brilliant.
    bootloader) version: 0.5
    (bootloader) version-bootloader: 2.21.0000
    (bootloader) version-baseband: 1.12.50.0516
    (bootloader) version-cpld: None
    (bootloader) version-microp: None
    (bootloader) version-main: 3.05.653.3
    (bootloader) version-misc: PVT SHIP S-ON
    (bootloader) serialno: <moderator redacted>
    (bootloader) imei: <moderator redacted>
    (bootloader) meid: <moderator redacted>
    (bootloader) product: k2_cl
    (bootloader) platform: HBOOT-8930
    (bootloader) modelid: PL8011000
    (bootloader) cidnum: SPCS_003
    (bootloader) battery-status: good
    (bootloader) battery-voltage: 4289mV
    (bootloader) partition-layout: Generic
    (bootloader) security: on
    (bootloader) build-mode: SHIP
    (bootloader) boot-mode: FASTBOOT
    (bootloader) commitno-bootloader: dirty-4dc34ae
    (bootloader) hbootpreupdate: 11
    (bootloader) gencheckpt: 0

    Can you help?
     
  15. palmtree5

    palmtree5 Sunny Vacation Supporter!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #38
    Points:
    633
    Posts:
    4,538
    Joined:
    May 2, 2012

    May 2, 2012
    4,538
    3,345
    633
    Male
    Student
    USA
    The file should be PL80IMG.zip not PM80IMG.zip
     
    Fhoudek and scary alien like this.
  16. ModdingMyMind

    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    That zip is decrypted... I'm not sure it will work if you are S-On, but I could be wrong since they are the legit firmware files. Would definitely like feedback if it did work on an S-On device.
     
  17. Fhoudek

    Fhoudek Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    May 10, 2014

    May 10, 2014
    7
    0
    5
    OK I have s-ON. and it doesn't work. My phone is still soft bricked. have figure out how to get s-OFF working.
     
  18. Fhoudek

    Fhoudek Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    May 10, 2014

    May 10, 2014
    7
    0
    5
    My typo mistake. File is actually correct PL80IMG.ZIP I have s-ON so that maybe the issue?
     
  19. fsteinmiller

    fsteinmiller Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    May 18, 2014

    May 18, 2014
    5
    0
    5
    I think Im having the same problem as Fhoudek here. I recently tried to help my wife with her Boost HTC One SV. She did the OTA update to 4.2.2 and was unhappy with the interface changes, she wanted it back the way it was. I have had experience with rooting and such with my Epic 4g Touch. I was able to get the bootloader unlocked, put TWRP recovery, then found a couple good links for nandroids. I was in good shape but the WIFI was not working. It would try to turn on, but never finish. So I went googling again, and read that I needed to update the kernel. I tried a couple different boot.img files and still nothing...then something happened, and now all i get is the splash screen. The phone will not boot. I have done quite a bit of reading, tried all the methods here, all seem to go thru successful...but still no boot. I am still S-ON, as this happened before i got a chance to run moonshine. I can still use fastboot. I can still use TWRP. I think something got leftover in one of the boot.img flashes...but I am unable to perform a "fastboot erase boot"...it gives me a "remote: not allowed" FAIL. and every time I flash a new ROM, restore a nandroid, or use any of the RUU updates...it still will not boot.

    Thanks in advance for any and all help.
     
  20. ModdingMyMind

    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    To use an RUU you must relock your bootloader if you are S-On.

    When you use a backup made by a custom recovery while S-On and the bootloader is unlocked you must take the boot.img inside the backup and flash it using fastboot on your computer - the custom recovery cannot restore your boot.img unless you are S-Off. This goes with flashing roms also.
     
    fsteinmiller likes this.
  21. ModdingMyMind

    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Also, the reason why your WiFi broke was because your kernel and modules were not one of the same. They were of different makes which caused conflictions when communicating.
     
    fsteinmiller likes this.
  22. fsteinmiller

    fsteinmiller Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    May 18, 2014

    May 18, 2014
    5
    0
    5
    Thank you for the reply. Still no luck. RUU gives me a 155 error. and then I tried flashing the boot.img seperate in fastboot...still phone will not boot.

    I also tried flashing from "fastboot oem rebootRUU" - signatures failed...when they went thru with no errors with the bootloader unlocked. either way...still no boot
     
  23. ModdingMyMind

    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Grab a backup and restore using it, then pull the boot.img from the backup and flash it via fastboot.

    Code (Text):
    1. fastboot flash boot boot.img
    Bootloader will need to be unlocked to do those steps since you are S-On.

    Once done, then and only then, reboot.
     
    fsteinmiller likes this.
  24. fsteinmiller

    fsteinmiller Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    May 18, 2014

    May 18, 2014
    5
    0
    5
    Okay...how do I get the boot.img from the .win file?
     
  25. ModdingMyMind

    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Just rename it to boot.img.
     
    fsteinmiller likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...