1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Tips HTC One Tips and Tricks (keep unnecessary chatter to a minimum)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by TheSuper, Apr 22, 2013.

  1. TheSuper

    TheSuper Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    313
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010

    Oct 6, 2010
    313
    112
    68
    Android newbie lol
    Glasgow, Scotland, UK.
    Found this article over at Droid Life complete with video for the HTC One showing a 20+ beginners tips and tricks. Very useful indeed.

    Here's the video:

    20+ Tips and Tricks for the HTC One - YouTube

    ---

    Having issues with Amazon App store? There is a solution discovered at XDA that requires a previous Amazon .apk.

    ---

    Discovered more tips and tricks for the HTC One. Also handy for beginners. This article is very good.

    35 HTC One tips and tricks - Opinion - Trusted Reviews
     

    Advertisement

    cybera97, toad6386 and Oc1paddler like this.
  2. AM2

    AM2 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    318
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    318
    185
    68
    Charlotte
    For those annoyed with the battery saver notification in the drop down, long press and force stop....it will go away until phone goes into battery saver mode....when that happens just repeat and SHAZAAM!!! gone again. I'm loving this!
     
  3. marctronixx

    Moderator
    Rank:
     #38
    Points:
    643
    Posts:
    5,892
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009

    Oct 12, 2009
    5,892
    3,624
    643
    34.0522° N, 118.2437° W
    *#*#3424#*#*

    This opens up a diagnosis setting. Lots of options to test. Comes in handy when troubleshooting.

    Caution must be observed however, as you have the ability to select a factory reset in this mode.
     
    gabbyevs, Hadron, ironman187 and 3 others like this.
  4. Samcanadian

    Samcanadian Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013

    Apr 23, 2013
    63
    67
    33
    Male
    Winnipeg, Canada
    I know he mentioned how to take a screenshot in the video, but for those who are wondering.... holding the power button and clicking the Home button makes for a slightly quicker screenshot. Does everything else the same though.
     
    marctronixx and KOLIO like this.
  5. mistral_blue

    mistral_blue Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2013

    Apr 13, 2013
    12
    12
    18
    Male
    Hi guys,

    I've read a few posts with people mentioning that the One can be on occasion, just a little TOO LOUD (even at minimum volume). A brief search of the Interwebs and I came across this 'fix', which I have used on my One and it works fine...

    It's a free app that you can turn on/off as you wish, to further control the volume down to an acceptable level. Please note that sometimes you have to flick the EQ ON/OFF buttons a couple of times to get it to work well, but basically turn the VOLUME down to 1 and then adjust further with the EQ if required. Hope that helps...

    https://play.google.com/store/apps/...esult#?t=W251bGwsMSwxLDMsImhyLnBvZGxhbmljYSJd

    Mistral_blue:D
     
  6. ironman187

    ironman187 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    192
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2011

    Jun 26, 2011
    192
    81
    53
    Male
    In your head.
    This might belong in tips and tricks, but I wasn't sure. Anyway, I had a heck of a time trying to start a wifi hotspot on my One for the HTC transfer tool. It just wouldn't work no matter what I tried so I gave up for a while. Then while messing around with the one I decided to update the PRL and profile. Guess what, HTC Transfer works like a charm now, so if you are having issues, update everything and give it another go. BTW my old phone is an Evo 4G.
     
    starchile and marctronixx like this.
  7. Spewy

    Spewy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    183
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010

    Aug 31, 2010
    183
    103
    68
    Male
    Manchester, England
    In messages, to change the font size it is as easy as just pinch to zoom!
     
  8. ironman187

    ironman187 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    192
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2011

    Jun 26, 2011
    192
    81
    53
    Male
    In your head.
    Just a word of caution, if you hide apps in your app drawer, they will also be hidden from your home screen...I found this out the hard way after spending about an hour tweaking my home screens then going into the app drawer and hiding the apps that were on the home screen ( hey who needs to clutter up the app drawer with apps that are already easily accessible right? lol)
     
  9. rgs

    rgs Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010

    Nov 10, 2010
    103
    12
    38
    Computers
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Lately whenever I bring up an email with pictures the "show pictures" link is always greyed out. Also greyed out in the HTC ONe native email app. This was working earlier but I must have done something to disable it. Can't find what I've done though. Anyone have any ideas?

    Found a workaround for anyone else having this problem.

    Bring up the email with the greyed out link
    Click on the address field at the top (To:)
    Then click on the Show Pictures and it will show the pictures
    Click Always show and the pictures should now always show from this address

    Don't know why this works but it does.
     
    KOLIO likes this.
  10. NJSmoke

    NJSmoke Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    96
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011

    Dec 22, 2011
    96
    25
    23
    New Jersey
    This is a big thing for be because I usually like to take pictures of things spontaneous stuff like fights. But any way even if your phone is password protected you can take a picture with out unlocking the phone by holding the camera app and tossing it into the middle of the screen.
     
    firedesire, scotty85 and marctronixx like this.
  11. Spewy

    Spewy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    183
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010

    Aug 31, 2010
    183
    103
    68
    Male
    Manchester, England
    When using the torch, use the volume rocker to adjust the brightness.
     
  12. KOLIO

    KOLIO Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    I've booted into the stock ANDROID recovery before,but now,I can't remember the button combination to do so.

    I get as far as POWER+VOLUME DOWN,which brings up the menu.I select RECOVERY>then press the POWER button,which brings me to the TRIANGLE SCREEN.

    How do I proceed to the recovery screen from here?

    THX! :)
     
  13. bcrider

    bcrider Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    May 3, 2012

    May 3, 2012
    14
    5
    16
    I didn't read the manual when I got my phone and couldn't figure out how to add randoms to the blocked list. Surprisingly didn't find anything on the webz saying how to natively do it and I didn't want to install an app so I downloaded the manual and read it. Turns out it's pretty simple.

    To add random unknown phone numbers to the block list, go to your call history screen. From here long press the phone number and a menu pops up. Choose block contact. That's it.

    If you want to see who all is being blocked, click the menu hamburger on the top right of the screen to get to your blocked list and it's screens.

    Hope this helps someone else out as well.
     
    cybera97, gabbyevs, bluejava2 and 2 others like this.
  14. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    once youre at the triangle screen,hold vol up/power. that will bring up a menu :)
     
    littlewhiteowl, ironman187 and KOLIO like this.
  15. mcpricex

    mcpricex Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2013

    Jun 24, 2013
    1
    0
    5
    If you have set another page as your home screen it can take a while to scroll all the way back through to the top of the blinkfeed page but if you press/hold/release in the status bar (between the notification area and the clock) you will be taken straight back to the top of the page. This also works in the app drawer.

    You can also use the volume rocker keys to dismiss alarms, great when you have an alarm going off in your pocket.
     
  16. breadnatty08

    breadnatty08 pain rustique
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,313
    Posts:
    19,890
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    19,890
    6,118
    1,313
    District of Columbia
  17. BluBrett

    BluBrett Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2013

    Mar 17, 2013
    33
    6
    16
    Male
    Huntington Beach, CA
    Did it tonight. Used non-acetone nail polish remover. The aluminum and white strip still look brand new, the sheen of either has stayed the same. Pics:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  18. tommo47

    tommo47 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #108
    Points:
    263
    Posts:
    925
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012

    Feb 5, 2012
    925
    883
    263
    Male
    Retired
    Llangollen, North Wales.
    I noticed this morning that the top left edge of the Beats logo was starting to wear off. I've accelerated the wear by gentle application of my finger nail. It's taken about 15 minutes to remove the logo completely with no adverse affect on the case. The red Beats came off quite easily, the silver Audio was a bit more stubborn.

    The back looks much better now.

    :)
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  19. nynvolt

    nynvolt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    368
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    368
    65
    53
    SoCal
    Bought a thin tpu case to try out. It was a tight fit and kept sticking to my Xtreme skin. I bought ten sets of skins so I decided just to remove it so I could use the case. Xtreme skins are awesome products and the adhesive was incredibly strong. While peeling it off it pulled part of the T insert in the HTC logo. I was able to save it and press it back in but it's probably going to fall out again. This is just a heads up, use caution when removing skins around the logo.
     
  20. Rush

    Rush {<>}~{<>}
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,043
    Posts:
    18,741
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011

    Jan 31, 2011
    18,741
    3,162
    1,043
    Male
    Entrepreneur / Business Owner - Freelance Writer
    Loganville, GA
    leeanne172 and HenryKrinkle like this.
  21. MartinS

    MartinS Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,111
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009

    I've just accidently noticed that in the Messaging app, you can pinch to zoom the conversation screen to make the text bigger/smaller!
     
    nomunk and Hadron like this.
  22. SolApathy

    SolApathy Just another robot
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #84
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    1,829
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010

    Jun 1, 2010
    1,829
    1,451
    333
    Male
    IT
    Ohio
    EarlyMon likes this.
  23. Steel36

    Steel36 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    217
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010

    Mar 23, 2010
    217
    34
    43
    Male
    Northeast Georgia
    I used No Lock on previous phones for this purpose, but the volume buttons didn't wake it when I tried it on the One. Any ideas? that power button is just stupid being on top. Loved the side location on my Razr M.
     
  24. tommo47

    tommo47 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #108
    Points:
    263
    Posts:
    925
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012

    Feb 5, 2012
    925
    883
    263
    Male
    Retired
    Llangollen, North Wales.
    I had a rare glitch on my One today - when trying to play any of my music tracks in either Deezer or stock music app it would play for a fraction of a second and stop. First noticed in Deezer and assumed it was the app so cleared cache, force stopped and tried again - still the same - tried the stock music app and it was the same so it was clearly not an app problem.

    Did a 'wipe cache partition' and everything is ok again.

    The BlinkFeed app updated yesterday which seems too coincidental to me - I know my music was ok on Tuesday!

    Wipe cache partition has cleared a number of things over the last 18 months and I've so far avoided having to do a factory reset.

    ;)
     
    #24 tommo47, Dec 11, 2014
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2014
  25. hangfirew8

    hangfirew8 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2011

    Jun 26, 2011
    14
    2
    16
    Central Maryland
    I have been getting endless requests from ZOE for permissions that I don't want to give it. So, I hit Deny, and a few hours later it asks again. Annoying.

    So, I hold down on the Notification and go to App Info, does it take me to Zoe APP? No! It takes me to Android System! Evil.

    So I am forced to dig down into Settings->Apps->All and Zoe has earned itself not just an uncheck of Notifications, but a Force Stop and a Disable.

    If Zoe would have just remembered to SHUT UP and stop asking me for permissions, it would still be running. Are you listening HTC? (Probably not).
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...