1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support HTC Screen not working and need to back up.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by KingDong, Dec 22, 2011.

  1. KingDong

    KingDong Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    476
    Joined:
    May 15, 2010

    May 15, 2010
    476
    35
    43
    London, England
    Hey guys/girls, Well about a month or two ago i dropped my phone and tried to catch it and it must of hit on a metal pole on a bench, since then it's had a crack on it. About a week ago i dropped it again and it and the screen just stopped working. I cannot get off the lock screen and the 4 buttons at the bottom do not work to the best of my knowledge. It's not much of a problem as I'm taking it into the shops tomorrow to fix it, I've got some private pictures and other stuff like numbers etc i want to get off the phone and onto my computer as i don't want the people at Vodafone (maybe) looking through my phone.

    I'm unable to unlock the screen so i cannot even go on the menu to choose HTC Sync or disk storage, i have no memory card reader and really need to try get this done for tomorrow

    Thanks for your time and i hope someone has the answer for me.
     

    Advertisement

  2. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,120
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,120
    24,096
    3,118
    Scotland
    Just take the SD Card out altogether, that should do it. If you contact HTC to get the handset repaired, they ask you to remove the SIM & SD Cards as they don't really need them to repair the phone. When you get your new/repaired handset, just pop them back in and voila!
     
    KingDong likes this.
  3. KingDong

    KingDong Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    476
    Joined:
    May 15, 2010

    May 15, 2010
    476
    35
    43
    London, England
    Well i'm taking it into Vodafone as i had Insurance and Guarantee for it. the thing is im thinking about my numbers etc and there are certain ermm pictures of a special person (LOL) that i think may have saved onto the phone memory?
     
  4. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,120
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,120
    24,096
    3,118
    Scotland
    All stuff saves to the SD Card by default so you should be cool in that respect.

    If you head to the gmail account associated with the phone on a PC, then click contacts do you see all the numbers that are on your phone?
     
  5. KingDong

    KingDong Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    476
    Joined:
    May 15, 2010

    May 15, 2010
    476
    35
    43
    London, England
    In all honestly i do not remember my Gmail account.. grrr really F'd myseld up here havn't i...
     
  6. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,120
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,120
    24,096
    3,118
    Scotland
    Kinda.... :eek:

    Do you know if USB Debugging was enabled?
     
  7. KingDong

    KingDong Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    476
    Joined:
    May 15, 2010

    May 15, 2010
    476
    35
    43
    London, England
    For what i remember... no :(
     

Share This Page

Loading...