1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General HTC Sense 2.2 On The G2!!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Arcadia, Nov 10, 2010.

  1. Arcadia

    Arcadia Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    148
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010

    Aug 13, 2010
    148
    15
    38

    Advertisement

  2. Eazail70x7

    Eazail70x7 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,612
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010

    Mar 13, 2010
    1,612
    108
    163
    Baltimore, Maryland
    Has this rom been ported to any other androids? Just curious...
     
  3. boloj

    boloj Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010

    Jan 22, 2010
    30
    6
    36
    No it just a Stock HTC Desire Z rom its works on the G2 because they share the same hardware
     
  4. jodznsez

    jodznsez Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    May 16, 2010

    May 16, 2010
    21
    0
    15
    can i add this once I've rooted the G2??
     
  5. popartist

    popartist Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010

    Jan 10, 2010
    8
    1
    6
    Brooklyn, NY
    I noticed an icon for FM Radio as he was scrolling through the app drawer - does it actually work on the G2 with this ROM?
     
  6. boloj

    boloj Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010

    Jan 22, 2010
    30
    6
    36
    It depends witch Sense rom you install if you install the Stock HTC Desire Z rom then the fm radio works, but no wifi calling.
     
  7. LCW

    LCW Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    101
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010

    Aug 6, 2010
    101
    7
    36
    Hmmmm.... if it's that easy to install Sense 2.2 on a G2... I might consider picking one up... although the hinge still has me doubting the long term durability of it... but I like most aspects of the Sense UI... HTC did a good job there for the most part... assuming it's not too laggy vs stock 2.2....
     
  8. Zardos

    Zardos Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    194
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    194
    15
    38
    Cell phone sales.
    Bacon Town, USA
    I'm about to pick up a G2 tomorrow and this better stay VERY FAR AWAY from my phone. Sense ruins everything it touches.
     
  9. kwilkins

    kwilkins Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010

    Nov 10, 2010
    13
    0
    15

    I'm trying to decide between the G2 and the upcoming HTC Merge, which has Sense. I thought Sense was considered to be provide the best user experience for Android. Can you tell me what it ruins and why you would not use it?

    Thanks.
     
  10. fryrice

    fryrice Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010

    Oct 7, 2010
    11
    0
    15
    i have sense UI on my g2 and all this can be found on xda

    G2 Android Development - xda-developers

    Works:
    -Fast boot
    -FM radio
    -htcsense.com
    -visual voicemail
    -wifi tether
    -mms

    Do not work:
    -no www/.com button
    -wifi calling (there is a mod version of this for it to work)

    still playing with it so haven't found everything about it.
     
  11. Agent K

    Agent K Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010

    Oct 6, 2010
    23
    1
    16
    Seattle, WA
    Is there an FM tuner in the phone?
     
  12. 2FR35H

    2FR35H Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,224
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009

    Dec 10, 2009
    1,224
    84
    128
    You know.. That is disappointing People cry and cry over not having stock androids and then when one comes here you guys put HTC Sense UI on it. PShh shame on you all.
     
  13. justme8800

    justme8800 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    154
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010

    Sep 18, 2010
    154
    19
    38
    California
    Yeah, because we're all a single hypocritical hivemind. Is it really so hard to believe that some people like different UIs?
     
  14. 2FR35H

    2FR35H Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,224
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009

    Dec 10, 2009
    1,224
    84
    128

    Hey, I was just saying. :cool:
     
  15. adrienspawn

    adrienspawn Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010

    Dec 4, 2010
    13
    1
    16
    I tried out HTC Sense on my G2 before switching to Cyanogen.

    No, it uses a trick with the Bluetooth radio and a headset plugged in as an antenna. Pretty nifty.
     
  16. justme8800

    justme8800 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    154
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010

    Sep 18, 2010
    154
    19
    38
    California
    Eh? Where did you read that?

    That'd have to be a heck of a trick, given that Bluetooth runs at 2.4 gigahertz and FM radio is measured in megahertz. I was under the impression that the G2, like any other phone, had a dedicated FM tuner, but due to the longer wavelengths in question in needs to use the headphones as an antenna.

    Please, elaborate on this "trick," now I'm curious...
     
  17. adrienspawn

    adrienspawn Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010

    Dec 4, 2010
    13
    1
    16
    When I start the FM app, it says "enabling Bluetooth". And then the app doesn't work, so it says "Plug in a headset to be used as an antenna".

    Once I do that it works, listening to 97.7 right now just to make sure.

    Edit: The Desire Z has FM and the G2 doesn't by default, but maybe it was unlocked or something?

    http://forums.t-mobile.com/t5/T-Mobile-G2/FM-Radio/td-p/467562
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...