1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support HTC Sense & a new Micro SD card

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by thesoloist, May 29, 2012.

  1. thesoloist

    thesoloist Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    May 29, 2012

    May 29, 2012
    5
    1
    6
    I have an HTC Sense with a Transcend 2GB Micro SD card. I wanted more space, so I purchased a Patriot 16GB Micro SD card, but the phone will not read it. Is there a limitation on the size of the Micro SD card? If not, what am I missing? Can anyone help?
     

    Advertisement

  2. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,304
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Is the card formatted fat32?

    There is no such limit unless its a really old phone, pre micro sdhc.
     
    thesoloist and Rxpert83 like this.
  3. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,941
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,941
    13,153
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    First of all, welcome to the forums!! :D

    Do you mean you have the HTC sensation?

    I ask because sense is the name of the overlay that HTC puts on every device.

    If you can confirm your device name i will move this thread over to your device specific forum where you can get specific help from other people who have the same phone as you
     
    argedion and thesoloist like this.
  4. thesoloist

    thesoloist Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    May 29, 2012

    May 29, 2012
    5
    1
    6
    I do not know if it's formatted. I have an adaptor to USB2.0 that came with it. I copied all of the my files to it with no issue, but phone doesn't recognize that it's there. If you advise on steps to take, I will follow.
     
  5. thesoloist

    thesoloist Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    May 29, 2012

    May 29, 2012
    5
    1
    6
    It shows "sense" everywhere. Not sure if it's the sensation. It's an HTC 4G MyTouch for T-Mobile.
     
    Rxpert83 likes this.
  6. thesoloist

    thesoloist Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    May 29, 2012

    May 29, 2012
    5
    1
    6
    Now I can't read the 16GB through the USB2.0 adaptor. Any ideas?
     
  7. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,304
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Unplug the USB (Leaving the card in it) and plug it back in. See if windows wants to scan it for errors.
     
    thesoloist likes this.
  8. thesoloist

    thesoloist Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    May 29, 2012

    May 29, 2012
    5
    1
    6
    I've unplugged it and plugged it back in several times. If I use the adaptor with my old 2GB micro sd, it recognizes it. Nothing with the new 16 GB... I'm lost...
     
  9. argedion

    argedion The TechnoFrog
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    853
    Posts:
    6,360
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011

    Jun 20, 2011
    6,360
    6,290
    853
    The Infernal Swamp
    Make sure you have a copy of your files on the computer.
    Put the new card into your phone and go to settings look for SD Storage and then look for Erase SD card This will allow the phone to format the card and it should pic it up and recognize it to make sure things are going to work try to take a picture and see if it stores it to the card. If it does then you should be good to go

    I've seen this a few times and the suggestion has worked for them
     
  10. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    Moved this to the myTouch 4G forums. And as argedion said if you format the card in the phone (back it up first) then it should work properly for you...if it doesn't I would hazard to guess you got a faulty SD card.
     
    argedion likes this.
  11. JamesClark987

    JamesClark987 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012

    Apr 20, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    Put your card in memory card reader and connect it with you PC, now check whether its working properly or not? if no, then there is problem in your card.
     

Share This Page

Loading...