1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General HTC Sense.com faulty

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Lalaland, Oct 21, 2010.

  1. Lalaland

    Lalaland Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010

    Sep 20, 2010
    70
    13
    18
    Anyone got the location part of HTCSense.com working with their Desire HD yet?

    Mine claims it's not activated on my handset despite the fact it is :(
     

    Advertisement

  2. The Hoff

    The Hoff Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    108
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010

    Oct 18, 2010
    108
    14
    38
    Yeah, same here.

    Maybe it's disabled until the official launch?

    I've also just text myself and I've not received the text... don't think it's the finished article yet.
     
  3. The Hoff

    The Hoff Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    108
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010

    Oct 18, 2010
    108
    14
    38
    Tried locking my phone as well, doesn't work.

    It has synced my contacts correctly though.
     
  4. Chris71920

    Chris71920 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010

    Oct 16, 2010
    14
    1
    16
    Same here, locking didnt work! The "Ring" function did, and it rang instantly too!
     
  5. MrPie

    MrPie Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    108
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010

    Oct 19, 2010
    108
    7
    36
    Manchester, UK
    Guys keep in mind this handset isn't officially launched. Just wait until next week and maybe some of the services will activate.
     
  6. bonerp

    bonerp Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,154
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010

    Apr 12, 2010
    1,154
    136
    143
    Project Manager
    UK
    bull. There are loads of phones out there already. If HTC didnt release them, who did?!?

    If there are some problems with an early batch I would say HTC are fixing the problems as live faults as we speak. They will probably just delay the remainder until main issues are ironed out via an OTA fix. They wouldnt want the publicity of releasing a phone thats a dog, so they say they are unofficial. How the heck did they leave their factory then??? There is a lot of control over how and when makers release new tech, esp when there is a deal with major players signed up.
     
  7. Lalaland

    Lalaland Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010

    Sep 20, 2010
    70
    13
    18
    The phone has been released. It's available from several dealers and it's announced on the HTC website.

    I know there are serious stock shortages and not all suppliers have stock yet, but it's certainly been released.

    The HTCSense.com issue is just one of several bugs I've found so far. There are a few faults with the Desire HD that have appeared already...
     
  8. SpencerUk

    SpencerUk Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    606
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    606
    77
    78
    Barnsley, South Yorkshire
    I have to agreed, It's not officially launched through mobile operators yet.

    HTC do have a fixed guideline with Operators to my understanding (got the info from the press office) which is week commencing 25th.

    Naturally HTC will ship them out to 3rd partys (IE CPW), and they will have an agreed date too.

    Goes in circles really.
     
  9. The Hoff

    The Hoff Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    108
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010

    Oct 18, 2010
    108
    14
    38
    Such as?

    Now I've fixed the proximity issue I don't really have an issue with mine (that I know of).
     
  10. MattThing

    MattThing Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010

    Oct 20, 2010
    39
    1
    36
    UK
    Sense seems to be working ok for me.
     
  11. Lalaland

    Lalaland Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010

    Sep 20, 2010
    70
    13
    18
    HTCSense.com, most features don't work including phone locator and messages.

    Pictures take forever to load in Gallery.

    Phone has occasional slow downs and freezes. I've had to pull the battery once to get it back.

    Occasionally fails to install software from the market, just sits there and waits until you force close the market and start it all again.
     
  12. miophone

    miophone Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010

    Oct 13, 2010
    26
    2
    16

    i've had a few htcsense errors too. one time my entire phonebook disappeared until i reboot, keypad has frozen a few times while i see the sync icon in the top corner... i'm sure it'll all get ironed out, but it's not 100% smooth yet.
     
  13. Lalaland

    Lalaland Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010

    Sep 20, 2010
    70
    13
    18
    The slow downs don't appear to be happening since the OTA update this morning and the gallery problem has certainly been fixed. All my photos loaded ridiculously quickly this time where as before the OTA update it took around 30-40 seconds!
     
  14. SpencerUk

    SpencerUk Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    606
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    606
    77
    78
    Barnsley, South Yorkshire
    Updated my phone, no issues yet, had it since about 1pm..called loads of different folk, no proximity issues..Had to link the odd contacts again, nothing major though
     
  15. Lalaland

    Lalaland Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010

    Sep 20, 2010
    70
    13
    18
    OTA appears to have fixed the following for me,

    Gallery showing pictures instantly instead of 30-40 seconds
    No keyboard lag
    No slow downs and freezes

    So I'm happy :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...