1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Tips HTC SENSE Locator and account discussion/help

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by DonB, Jun 24, 2011.

  1. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,501
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,501
    8,357
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    The phone locator works great and also has a ring function to make the unit ring from your PC, see attached image.



    [​IMG]
     

    Advertisement

  2. Pyxl

    Pyxl Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010

    Dec 1, 2010
    6
    3
    6
    DonB,

    Is this something that is available as a service through HTC? Or is it an app through the market that I need to download and install.

    I would look for it myself, however I "just" plugged the phone in for its "virgin" charge and I want it to get a full charge without interruption. :)

    (ya ya, I know, The new batteries aren't supposed to need this, but I am paranoid).

    Anyhow, thanks for posting this, I would love to be able to find my phone if it gets lost or god forbid stolen.
     
  3. brandonpaz

    brandonpaz Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    73
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    73
    4
    16
    Tampa
    I saw a checkbox to enable it on the phone, but how\where did you pull it up on the web? This is a free service right?

    Brandon
     
  4. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,501
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,501
    8,357
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Go to your app on your phone HTC HUB sign in and then go to the HTC Sense website and sign in, it is free and a service to HTC customers


     
    ez2bgman and marctronixx like this.
  5. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,501
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,501
    8,357
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Evo_luv and marctronixx like this.
  6. some.devil

    some.devil Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    321
    Joined:
    May 12, 2010

    May 12, 2010
    321
    185
    68
    Awesome, and it uses Google maps !
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  7. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,501
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,501
    8,357
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    And you can wipe your phone, lock it, and make it ring if you are trying to find it in the house.



     
    marctronixx likes this.
  8. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,501
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,501
    8,357
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Another nice little feature I forgot to mention, if you have not already noticed is, we also have a restart button, which will close all apps and restart them, so if you are updating an OTA, turn the phone off and then start it again.
     
  9. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,501
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,501
    8,357
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Here is a backup app recommended to me by Andygu3 incase you root your phone the sense app may not work for your locator so you can use Lookout

    [​IMG]
     
  10. speedfan

    speedfan Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    96
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    96
    26
    23
    Nashville, TN
    for some reason I cannot connect with this. I have signed up and have my phone signed in but I keep getting this message

    I have restarted my phone a few times and even manually hit the sync button on the phone to sync to htc sense. I don't know what else to do with it.

    Am I just doing something wrong?
     
    italy7 and RichboyJhae like this.
  11. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,501
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,501
    8,357
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Remember the HTC sense is Beta, so they could be working on it, try the other one I posted, MyLookout, it does the same and also have and anti virus, but I disabled that, I simply have the locator enabled.

    https://www.mylookout.com/


     
  12. jdsingle

    jdsingle Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    760
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    760
    181
    93
    Been using Lookout forever. That was its' primary function, GPS location. This might make Lookout Obsolete.
     
  13. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,501
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,501
    8,357
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Nope is is good to keep both, as its seems that HTC Sense is still in Beta and does not always seem to work


     
  14. SporkLover

    SporkLover Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    498
    Joined:
    May 9, 2010

    May 9, 2010
    498
    98
    53
    HTC Sense doesnt work for me either.

    I'll go back to Lookout until they can sort it out.

    Sad thing is that the locator and dashboard issues have been identified over and over again for 6 months, and official HTC support has been using that beta excuse.
     
  15. thefley

    thefley Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    346
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009

    Oct 19, 2009
    346
    26
    63
    Oklahoma
    it worked a few times for me, last time about 6 hours ago. but not now, like stated above it is Beta mode for now.
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  16. RichboyJhae

    RichboyJhae Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    439
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    439
    262
    88
    Texas
    Doesn't work for me either.
     
  17. SporkLover

    SporkLover Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    498
    Joined:
    May 9, 2010

    May 9, 2010
    498
    98
    53
  18. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,501
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,501
    8,357
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
  19. PyroSporker

    PyroSporker Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    1,779
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010

    Apr 3, 2010
    1,779
    1,286
    323
    Hey Don, I suspect this is the same sign in service which allows you to download more Scenes, Skins, Wallpapers, Widgets, and Lock Screens, am I correct?

    (I realize the content is free but I'm very disappointed that someone has to create an account and sign in just to get the free content for their phone that they purchased. Its downright wrong in my opinion. I'm not very keen on signing up for another service on my phone to be connected to all the time. Its bad enough being connected to Google 24/7. Frankly I see security issues with the HTC site that I don't want to ever have to deal with. Theoretically someone could log into your account, track you, mark your phone stolen, and remotely wipe your phone leaving it unusable couldn't they? Anyways, enough about my paranoia and tin foil hats. :p )

    Is there any chance you or some kind soul out there could perhaps give a run down of the downloadable Scenes, Skins, Lock screens, Wallpapers and Widgets? I really want them but I am most curious if they are any good. I don't want to sign up for less than stellar content. The Sense Widgets you could download for the Evo 4G were no sign in required, however they were not what I would consider stellar content.

    I might have to sign up just for the extra content if they are good enough additions, I guess I just want to know if I should waste my time and risk it or not at this point.
     
  20. marctronixx

    Moderator
    Rank:
     #34
    Points:
    683
    Posts:
    6,404
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009

    Oct 12, 2009
    6,404
    4,102
    683
    34.0522° N, 118.2437° W
    the stuff you get is good however what i think is good you may think is not. Still there may be some items you may want to use.

    I DL'ed a few ringtones and im using one of the wallpapers i DL'ed. it was not a big deal for me to sign up. i have a gmail account just for these types of situations.. HTC are a trusted company so dont fret.. :)
     
  21. RedWingsFan

    RedWingsFan Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    365
    Joined:
    May 10, 2010

    May 10, 2010
    365
    108
    68
    I use Lookout Mobile premium. Works really well. I have used it in the past to lock my phone when I left it somewhere.
     
  22. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,501
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,501
    8,357
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Once you found your phone was it easy to unlock, LOL



     
  23. DaGoTTi

    DaGoTTi Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    55
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    55
    4
    16
    i just got the 3vo 3d. playing with the features now. i see there is a htc sense service that lets me lookup the phone if lost and lock it, so on. is there a fee for that? i registered, but it never mentioned a fee.

    im also on the website: https://www.htcsense.com/en_US/#dashboard/ and the terms mention there could be a fee as long as i approve it, but it doesnt mention if there is one now or price.

    is there a fee for this service currently?
     
  24. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,631
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,631
    70,441
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Not that I have experienced.
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  25. sbillard

    sbillard Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010

    Apr 7, 2010
    26
    3
    16
    It HTC Sense working for anyone? So far it has worked exactly once. Right now I typically get a message that it is down and will be back soon.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...