1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

htc sense on droid

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by donovanb09, Feb 18, 2010.

  1. donovanb09

    donovanb09 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010

    Jan 9, 2010
    26
    0
    15
    Hey I heard you could get the htc sense ui on the droid, is this true? And if so, can u post a link where I can learn how to put it on my droid? Oh and one more thing, is the htc sense ui called a rom when u put in on a non htc device?
     

    Advertisement

  2. brettlewis

    brettlewis Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    867
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009

    Nov 3, 2009
    867
    49
    68
    Arizona
    I have a hero like theme on my droid
    AllDroid - View topic - xHero-Theme (v1.6) **UPDATED 01/12/10**

    but I do not think sense has been ported yet.
     
  3. radikal

    radikal Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    928
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    928
    10
    63
    i have heard sense is hard to crack and hard to port! people work on it but its just hard!
     
  4. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,635
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    3,635
    2,126
    313
    Multi-platinum Rapper
    Illinois
    Well, the big hold up was that previously it was only for 1.5 and 1.6 devices, and only on low res 320x480 screens.

    Now that the Desire ROM has been leaked, it should be a bit smoother sailing, even though it is still only 800x480 (the Droid is 854x480).

    The HTC keyboard has already been ported, and while it's really nice, it FC's when put into landscape or using the hardware keyboard.

    The Desire dump is still prerelease, so it has HTC warnings all over it, but once we get a good Desire or Incredible dump, I think a Sense port to the Droid is unavoidable.
     
  5. Legacystar

    Legacystar Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    571
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    571
    28
    68
    whats the facination with sense?
     
  6. brettlewis

    brettlewis Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    867
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009

    Nov 3, 2009
    867
    49
    68
    Arizona
    its sparkly... :p

    im sure that once 2.1 is pushed ota, sense will be on droid in no time. The new sense is built on 2.1, so I assume it would be simple.
     
  7. Legacystar

    Legacystar Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    571
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    571
    28
    68
    i've read it's a resource hog
     
  8. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,635
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    3,635
    2,126
    313
    Multi-platinum Rapper
    Illinois
    I don't know, it's running pretty nice on the Legend, which is running the Pixi processor (weak sauce).

    I especially like the pinch to see all screens.
     
  9. Legacystar

    Legacystar Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    571
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    571
    28
    68
    i meen memory whore mostly, read somewhere is uses 100mb alone just for sense
     
  10. Shadowtech

    Shadowtech Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    434
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009

    Dec 29, 2009
    434
    36
    63
    Male
    Driver
    Ohio
    The only things I might like to have from the Sense UI are the contacts widget and the toolbar with direct access to the phone on all screens. Aside from that, Pure Messenger widget is great for the email/sms display that Sense has, beautiful widgets has the clock down (if ya find the older version).

    I know you can get the toolbar from some home replacements, but I have not found one yet that doesn't just add a lot of lag to the phone. If anyone knows of a good contacts widget to mimic Sense's .. please let me know.
     
  11. Le0_Br4zUc4

    Le0_Br4zUc4 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    325
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010

    I would love to have Sense UI on my droid, the phone looks just amazing with it, now the question is how much memory does sense UI take?
     

Share This Page

Loading...