1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

HTC Sync 2.0.33 not recognising my phone

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by robo555, Aug 10, 2010.

  1. robo555

    robo555 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010

    Aug 1, 2010
    29
    2
    16
    HTC Sync is being really flaky when it comes to recognising my phone. I have USB debugging enabled on the phone, plug it in, then select Sync. Sometimes HTC Sync recognises it, and I can install applications to my phone from my PC, but sometimes it doesn't recognise the phone, I've tried un/reinstal HTC Sync, and rebooted the phone, makes no difference.

    At the moment I can't get it to recognise the phone at all. How come it works sometimes and not other times?
     

    Advertisement

  2. ncjharris

    ncjharris Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010

    Jun 24, 2010
    25
    1
    36
    I get this too. Afraid I can't offer a solution, but I find that a combination of unplugging the USB cable into the computer and the phone in various combinations seems to work.

    For what its worth, I also have the desire set to ask me what connection i want, rather than choose a default one.
     
  3. speedycolzalez

    speedycolzalez Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    513
    Joined:
    May 8, 2010

    I had this problem when using cheap usb cables I'd got from eBay. Started using a Belkin cable and haven't had a problem since.
     
  4. firedesire

    firedesire Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    161
    Joined:
    May 29, 2010

    May 29, 2010
    161
    30
    43
    I have just had this problem barely minutes ago, I tried the 'worked before' combination of unplugging/plugging in of the HTC usb cable but that failed to recognise the phone. Turned phone off then on again and it recognised it straight away.... Next time it plays up I will do that first.;)
     
  5. anoniemouse

    anoniemouse Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,514
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010

    Jul 3, 2010
    1,514
    237
    153
    Button Moon
    Another method that usually works is plug the cable in a different usb socket
     
  6. robo555

    robo555 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010

    Aug 1, 2010
    29
    2
    16
    Grr, tried reinstalling/rebooting HTC Sync and the phone, nothing works, yet it was working a few days ago. Always been using the HTC USB cable that came with the phone.

    Hope they fix this in HTC Sync 3.0.

    EDIT: Got it to work after restarting computer
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...