1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support HTC Sync / DHD Unable to Copy Contacts

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Welsh Al, Jul 4, 2011.

  1. Welsh Al

    Welsh Al Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    May 31, 2011

    May 31, 2011
    8
    0
    5
    Lo all.

    I've got a two month old Desire HD with the new 2.3.3 Android update, with HTC Sense 2.36.771.14.

    After an initial problem initialising the SD Card (solved by formatting and reinstalling) I've been synchronising the phone on the PC regularly and successfully. It's everything i hoped it was and more.

    Except that since I updated to 2.3.3 the syncing doesn't work.

    IT starts, then delivers an error pop-up saying 'unable to copy contacts from your device'.
    Nothing else works.

    If I uninstall and reinstall HTC Sync, it works again for a few hours, then stops. This has happened several times.

    I can't be uninstalling and reinstalling everyday, it takes an hour and a half.

    Does anyone have any suggestions?
     

    Advertisement

  2. dvhttn

    dvhttn Android Expert
    Rank:
     #100
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,523
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010

    Oct 17, 2010
    1,523
    281
    173
    I wish ....
    Sunny Cornwall
    Yes. Use MyPhoneExplorer rather than HTC Sync.

    Dave
     
  3. D-U-R-X

    D-U-R-X turbo drinker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    16,881
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    16,881
    7,193
    1,343
    Work to live, not the other way round!!
    Sheffield, South Yorkshire
    Pretty much everyone is had issues with HTC's software! I'd second what Dave has said!!
     
  4. Welsh Al

    Welsh Al Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    May 31, 2011

    May 31, 2011
    8
    0
    5
    OK, thanks, I'll give it a go now.

    Al.
     
  5. Welsh Al

    Welsh Al Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    May 31, 2011

    May 31, 2011
    8
    0
    5
    OMG!
    MyPhoneExplorer is ace! Screenshots, calls from the PC, texts from the PC!

    Ace, I tell you. Except you lot told me. Sorry.

    Thanks.
     
  6. D-U-R-X

    D-U-R-X turbo drinker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    16,881
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    16,881
    7,193
    1,343
    Work to live, not the other way round!!
    Sheffield, South Yorkshire
    That does sound pretty cool actually!

    I haven't really used HTC Sync, as it's so bad - tend not to sync my phone on my computer... think I'll have to get MyPhoneExplorer and give it a go! :)
     
  7. mazmorbid

    mazmorbid Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011

    Jul 24, 2011
    1
    1
    6
    Brisbane, Australia
    Close your address book and try to sync again.
     
    EJNodurft likes this.
  8. EJNodurft

    EJNodurft Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011

    Aug 24, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    I was getting the unable to copy contacts from PIM message. Closing down Outlook allowed allowed Sync to work.
     
  9. dvhttn

    dvhttn Android Expert
    Rank:
     #100
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,523
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010

    Oct 17, 2010
    1,523
    281
    173
    I wish ....
    Sunny Cornwall
    No need to close Outlook with MPE .... :D

    That's with XP Pro and Outlook 2010.

    Dave
     

Share This Page

Loading...