1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root HTC Update Question

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Tejer, Jan 19, 2013.

  1. Tejer

    Tejer Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    313
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011

    This is a small thing but I am curious if anyone could explain the reasoning behind this. I have figured out that if you clear cache/dalvik on your phone, that will essentially break the OS ability to check for updates via the 'HTC Update' option. It will simply check forever it seems and never actually report anything to you until you just hit the back button. I'm just wondering what causes this?
     

    Advertisement

  2. OverByter

    OverByter Resident Slide Rule Guru
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    4,000
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010

    Dec 12, 2010
    4,000
    922
    213
    Male
    Disabled
    CT, USA
    Clearing the caches shouldn't have any effect, are you on a custom rom?
     
  3. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,907
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,907
    13,140
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    Agreed, that shouldn't happen.
     
  4. Tejer

    Tejer Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    313
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011

    I'm actually on the fully stock rom. I also did add the following changes to my build.prop before that reboot to clear the cache/dalvik. The following are all I added. Would any of these make a difference? These are taken from Tim's Evo tweaks.

    Disable Logging
    persist.adb.notify=0
    ro.config.htc.nocheckin=1
    ro.config.nocheckin=1
    profiler.force_disable_err_rpt=1
    profiler.force_disable_ulog=1
    ro.kernel.android.checkjni=0
    ro.kernel.checkjni=0
    ro.config.nocheckin=1

    Performance
    pm.sleep_mode=1
    ro.ril.disable.power.collapse=1
     
  5. OverByter

    OverByter Resident Slide Rule Guru
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    4,000
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010

    Dec 12, 2010
    4,000
    922
    213
    Male
    Disabled
    CT, USA
    I believe that without HTC check in being enabled the phone won't be able to properly check for system updates.
     
    Rxpert83 likes this.
  6. Tejer

    Tejer Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    313
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011

    This answer is the winner, thanks!
     
    Rxpert83 likes this.
  7. OverByter

    OverByter Resident Slide Rule Guru
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    4,000
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010

    Dec 12, 2010
    4,000
    922
    213
    Male
    Disabled
    CT, USA
    No problem, glad it worked out for you. OB :D
     
    Rxpert83 likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...