1. Are you ready for the Galaxy S20? Here is everything we know so far!

HTC Weather app current location problems

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by pmm75, Dec 21, 2011.

  1. pmm75

    pmm75 Newbie
    Thread Starter

    Hello.

    I have recently experienced problems with this app and related widgets. It used to tell my location nicely when set to current location but stopped some weeks ago. Now all I get is "Finland" where it used to say "Helsinki, Finland (current location)" or something similar more specific. As you can guess, "Finland" is a bit vague (no, it doesn't snow all the time, all over here). Sometimes in the old weather app it used to comment something about not being able to connect to location server or some such but after Sense 3.0 update it no longer gives even that.

    I've tried everything except factory reset which I wont do. I've cleared app data from everything weather related, forced stop, unchecked and checked again everything under settings/location, booted the phone, removed widgets and added them again but nothing helps.

    I've used WeatherBug since then and it works nicely and finds my location. It has quite sparse network of separate weather locations though and doesn't function together with HTC widgets and lock screen. Are there any ideas how I could get my HTC weather working again with the location server?

    ps. Sorry if I post on the wrong sub forum. This is obviously HTC related but not phone model related I suppose and I couldn't find a generic HTC/Sense sub forum.
     



    1. Download the Forums for Android™ app!


      Download

       
  2. D-U-R-X

    D-U-R-X turbo drinker

    After discussion with pmm75 on this, I have moved this thread to the DHD section, in the hope that one of you would be able to offer a bit of advice (as we have quite a few issues being talked about at the moment).

    Cheers,
    D-U-R-X
     
  3. Martin1976

    Martin1976 Newbie

    Same here mate. Mine says united kingdon, used toshow my location but now doesn't work!
     
  4. damo1974

    damo1974 Lurker

    I'm having exactly the same problem since upgrading to Sense 3.0 this week. In the actual widget app I have a list of all my chosen cities but I also have 'United Kingdom' displayed on the widget even though I haven't added it to my list. How to I delete United Kingdom and simply just have the cities I have selected and how can I display the weather in my current location on the unlock screen rather than showing 'United Kingdom'?
    So frustrating!
     
  5. ghostyjack

    ghostyjack Newbie

    I've got the same problem, still haven't figured out how to fix it.
     
  6. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    VIP Member

    Apparently the fix for this is to download your location data again.
     
    D-U-R-X likes this.
  7. pmm75

    pmm75 Newbie
    Thread Starter

    How do you do that?
     
  8. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    VIP Member

    It's via Settings -> Location & Security I believe
     
  9. pmm75

    pmm75 Newbie
    Thread Starter

    Oh, I did that too ;)

    Sorry but no help there either.
     
  10. Kabacus

    Kabacus Lurker

    I managed to get mine working by re-installing Location (Settings -> Location -> Reinstall). My Desire performed a Location download, I re-started my phone which prompted another Location download, then when I next acquired a GPS fix my current location was populated. HTH
     
    Johnboy49 likes this.
  11. Johnboy49

    Johnboy49 Lurker

    Just to say the location re install described worked for me but you must turn the phone off fully
     
  12. pmm75

    pmm75 Newbie
    Thread Starter

    Didn't work for me.
     
  13. pmm75

    pmm75 Newbie
    Thread Starter

    The strangest thing happened today. I have one HTC weather widget left on one page and I noticed it was actually showing the correct location "Helsinki (Uusimaa), Suomi" instad of just "Suomi" (that's Finland in Finnish). I immediately happily changed to weather lock screen only to notice that it only showed the generic Finland again. When I checked the widget again, it too had lost the location info again.
     
  14. xNa

    xNa Lurker

    Same problem here, just showing "Finland". Started during 8th of December to 11th of December.

    I'm actually thinking about doing a hard reset on the phone to test if that helps.
     
  15. pmm75

    pmm75 Newbie
    Thread Starter

    I would estimeate the same date for when my troubles with this app began. Few weeks before Sense 3.0 update anyway.
     
  16. hi there to solve this problem all I did was go to settings.... account and sync....and then make sure backround data is ticked and auto sync is tick.. and BINGO IT ALL WORKS
     

HTC Desire HD Forum

The HTC Desire HD release date was October 2010. Features and Specs include a 4.3" inch screen, 8MP camera, 768GB RAM, Snapdragon S2 processor, and 1230mAh battery.

October 2010
Release Date
0
Reviews
Loading...

Share This Page

Loading...