1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root HTC_IME Keyboard for MIUI

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by stevcha, Feb 19, 2011.

  1. stevcha

    stevcha Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    856
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    856
    274
    113
    Does anyone know where I can find the HTC_IME Keyboard with arrows that works with MIUI. Its the same one found on Myn's page over at XDA. I'm trying to install it in MIUI using the apk but it doesn't work. I was able to install other HTC_IME apks without issue. Any ideas? Thanks!!
     

    Advertisement

  2. stevcha

    stevcha Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    856
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    856
    274
    113
    Bump anyone?
     
  3. JB in AZ

    JB in AZ Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,869
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009

    Oct 27, 2009
    1,869
    267
    173
    Florida
    Have you tried copy and pasting it into /system/app with root explorer? Then reboot. I did this with a couple of apks that wouldn't install the normal way.
    Be sure to make a nandroid before trying this.
     
    stevcha likes this.
  4. stevcha

    stevcha Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    856
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    856
    274
    113
    Ill give that a try. Thanks!
     
  5. stevcha

    stevcha Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    856
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    856
    274
    113
    Would the fact that the HTC_IME keyboard is coded for Sense cause it to conflict or not work with an AOSP Rom?
     
  6. stevcha

    stevcha Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    856
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    856
    274
    113
    Ok, so I tried the copy and paste method via root explorer. I was able to move the file and set the permissions within system/app folder. I rebooted then tried changing the keyboard using the long press method to the htc keyboard. Within a few seconds I get a FC message. Any ideas?
     
  7. sigmaxaa

    sigmaxaa Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010

    Sep 8, 2010
    22
    2
    16
    Texas
    If I had to guess, the FC probably comes from the fact that it is a Sense-based keyboard. Honestly, this is the 1 thing that keeps me from moving to an AOSP based rom - I've got fat thumbs and the arrows make fixing mistakes easier.

    I love MIUI and have tried it on several occasions but keep going back because I can't find a similar keyboard alternative for AOSP.
     
  8. stevcha

    stevcha Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    856
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    856
    274
    113
    That's what I was thinking but there are version of the htc keyboard without arrows that work on miui.
     
  9. sigmaxaa

    sigmaxaa Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010

    Sep 8, 2010
    22
    2
    16
    Texas
    Do you happen to have a link(s)? I've looked around for a keyboard with arrows to try and haven't been able to find one I like.
     
  10. Xtremedays

    Xtremedays Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,514
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    2,514
    1,073
    313
    Male
    Auto Technician(for now)
    Have you tried a GB keyboard? I do not have a link, but the one included in Evervolv allows you to slide to where you want to correct once you try and select a letter to change. Thus if the cursor is not in the right place, you can slide to the right location to make the change.
     
  11. sigmaxaa

    sigmaxaa Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010

    Sep 8, 2010
    22
    2
    16
    Texas
    I'm sure I've tried a GB keyboard (maybe) as I've tried MIUI and another AOSP rom on several occasions but didn't know about that slide functionality.

    As I'm not too savvy in pulling apart roms, any freestanding keyboards you know of that don't require ripping it from a rom and have the functionality you're talking about?
     
  12. Xtremedays

    Xtremedays Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,514
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    2,514
    1,073
    313
    Male
    Auto Technician(for now)
    none that I am aware of, but I have not looked into it too much. I have been happy with the one the rom came with and when on Sense roms have used swype more than any other ones. Would like to get swype on a GB rom.
     
  13. stevcha

    stevcha Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    856
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    856
    274
    113

    This seems to only work with Sense:

    update-EVO-HTC_IME.zip
     
  14. stevcha

    stevcha Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    856
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    856
    274
    113

    Do u know if the evervolv provides the zip for the kb?
     
  15. elpicard

    elpicard Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010

    Oct 25, 2010
    11
    0
    35
    Buenos Aires
    I have the same problem on my Milestone since I flash to FroyoMod.., any ideas? FC when I try to write
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...