1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

HTCSense.com on HTC Desire?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by JccageX2, Dec 25, 2010.

  1. JccageX2

    JccageX2 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    83
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    83
    1
    16
    Hey, just wondering if this was possible by porting a Desire HD Or Desire Z ROM?


    If so, are the ROM's fully working and stable?


    Thanks :)
     

    Advertisement

  2. adizz131

    adizz131 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    54
    18
    18
  3. JccageX2

    JccageX2 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    83
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    83
    1
    16
    So this'll give me HTC Sense.com on it?

    Also, have you got a root guide? Or how to put the ROM/Recovery image on?


    One last thing, which ROM Is best for battery life?
     
  4. SUroot

    SUroot Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Read my rooting faq.

    The baadnwz hd Rom is good
     
  5. JccageX2

    JccageX2 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    83
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    83
    1
    16
    Is there any that just require installing a recovery image then installing the ROM, Not a EXT Partition or anything?

    If not, has anyone got a good guide to installing the ROM, step by step?


    Thanks
     
    SUroot likes this.
  6. SUroot

    SUroot Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    All hd roms require a partition.

    In fact if you're going to root, you may aswell have a partition for more app space any way (apps2sd+) - see Sig for faq.

    Once you have partitioned the card, flashing the rom is the same as flashing any other Rom.

    I won't point you to a guide that will tell you everything because doing this requires understanding rather than blindly following a guide.

    Read both my faqs first. One even links to a rooting guide. Read them both over and over, visit our root subforum here and ask questions.

    I.don't want you to.jump.into this lightly
     
  7. JccageX2

    JccageX2 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    83
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    83
    1
    16
    Will do. One more thing though, do any of the HD ROM's require me to flash a Radio? And what does a Radio do anyways?
     
  8. flyte

    flyte Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    109
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010

    Aug 24, 2010
    109
    3
    36
    Danfrance speaks the truth. His rooting FAQ is excellent. I went with the baadnwz ROM and never been happier with the Desire.

    http://androidforums.com/desire-all...l-over-again-sense-hd-rom-recommendation.html

    As for partitioning, get the gparted live CD and throw it on a USB stick. Create the partitions when the phone is booted into recovery (couldn't do it otherwise, including a memory card reader), and then don't sweat it.

    If you just want a 512 MB ext3 partition, then use ROM Manager.
     
  9. JccageX2

    JccageX2 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    83
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    83
    1
    16
    Can't I partition it through the recovery image?


    And that ROM Needs different Radio, I don't wanna do that :|


    Also, is there the original/stock ROM for the Desire I can flash just in case?
     
  10. flyte

    flyte Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    109
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010

    Aug 24, 2010
    109
    3
    36
    What radio do you have? I am currently using:

    32.44.00.32U_5.09.05.30_2

    and it works perfectly.
     
  11. JccageX2

    JccageX2 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    83
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    83
    1
    16
    I really don't know, it doesn't need a radio don't worry, but, is there a sotck ROM i can re-flash, and can I partition through the Recovery Image?
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...