1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Huawei Ascend - How to do a Factory Reset

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Jazziette, Feb 21, 2011.

  1. Jazziette

    Jazziette Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    2,053
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010

    Dec 30, 2010
    2,053
    790
    233
    Under the Rainbow
    How to do a factory reset on the Ascend

    First take the battery out for five minutes and then put back in. Hold down the power, volume up and send buttons until in vibrates at the cricket screen.


    That's all there is to it.

    :)
     

    Advertisement

    Lennatron, cast71 and ventovic like this.
  2. Jazziette

    Jazziette Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    2,053
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010

    Dec 30, 2010
    2,053
    790
    233
    Under the Rainbow
    The above instructions are for when you can't get in to do it any other way. I think most would understand that but thank you for your input. :)
     
  3. Jazziette

    Jazziette Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    2,053
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010

    Dec 30, 2010
    2,053
    790
    233
    Under the Rainbow
    Okay then you post here how to do it and I'll change it!

    :)
     
  4. PiLsBuRy

    PiLsBuRy Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011

    Mar 19, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    Hello there. I am new to this site and to the rooting basics. I got a little ahead of myself and deleted the mms.apk and mms.odex files using root explorer. I need some assistance, if I may, to get my text messaging working again. Please and thank you.
     
  5. Nolasco

    Nolasco Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011

    Mar 27, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    Case Manager and Youth Counselor
    New York
    Ok, in doing this, will I lost all the info (contacts, emails) already set?
     
  6. ♥heartbeeps

    ♥heartbeeps Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011

    Jan 1, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    adding insult to injury
    au dessus de la ligne de macon-dixon
    When I do it, it says Firmware Update failed. =/
     
  7. Scooby9750

    Scooby9750 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011

    Mar 31, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    Same here, whats up with that?
     
  8. KOLIO

    KOLIO Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Try again holding down the same three buttons simultaneously,but,in the following sequence,it makes a difference:

    1)Volume UP
    2)Call button,then
    3)Press & hold the Power button

    Make sure you press & hold all three buttons,it should work.Sometimes you will still get the FIRMWARE 1/2 FAIL,just pull out the battery & try again.Hope this works for you.
     
    camachousa and DMajor239 like this.
  9. londonstylz

    londonstylz Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #1,427
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011

    Jan 31, 2011
    78
    5
    16
    everytime i do it goes into clockwork mod menu/ i want to unroot and go back to stock. how do i do this
     
  10. Tokenpoke

    Tokenpoke Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,110
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,110
    1,156
    313
    Male
    Arborist (tree man)
    Miami, FL
  11. Scooby9750

    Scooby9750 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011

    Mar 31, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    Ok so I did all that step by step and got the fail again so I pulled out the battery for 5 mins and tried again still same boat.... Should I try flashing it back to stock or is the another way?
     
  12. cesar1

    cesar1 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011

    Mar 30, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    Cricket
    Janesville
    The Phone has to be off before you hold the Volume Key, Call button, and Power button in that order.
     
  13. madejenery

    madejenery Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011

    Nov 9, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    i did all of that but im still on ClockworkMod, what do i do after that ?:(
     
  14. ShinySide

    ShinySide Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,504
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    5,504
    2,680
    313
    Palm Bay, Florida
    Are you trying to go back to stock?
     
  15. madejenery

    madejenery Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011

    Nov 9, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    no i'm trying to downgrade my phone, my friend upgraded it ; but my apps deleted so i want to down grade it but when i did this it just stays in the same screen , it doesn't do anything but say Data wipe complete . and i don't know what to do after this to get my phone to turn on .
     
  16. ShinySide

    ShinySide Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,504
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    5,504
    2,680
    313
    Palm Bay, Florida
    Downgrade to what tho?
     
    Can0dope likes this.
  17. madejenery

    madejenery Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011

    Nov 9, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    back to a 2.3
     
  18. Can0dope

    Can0dope Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    511
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011

    Jun 3, 2011
    511
    112
    93
    Hospitality
    Phoenix, AZ
    AFAIK 2.3 is not a downgrade.... ;)
     
  19. madejenery

    madejenery Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011

    Nov 9, 2011
    4
    0
    5

    Yeah it kinda is ; because they upgraded it to a 3.0.0.5 , and it deleted all my apps , so i wanted to downgraded back to a 2.3 ; and he did . but when i turn it on it stays on one screen , and it doesn't do anything . so when i tried to factory reset it , it just stays on that same screen it doesn't do anything .
     
  20. ShinySide

    ShinySide Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,504
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    5,504
    2,680
    313
    Palm Bay, Florida

    Uhhhhhhh 3.0.0.5 isnt an Android version...... Its a Clockworkmod recovery version.....

    You wiped out the OS when doing a what you thought was a "factory reset" Clockwork isnt a factory feature. If you want to fix your phone now you have to either flash a custom rom again. (IE CM7, CM6,PlayfulMod, Icarus) or flash it back to stock. Using the recovery scripts.

    Its up to you what you want to do. Just post in the correct thread and anyone here can and will help you if you need help.
     
    Can0dope likes this.
  21. danial haikal

    danial haikal Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011

    Dec 17, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    hey i'm uses huawei ideos s7..i give my freng to play my unlock pattern then i can't unock it coz i want the google account...but i forgot my google account how i want to do help me...plzzzzzzzzz
     
  22. danial haikal

    danial haikal Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011

    Dec 17, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    Hey I have A Huawei phone too. Its an android and I have a problem. I let a friend play with the unlock pattern to many times and I cant remember my gmail account password or anything about. Please help me. All that I can do is recieve phone calls and I have an emergency dialer but it wont work when I access those codes…. PLEASE HELP ME ASAP!!!
     
  23. ShinySide

    ShinySide Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,504
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    5,504
    2,680
    313
    Palm Bay, Florida
    Hi welcome to Android forums!

    The people over at Huawei Ideos S7 - Android Forums may be able to help you better and faster.
     
  24. ShinySide

    ShinySide Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,504
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    5,504
    2,680
    313
    Palm Bay, Florida
     
  25. Aleicia

    Aleicia Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012

    Jan 20, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    ok but after that is what will change ?
     

Share This Page

Loading...