1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Huawei Premia 4G

Discussion in 'Metro PCS' started by pl4life52, Apr 2, 2013.

  1. pl4life52

    pl4life52 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    315
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011

    Jul 10, 2011
    315
    38
    43
    Amityville, NY
    Just went on metros site and saw this lil bad boy and looks pretty good and bigger screen than motion but smaller than spirit

    What do you guys think?
     

    Advertisement

  2. alfick3

    alfick3 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #72
    Points:
    303
    Posts:
    2,755
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011

    Feb 7, 2011
    2,755
    452
    303
    Male
    IBM SSR
    DFW, TX
    I don't know 100%, but I believe it has less (much less) internal memory available to you for storage. I don't personally know much about Huawei, but have "heard" that they aren't really good phones. Like I said, I don't know that from personal experience though.

    Edit: Here's a link to Phonearena: http://www.phonearena.com/phones/Huawei-Premia-4G_id7787

    It says its only 2Gig of internal memory. Also it's a manual focus camera rather than an auto focus.
     
  3. OcalaFlGuy

    OcalaFlGuy Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,974
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011

    And MY weekly nomination for the What in the Hell Were They (Not) Thinking category is...

    :rolleyes:

    Bruce in Ocala, FL-cheap ass Commie POS
     
  4. pl4life52

    pl4life52 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    315
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011

    Jul 10, 2011
    315
    38
    43
    Amityville, NY
    Yeah I was just going through all dif sites the internal memory sucks. What caught my eye was the 1.5 ,manual focus? what the f thumbs down for this phone. It was supposed to get jb but those plans got cancelled
     
  5. MikeFromHC

    MikeFromHC Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    55
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013

    Feb 7, 2013
    55
    4
    16
    "Touch to focus" is all I can find and that is almost certainly a feature added to auto focus and hopefully some sort of exposure control. It would allow focusing on a small back lit object in the foreground. Better than saying cheese.

    NOPE. From the manual:
    "3. Touch anywhere on the viewfinder screen to focus
    the camera."
    or
    " You can also touch and hold the shutter release button to focus your camera.
    When the frame in the center of the capture screen turns green, the photo is in focus. Release your finger to take a photo. "

    Hopefully the camera is at hyper focus the rest of the time.
     
  6. chckmlls2

    chckmlls2 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2013

    Mar 28, 2013
    8
    1
    6
    El Cerrito, California
    Huawei sucks. Don't be cheap.
     
  7. Spdfreak34

    Spdfreak34 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    268
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012

    Dec 23, 2012
    268
    58
    53
    Male
    This ^^
     
  8. omgbossis21

    omgbossis21 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    704
    Joined:
    May 1, 2011

    May 1, 2011
    704
    142
    93
    My wife had a a few of those phone brands. None lasted very long and all had their own issues.
     
  9. pl4life52

    pl4life52 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    315
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011

    Jul 10, 2011
    315
    38
    43
    Amityville, NY
    They said they were going to give it JB but they took that back and will not be doing it
     
  10. MikeFromHC

    MikeFromHC Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    55
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013

    Feb 7, 2013
    55
    4
    16
    Who is "they".

    MetroPCS Huawei Premia to Receive Jelly Bean Update | PhoneNews.com says that Huawei will be offering the upgrade.

    As for talk that they are of poor quality, that's the same thing that used to be said of Japanese products.
    The difference is that in most cases China improves their products very, very quickly.
     
  11. n4zty

    n4zty Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,302
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011

    Apr 6, 2011
    4,302
    1,700
    313
    Male
    Just moved this over to the Metropcs subforum enjoy :D
     
    mike28 likes this.
  12. Spec2nirvash

    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #89
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,782
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011

    Jul 19, 2011
    1,782
    744
    233
    MA
    So old school AF, kinda like my old Optimus M. Not the worst thing out there. If that's the only downside to the phone, aside from barely 2GB of onboard storage, as long as the phone zips around web and UI like LG Motion does, that's all I need. For me, Camera/CCorder come last. I never use them ;)
     
  13. THE W

    THE W Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,092
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012

    Mar 10, 2012
    2,092
    242
    163
    Detroit
    great phone for the price.

    internal storage is skimpy but who DOESNT have an SDcard?
     
  14. Sepero

    Sepero Linux Guru
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    963
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010

    Aug 26, 2010
    963
    594
    163
    Personally I would rather internal storage be Zero. Let the manufacturer focus on quality components, and I'll buy my own storage.

    Anyone know if the bootloader is unlocked?
     
  15. Spec2nirvash

    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #89
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,782
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011

    Jul 19, 2011
    1,782
    744
    233
    MA
    If it's not, it doesn't look difficult to unlock it, just give your ESN, product #. Lookie here:

    Unlock Bootloader - Huawei Device Co., Ltd..

    Too bad that LG wasn't this friendly with the unlock codes.... When I get my phone I'll check it somehow, seems there are many ways between different manufacturers to check bootloader status. I'll report back if nobody else does.
     
  16. kartums

    kartums Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012

    Aug 1, 2012
    12
    2
    16

    I used Link2Sd I now has 8gb internal storage... also if you go to settings - storage it has an option to use your sd as default. I'm quite happy with mine.. no bugs or anything. ^____^
     
    JrossiX and alfick3 like this.
  17. killericarus

    killericarus Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    212
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013

    Jan 30, 2013
    212
    26
    43
    Just had to get this phone and I have time on my hands, so ill bring my enthusium & experience from the motion forums. Hi 2gig nice to see you around
     

Share This Page

Loading...