1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Tips Huh, never knew this...

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by rocky s., May 24, 2011.

  1. rocky s.

    rocky s. Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    207
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    207
    71
    53
    On the phone with htc over the weekend with my replacement t-bolt - had to ask them why I kept getting prompted for software update even after it had installed. Bottom line was they didn't know. They did, however, tell me that software updates are issued by two sources...verizon and google. They then proceeded to instruct me on how to "check in" with google on the phone to see if any updates were available from them. Here's how it's done - you go to your phone dialer and punch in:

    *#*#2432546#*#*

    Do not press call - when you punch in the above code, you will immediately get a notification icon in your top bar. When you look at the message, it will say "check in succeeded." (The above numbers in the code actually spell "check in"). Presumably, you then go to your check software mode under settings and see if there is an update available. When I did so, nothing was there - so, with the correct reading of the right software version in my phone and nothing new showing from google, htc concluded my phone was up to date and had no explanation for why it continued to prompt me to update. It hasn't done it since then, except when I pulled the battery temporarily to put it back in my old phone to wipe the contents before returning it to verizon. I suspect that with any hard reset or battery pull, my phone will again prompt for the update for some reason. It doesn't do this with a simple power up or reboot. Oh well, guess I can live with that until the software patch for these various bugs is released. Especially because my camcorder audio now works and gps locks in instantly! :D

    In any case, just thought I'd share the whole google update thing. This was new to me, but may be review for the old veterans here. Sorry if this has been mentioned before and I missed it. I guess it just means mainly that I'm not as old. :)
     

    Advertisement

  2. JEcht

    JEcht Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    May 18, 2011

    May 18, 2011
    85
    5
    16
    I wonder if you use Google ota if the update is better than Verizon's ota?
     
  3. Jrocker23

    Jrocker23 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    360
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009

    Dec 24, 2009
    360
    102
    68
    Male
    Law Enforcement
    Staten Island, NY
    They are exactly the same...
     
  4. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    Yeah I am thinking by dialing this you are doing the same thing as pressing the "Check for updates" button in the settings. The settings button is just easier to use for the average user
     
  5. andrewzpsu

    andrewzpsu Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    165
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    165
    12
    38
    The numbers spell "checkin" just so you know. This isn't anything new to the community, but it is good to remind people every once in a while.
     
  6. dequardo

    dequardo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    478
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009

    Nov 18, 2009
    478
    41
    43
    So what does 'checkin failed' mean??
     

Share This Page

Loading...