1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root hulu apk

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by dallas1scholar, May 17, 2011.

  1. dallas1scholar

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    May 11, 2011

    May 11, 2011
    23
    2
    16
    Does anyone know where I can find the hulu apk?
    Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. beastinbolts

    beastinbolts Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    823
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011

    Apr 16, 2011
    823
    92
    78
    I have not got to crazy to find the app as we now have a Netflix app in the market but if you really want Hulu I know the Rom Kings unleashed r5 has it. Just used TB and save a back up of it
     
  3. dallas1scholar

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    May 11, 2011

    May 11, 2011
    23
    2
    16
    Yeah I have netflix too but I'm trying to convince my wife we can just cancel our cable and just use hulu on the tv or the phones so she can watch her shows. I think 8 bucks is better than 40 for a bunch of channels i dont watch.
     
  4. beastinbolts

    beastinbolts Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    823
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011

    Apr 16, 2011
    823
    92
    78
  5. beastinbolts

    beastinbolts Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    823
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011

    Apr 16, 2011
    823
    92
    78
    U might try app brain....but like I said kings r5 has it working....just TB the app and bring it along with u
     
  6. ardchoille

    ardchoille Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    3,684
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011

    Mar 8, 2011
    3,684
    1,940
    333
    Male
    Ordained Minister
    Seattle
    It's not enough to just have the Hulu app. Hulu uses flash and flash reports your operating system and platform to the Hulu app. You need a modified version of flash that reports your system as a desktop computer in order to use Hulu on the Evo 4G. The Hulu app won't allow you to use it if it's being told you are on an Android system.
     
    beastinbolts likes this.
  7. corybantic

    corybantic Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    174
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011

    Apr 14, 2011
    174
    24
    38
    Turn around...
    So, uninstall flash?
     
  8. ardchoille

    ardchoille Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    3,684
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011

    Mar 8, 2011
    3,684
    1,940
    333
    Male
    Ordained Minister
    Seattle
    You'd need a modified version of flash. There is a link for it on xda somewhere.
     
  9. blue collar

    blue collar Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011

    Apr 6, 2011
    21
    16
    18
  10. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    for me unless i have strong 4g signal my hulu was very sluggish. i'm loving the netflix app as well as the hbo go app.
     
  11. 9to5cynic

    9to5cynic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    633
    Posts:
    4,873
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011

    Feb 20, 2011
    4,873
    1,766
    633
    /home/
    Google xda evo and hulu app and you will probably find a very detailed thread about getting hulu. I believe the file I installed was called something like "hulu(hopethisworks).apk" or something like that. I could never get it to actually play anything though, I probably just didn't follow directions closely enough.
     
  12. dallas1scholar

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    May 11, 2011

    May 11, 2011
    23
    2
    16
    Yeah I saw something with the debug trick on YouTube. But I also had KingsRom V5 and it had the fully operational app. The only reason I changed my Rom was due to some issues I was having with the WiFi tethering to my Xbox. Just figured there was an app floating around since that Rom had it.
     
  13. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
  14. blue collar

    blue collar Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011

    Apr 6, 2011
    21
    16
    18
    The site is better, it's easier to navigate and select exactly what you want. It's Just like being on your computer. depending on you're ROM choice the debug trick would be the way to go..imho
     
  15. beastinbolts

    beastinbolts Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    823
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011

    Apr 16, 2011
    823
    92
    78

    Yo that make good since I was running into the same problem . I wonder if you can get this from the r5
     
  16. 9to5cynic

    9to5cynic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    633
    Posts:
    4,873
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011

    Feb 20, 2011
    4,873
    1,766
    633
    /home/
    BC- so you are using the hulu website on your phone and it's working? what browser? did you do the hack mentioned above? I was never able to get it to work, and having hulu on my phone would be a good way to kill time waiting for classes to start.
     
  17. blue collar

    blue collar Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011

    Apr 6, 2011
    21
    16
    18
    To navigate directly from HULU site, with modified flash installed...

    from a standard sense 3.70xx ROM, native browser worked, in url type(without http:) about:debug > enter> menu> settings> UAstring> desktop

    2.3+ AOSP ROM (got it to go on evervolv and cm7), from native browser> about:debug > enter(nothing else)> menu> settings> UA> linux desktop



    latest flash modified

    and a HULU apk for those wanting the APP just use your favorite root explorer to install flash (uninstall previous flash first) and APP (no need to do all the debug stuff, just run APP)

    hope it works...has for me!
     

    Attached Files:

  18. blue collar

    blue collar Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011

    Apr 6, 2011
    21
    16
    18
    this is from the HULU site using miren browser
    1:17 seconds into clip
     

    Attached Files:

  19. evomattnc

    evomattnc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,245
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,245
    536
    213
    Mechanical Engineer for GE Nuclear
    NC

    Worked for me on latest mik fro. Thanks bud
     
  20. beastinbolts

    beastinbolts Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    823
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011

    Apr 16, 2011
    823
    92
    78
    What's the deal when you select. A video and it goes to the viewing screen but there is a light blue block in the middle with a question mark
     
  21. evomattnc

    evomattnc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,245
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,245
    536
    213
    Mechanical Engineer for GE Nuclear
    NC

    Sounds like a flash issue
     
  22. beastinbolts

    beastinbolts Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    823
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011

    Apr 16, 2011
    823
    92
    78
    Did u install the flash hulu tweek.... did yours do that...
    Maybe ill don't load it again
     
  23. evomattnc

    evomattnc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,245
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,245
    536
    213
    Mechanical Engineer for GE Nuclear
    NC

    I wiped my data, uninstalled my original, and then installed the hacked one...
     
  24. youdoofus

    youdoofus Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,131
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011

    Feb 26, 2011
    2,131
    747
    213
    Tech support rep for Knology
    so dak
    what are you watchin here? Looks kinda cool is why i ask... (a hot chick that can sing is ALWAYS cool IMO)
     
  25. tube517

    tube517 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #35
    Points:
    693
    Posts:
    3,945
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    3,945
    1,966
    693
    Male
    USA
    Got this to work on Koni's ES III. Does this modified flash work normally with everything else besides Hulu? (noob rooting question)
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...