• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help HW documentation

There may still be hope. PAL or ntsc (never the same color twice ;) accelerators generally have register control sets. I don't know if we would have access to them though. I'm downloading the android sdk because there might be a few clues in the source code but what I'd love to get is the android BSP for the moment. Is that open sourced?

I'm fairly new to android in general, and only just got a moment last week, so I'm definitely still learning. Is there a system level color adjust app available?

I'll keep looking for the programmers guide and post what I can find.

*EDIT*
I found the full technical manual at this link:
http://just4you.springnote.com/pages/2683448

On page 599:
Section 17.6 TV ENCODER REGISTER SUMMARY:
Register Address R/W Description Reset Value
GammaCTRL 0x76200064 R/W Gamma control 0x00000104

So the chip supports it, now I have to figure out how to add/modify modules in the kernel.

Upvote 0
NTSC is an analog format used for connecting with a television. The LCD controller has its own direct digital link.

What I was looking for were 3 lookup tables, 256 entries each. (one table for each color component: red, green, and blue) These tables would map the RGB values that software renders to actual RGB values that are sent out through the LCD controller. By using a different table for blue than what is used for green/red you can scale back that particular color component.

Upvote 0
NTSC is an analog format used for connecting with a television. The LCD controller has its own direct digital link.