1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Hydra Overclock Boot Loop

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by johnbrain, Aug 19, 2010.

  1. johnbrain

    johnbrain Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    108
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    108
    7
    36
    I have a rooted Stock 2.1 Dinc. Went to use the hydra kernel #1 and it put me into a boot loop. I am restoring my phone from backup so not a big deal but does anyone know why this may have occurred?

    I don't really need the overclock just thought I'd try it.
     

    Advertisement

  2. birthofahero

    birthofahero Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    442
    Joined:
    May 12, 2010

    May 12, 2010
    442
    81
    53
    I just posted about this. This exact same thing is happening to me too. I have tried the #1 overclock and the stock undervolt and they both put me in that loop. I would love a fix.
     
  3. benjordan06

    benjordan06 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    May 12, 2010

    May 12, 2010
    19
    4
    16
    Apparently this is pretty common. They suggest you go down the list of kernels and try each one at a time.

    Personally, I tried all 4 OC ones and had boot loop on all of them. At the time, I was 2.1 stock as well.
     
  4. birthofahero

    birthofahero Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    442
    Joined:
    May 12, 2010

    May 12, 2010
    442
    81
    53
    I have tried two and they didnt work. The #1 overclocked and the stock undervolt. Very disappointing.
     
  5. chrisjz

    chrisjz Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    75
    5
    16
    California
    i just had this problem happen to me a couple days ago. every kind of kernel i tried, it just kept boot looping. Go into nandroid then advanced restore. Select a date. and then restore boot. Shouldnt take long. Then reboot. This worked for me.
     
  6. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
     #15
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,182
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,182
    8,677
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    I think you fellas need the older kernels since you're running 2.1. The ones posted now are the .32 kernels and are made for 2.2 I believe. Maybe somebody has a link to the .29 kernels?
     
  7. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
     #15
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,182
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,182
    8,677
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
  8. zamugustar

    zamugustar Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Apr 18, 2010
    56
    75
    33
    The old OC kernels caused boot loops for me on 2.1 as well, but the UV non OC one worked. After changing to 2.2 the new OC kernels work fine.
     
  9. mangler1055

    mangler1055 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010

    Jul 30, 2010
    52
    3
    16
    yeah, i had the same loop with all 4 of those kernels on 2.1. I agree, i think they're intended for 2.2. I installed ThirdWave tonight with kernel #1 and it works good enough.

    but to be honest, i'm not sure what i'm looking for.
     

Share This Page

Loading...