1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

I am Rooted, but can't seem to get ROM Flashed! HELP!!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jonwlewis, Apr 10, 2010.

  1. jonwlewis

    jonwlewis Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    108
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010

    Mar 27, 2010
    108
    6
    56
    Skip Trace Investigator
    Loveland, Colorado
    I don't know if I am just dumb, or what but I have a problem. I am running 2.1 rooted and I am trying to flash Fresh's ROM onto my phone. I have put it in the root dir of my SD card. I have renamed it update.zip. When I go into the boot mode and select run update.zip from the menu, it never installs. It always says error. Also, the only choice I have at the boot menu is update. I don't have the choice to choose the zip file I would like to run. Am I doing something wrong? Please help. Thanks in advance.
     

    Advertisement

  2. theimpaler

    theimpaler Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010

    Mar 22, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    What is your RA version? It will say at the bottom of the screen when you boot into recovery mode.
     
  3. radxcoresteven

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010

    Feb 6, 2010
    38
    2
    36
    What's the error? Once I copied an incomplete zip and tried to update, and it failed giving me an error..
     
  4. ccapasso

    ccapasso Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,127
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010

    Jan 12, 2010
    1,127
    278
    163
    What do you mean you are running 2.1 rooted? 2.1 isn't released yet, so unless you either flashed the leaked 2.1 or are already are running a different ROM that is 2.1, then something is wrong.
     
  5. jonwlewis

    jonwlewis Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    108
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010

    Mar 27, 2010
    108
    6
    56
    Skip Trace Investigator
    Loveland, Colorado
    I am running the leaked 2.1. It is rooted. The ROM that I am flashing to is the Fresh Rom. It is not incomplete. It did the same thing to me when I aslo tried to flash the Dameged ROM onto my phone.
     
  6. me2u69

    me2u69 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010

    Apr 10, 2010
    41
    2
    16
    Hm.....
    At any rate you need to flash this from recovery and there is no reason to rename the file!
    I don't know why people think they need to rename the file!

    Edit:
    Forgot one thing, if you can't get into recovery then you are not rooted!
     
  7. Penny

    Penny Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    Oct 29, 2009
    54
    0
    15
    How did you get the leaked 2.1 on your phone? If you have that then you must have flashed it and are rooted....did you flash a recovery image when you rooted? Also as was posted above what RA are you using? It may be outdated. Also if you are running a newer ROM then you may have to go back to stock RUU before flashing a ROM that is older build unless you made a nandroid backup......I may be wrong but that is what I have been told.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...