1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support I am thinking about getting a refund!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Ineedtoknow, Jul 30, 2013.

  1. Ineedtoknow

    Ineedtoknow Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2013

    Jul 15, 2013
    13
    0
    15
    All right I'm just about at the end of my rope. I have taken my galaxy S4 back three times now and it's still not working right. I keep having problems with the 4G network. The first time I had to take it back because they forgot to add the mobile network. The second time I took it back they had to install a new Sim card. I just got back from my third trip where they updated the Sim card and did a speed test on it. Everything was working just fine until an hour ago. The 4G icon right above the up and down arrows keeps diapering and an E replaces the 4G and then it's slow as ****. I have a 500MB 4G plan and I only have 116MBs used so I know it's not that.

    Please help

    Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. Goodspike

    Goodspike Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,144
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010

    Dec 28, 2010
    1,144
    143
    143
    Male
    Seattle
    It would help to mention your carrier.
     
  3. sincarafan

    sincarafan Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    220
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2013

    Feb 20, 2013
    220
    29
    63
    Male
    Port Richey, FL
    He's on tmobile I can tell. lol Honestly to me it sounds like tmobile is the issue. Have you checked open signal at all to see how the signal is from the closest tower? To me it sounds like the 4g is dropping to edge because of the tower.
     
    IOWA, Ineedtoknow and Granite1 like this.
  4. motoracer1486

    motoracer1486 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    301
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010

    Jul 5, 2010
    301
    29
    43
    Sounds like a bad reception area to me.
     
  5. Granite1

    Granite1 Zercron Encrusted Tweezer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    833
    Posts:
    7,159
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    7,159
    7,180
    833
    Male
    Highway Construction Inspection
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Open Signal Maps is a great app to check how your reception is. It'll also tell you if your phone keeps jumping between towers, which happens.

    Hopefull you can get it pinned down. :)
     
    IOWA and Ineedtoknow like this.
  6. itsallgood

    itsallgood Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,877
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011

    Jan 27, 2011
    1,877
    277
    163
    Sounds like a bad signal area to me as well. I'm on AT&T and sometimes I drop between 3G and 4G, depending on location.
     
    Ineedtoknow likes this.
  7. androidpod

    androidpod Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    112
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012

    Nov 3, 2012
    112
    23
    58
    West Coast
    It's likely to be a result of a weak signal. I have four S4 models I bought for my family, and we're on AT&T with fantastic coverage. I have found that the S4 is the very best phone I've ever had as far as call quality is concerned. A very pleasant and appreciated result.
     
    IOWA and Ineedtoknow like this.
  8. Ineedtoknow

    Ineedtoknow Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2013

    Jul 15, 2013
    13
    0
    15
    Yeah it's tmobile but I don't understand it because even when I was in town it still had an E above it until they updated the sim. Also the 4G icon & speed stayed for about seven hours after I returned home. I even click airplane mode four different times to test it to make sure it was fixed. Anyone know of any other noncontact 4G service?

    Thanks for all the help I also have a few other complaints about it. Don't get me wrong I like the phone but it's definitely fallen short of my expectations.

    Another complaint is the most recent I am having trouble transferring video

    After recording video of my bike ride on a mountain trail with my S4. I watched all of it on the way home and it looked amazing. But when I downloaded to my computer it was all jumpy and froze at times. How can I fix this?

    I have an old HP Pavilion running windows vista. Also when I transferred it to a USB and played it on my ps3 it was still jumpy and freezes at times.
     
  9. sincarafan

    sincarafan Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    220
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2013

    Feb 20, 2013
    220
    29
    63
    Male
    Port Richey, FL
    I would still try checking out Open Signal and see if their information is matching up with the phone itself. I know they switched out the sim, but it could be the phones internal radios that are bad.
    I would suggest a factory reset on it first if you havent already done so. Then if that doesnt work, return the phone and make them give you a new one to replace it because the chances of you having the same issues on a new phone would be rare.
    I've had my phone on t-mobile since it came out and I have 0 issues including when transferring videos at full 1080p.
     
    Ineedtoknow likes this.
  10. speedlever

    speedlever Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #296
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    604
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012

    Jun 17, 2012
    604
    69
    78
    North Carolina
  11. Ineedtoknow

    Ineedtoknow Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2013

    Jul 15, 2013
    13
    0
    15
    I download open signal maps and inside the house the data signal was poor. So went outside and the best I could get was 1 MBps yesterday it was 5-6 MBps you said that it could be the phones internal radios. Could you give me some more info so I could at least sound like I know what I'm talking about :eek: Also is there any thing else I should have them check out?

    Thanks
     
  12. sincarafan

    sincarafan Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    220
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2013

    Feb 20, 2013
    220
    29
    63
    Male
    Port Richey, FL
    Here's one more app you can try. Network Signal Info.

    https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=de.android.telnet

    Keep an eye on the signal itself. Percent and dbm. See if it constantly goes up and down with big gaps and for how long.

    Here's one last thing you can try (only if you are in the U.S.) and will connect you to a different apn on t-mobile. You won't get lte from it, but it may fix the issue with 4g data speeds. I doubt this will fix any signal issues itself, just the data. I get faster data speeds from it. Why t-mobile only gave people one apn option on the GS4 is beyond me.

    1- Open the Settings
    2- Select More Networks
    3- Select Mobile networks
    4- Select Access Point Names
    You'll see only 1 apn listed which should say t-mobile US LTE (fast.t-mobile.com)
    5- Hit the menu key and select New APN (doing this will leave the other one there in case you want to switch back after)

    Enter everything below in the areas exactly as typed (leave other things alone or as not set) and save it. Go back and select the new apn setting. The 4g will drop for a second or 2 then come back. Check your download speeds then. Any better or worse?

    Name: T-Mobile US
    APN: epc.tmobile.com
    Proxy: Not set
    Port: Not set
    User name: Not set
    Password: Not set
    Server: Not set
    MMSC: http://mms.msg.eng.t-mobile.com/mms/wapenc
    MMS proxy: Not set
    MMS port: Not set
    MCC: 310
    MNC: 260
    Authentication type: Not set
    APN type: default, mms, supl
    APN protocol: IPv4
    APN roaming protocol: IPv4
     
  13. Ineedtoknow

    Ineedtoknow Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2013

    Jul 15, 2013
    13
    0
    15
    Well I finally exchanged the S4 for a brand new one yesterday morning. They keep saying that it could be fixed but it was my seventh visit there. The closest tmobile store is in a mall so by the time I find a place to park and walk in. I am even more unpleasant then normal also luckily or unluckily for me I'm a big scarry looking guy so they didn't argue much. Everything seemed fine until today when the 4G icon disappeared and the E is there again. Below is a picture I know it's not a very good one because I took it with my old precedent.

    [​IMG]

    I didn't think this would happen again especially now that I have a new S4 but here we are. The phone worked perfectly for about nineteen hours I turned the 4G on and off several times. I even turned the phone off overnight and this morning it worked perfectly and for most if the day. I was on the internet when someone called me and ever since then the 4G and the speed has disappeared. I had 12.8 MBps now I'm lucky to 1 Mbps I can't figure it out everything about the phone is completely stock. By that I mean I haven't changed anything on it so it's the same as it was after they set it up at the store. The only thing that I can think of is that I use airplane mode to turn everything off that's my only guess. On my precedent I used airplane mode to turn on & off the service and network all the time is the S4 different? Also is there a way to reactivate the 4G LTE?

    Thanks

    (sincarafan) I successfully set up the.alternate APN but it didn't help the data speed.

    Another thing that happened was the guy at the tmobile store said to leave the phone on and use it until the battery was dead. After that then I could charge it up he claimed it would make the life of the battery longer is that true?
     
  14. Outatime

    Outatime Android Expert
    Rank:
     #113
    Points:
    253
    Posts:
    1,629
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010

    Mar 6, 2010
    1,629
    662
    253
    Male
    Fed
    Doing a discharge until the phone shuts down is ok once. It actually helps the "% battery left" sensor to have accurate readings. Don't get in the habit of doing it though. It will not improve your battery life. Lithium ion batterys like it when they're at full power.

    What sort of apps do you have on your phone? Are you using any kind of task manager/killer?
     
  15. sincarafan

    sincarafan Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    220
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2013

    Feb 20, 2013
    220
    29
    63
    Male
    Port Richey, FL
    Airplane mode will disable the 4g but turning it off will reactivate it and shouldnt have any effect with making the 4g drop to e. Lte will connect itself as long as it is available and the apn is on the fast.tmobile.com setting. Something tells me this is tmobiles issue with their tower and signal issue considering it's going on with the new phone as well.
     
  16. m3incorp

    m3incorp Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    118
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011

    Nov 15, 2011
    118
    9
    36
    Male
    Retired after 30 years military. Full time student
    Colorado
    I'm thinking it has to be the reception in your area. BTW, you could have taken a screenshot of your homescreen and attached it in your post :)
     
  17. StaggerLee

    StaggerLee Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    112
    Joined:
    May 10, 2010

    May 10, 2010
    112
    24
    38
    Male
    CA
    Have you changed the phone from Global to LTE? On Verizon the phone comes set to Global, not sure about other carriers.
     
  18. sincarafan

    sincarafan Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    220
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2013

    Feb 20, 2013
    220
    29
    63
    Male
    Port Richey, FL
    Stagger, tmobile isn't like that.
     
    StaggerLee likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...