1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

I am totally lost

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by dougiefresh22, Feb 18, 2011.

  1. dougiefresh22

    dougiefresh22 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    25
    0
    15
    Alaska
    I am trying to root my girlfriend Hero and I am totally lost. I read the FAQs, I read all the ROM and I am still dumbfounded. I went to the XDA page on rooting the 2.1 Hero but the links to the things it tells me download either don't work or are out of date. I could really use some help. I am confident I can do this, I am just totally new to the whole rooting and android lifestyle
     

    Advertisement

  2. Squiggy

    Squiggy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    360
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010

    Mar 2, 2010
    360
    18
    38
    Web Developer
    San Diego, CA
    If it's a CDMA Hero, then check out this link if you haven't already.

    If you've already tried that, then look at the stickies for this forum. They're pretty straightforward.
     
  3. srkmagnus

    srkmagnus Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    128
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011

    Jan 30, 2011
    128
    24
    58
    There is also an app called Z4 Root, it can be found here: [APP] z4root - xda-developers

    Download the app and install in onto the phone with a file manager like Astro or Es File Explorer.

    Next, download an app from the market called ROM Manager: https://market.android.com/details?id=com.koushikdutta.rommanager&feature=search_result

    once you have the two apps installed run Z4 and follow the screen prompts to root the phone. Once it does it's thing you want to then Run ROM Manager and downlaod Clockwork Recovery for the CDMA Hero (it might say Hero). Install it and turn off the phone.

    Wait a few seconds and hold power+home button to bring you into the recovery that was installed. That's all there is to it :) It's highly suggested that you perform a Nandroid backup at this point and save it someone just in case you ever want to return back to this point.

    Happy flashing and feel free to ask any questions :)
     
    JB in AZ likes this.
  4. dougiefresh22

    dougiefresh22 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    25
    0
    15
    Alaska
    A friend came over and showed me universal androot. I downloaded it and ran it, so I guess my phone is now rooted.... now what? I am reading up on things on my own, but any extra help is appreciated.
     
  5. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #14
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,409
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,409
    8,172
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    That is a great app, which is what I used, if you are rooted you will see the Superuser app in your app drawer. The next step is to first and foremost download Clockworkmod from the market, install, then flash a recovery, then make sure you boot into recovery and I prefer not doing that from the app itself, ( turn phone off, then with phone off, hold the volume and end key at the same time for a few seconds, then once prompted hit the home key to boot into recovery) once done then the first thing I would do is create a Nandroid back up of your stock rooted Rom. once done reboot.

    Then do some research as to what Rom you would like to flash, there are many out there so just depends what you want. When ready for Rom flashing report back here and we can guide you in a proper direction from there.
    ;)



     
  6. srkmagnus

    srkmagnus Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    128
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011

    Jan 30, 2011
    128
    24
    58
    +1 what DonB. Also, be sure to flash ROMs specific to your phone. Don't download anything made for the GSM (Europe) Hero.

    There are good ROMs available. I would suggest aosp's 2.2 and 2.3 builds, which can be accessed in this forum. Feel free to ask around for help flashing these ROMs :)
     
  7. LBPHeretic

    LBPHeretic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,368
    Joined:
    May 29, 2010

    May 29, 2010
    2,368
    507
    213
    Senior Software Engineer
    Wilmington, Delaware
    I will also say +1 for DonB and srkmagnus. I would personally recommend AOSP Android 2.2 version 9.9.2 because it is a stable ROM.

    AOSP Android 2.3 is more than good enough for a daily driver ROM, but it still has bugs that need to be worked out. For a beginner, I recommend the former.
     
  8. dougiefresh22

    dougiefresh22 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    25
    0
    15
    Alaska
    I jumped on fresh ROM 2.1.2. It was a link on ccapasso's signature. The install went really well and without complication. If I did want to change to a different one would I just run the factory reset wipe again and install the different .zip? Is it that easy?
     
  9. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #14
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,409
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,409
    8,172
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    You would do exactly as I mentioned in the above thread, do a Nandroid, then do a full wipe, then flash Rom and then flash Gapps, reboot set phone up and your good to go

    Full Wipe Means

    CWM Recovery
    Wipe data/Factory Reset
    Wipe cache partition
    Advance/Wipe Davlik cache
    Partitions Menu/Format Boot
    Partition Menu/Format System
    Partition Menu/Format data
    Partition Menu/Format Cache






     
  10. dougiefresh22

    dougiefresh22 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    25
    0
    15
    Alaska
    ah, so if just did a "wipe data/factory reset." Was that is not enough? Should I start over and wipe all that other stuff?
     
  11. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #14
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,409
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,409
    8,172
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    If your flashing a new Rom that is the preferred way


     
  12. dougiefresh22

    dougiefresh22 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    25
    0
    15
    Alaska
    all right. I think I am understanding most of this. One last thing... what is "gapps" and how is that different than the ROM?
     
  13. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #14
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,409
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,409
    8,172
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Gapps are the Google applications, they don't come included in the Rom when you flash it


     
  14. cdadams1223

    cdadams1223 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    203
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010

    Nov 8, 2010
    203
    15
    38
    I'm not sure I've ever done anything to the 'Partition Menu'. Doesn't that have to do with the SD card or am I way off base here?
     
  15. dougiefresh22

    dougiefresh22 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    25
    0
    15
    Alaska
    can I flash gapps anytime after I haved flashed Fresh (am I using these terms correctly), or do I need to do it at the same the same time before I reboot?

    I read this is my searching around

    "13.Will rooting my phone make it super fast and everything?
    a.No. Rooting alone will not do this for you. Installing a custom ROM like Fresh 1.1 along with other custimizations like Gumbo Kernel and setCPU will help speed up your phone, and can improve battery life."

    do I install gumbo kernal and setcpu the same way I did fresh but without the wiping?
     
  16. LBPHeretic

    LBPHeretic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,368
    Joined:
    May 29, 2010

    May 29, 2010
    2,368
    507
    213
    Senior Software Engineer
    Wilmington, Delaware
    If you are running ClockworkMod Recovery version 2.5.0.7 then it is under the Partition menu. If you are running ClockworkMod Recovery version 3.0.0.5 then it is under Mounts and Storage.

    These partitions are on your handset's internal memory. I do not believe this has anything to do with partitions on your microSD card.
     
    cdadams1223 likes this.
  17. LBPHeretic

    LBPHeretic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,368
    Joined:
    May 29, 2010

    May 29, 2010
    2,368
    507
    213
    Senior Software Engineer
    Wilmington, Delaware
    You can technically flash GApps anytime, but the preferred method is right after you flash your new ROM. That is how I have always done it at any rate, unless it was a new version of the same ROM, then you do not need to flash GApps again, unless they too have been updated.

    You can flash a new kernel in much the same way you would flash a new ROM or GApps. The best time to flash a kernel is while you flash the ROM and GApps. SetCPU you download from the Android Market and install like any other app. It is not free though.
     
  18. cdadams1223

    cdadams1223 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    203
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010

    Nov 8, 2010
    203
    15
    38
    Thank you sir! That makes sense. :)
     
  19. JB in AZ

    JB in AZ Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,869
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009

    Oct 27, 2009
    1,869
    267
    173
    Florida
    If you flashed Fresh 1.1, as you seemed to indicate, then you don't need gapps. Gapps is for Roms that are not sourced from HTC/Sense, and there for don't include the Google apps, like Market, etc. Fresh Rom, has all the google apps, as it is sourced from an HTC/Sense base.

    Now, if you are using Fresh 1.1, it is a very old ROM. It works fine, but you may want to have a look at some more "up to date" roms". If this is the case, post back, and we will get you to the right place to get a newer ROM.
     
  20. LBPHeretic

    LBPHeretic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,368
    Joined:
    May 29, 2010

    May 29, 2010
    2,368
    507
    213
    Senior Software Engineer
    Wilmington, Delaware
    Ha, when he posted that I did not even think he was talking about the Fresh 1.1 ROM. I misinterpreted it into thinking he had just freshly flashed a new ROM. Either way, you are absolutely right about not needing GApps for Sense UI ROMs. Nice catch.

    Personally, I would recommend Liquid Sense 2.1 Over at xda-developers I see there are a couple new Android 2.2 Sense UI ROMs being worked on again as well, but they are no where near being stable yet.
     
  21. JB in AZ

    JB in AZ Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,869
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009

    Oct 27, 2009
    1,869
    267
    173
    Florida
    Well, actually, in post#8, he says he is using Fresh 2.1.2...but yeah, still a Sense Rom. :)
     
  22. LBPHeretic

    LBPHeretic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,368
    Joined:
    May 29, 2010

    May 29, 2010
    2,368
    507
    213
    Senior Software Engineer
    Wilmington, Delaware
    Whoops! He sure did. :eek:

    Ah well, we all miss or forget a few details every once in a while. Sometimes I see multiple threads asking the same questions and I lose track of who has what! :D
     
  23. dougiefresh22

    dougiefresh22 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    25
    0
    15
    Alaska
    Since I have fresh 2.1.2 would you still suggest a different ROM? So far it has been working great. She still needs to really start using the phone again before I want to say that it is all better, but at the moment she is happy.
     
  24. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #14
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,409
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,409
    8,172
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Well that Rom is fine, but there are newer versions out, so if you are wanting to upgrade then let us know, AOSP has a new Gingerbread Rom out that is pretty amazing, but I guess if the phone is not for you and is for her, you most likely want something that is stable and that you will not have to update every 4 days, LOL AOSP 9.9.2 is also a very good and stable Rom



     
  25. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    If you want to stay with fresh, update to fresh 2.4.0
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...