1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

I bought a laptop

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by boyo1991, May 14, 2016.

  1. boyo1991

    boyo1991 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    573
    Joined:
    May 26, 2011

    May 26, 2011
    573
    106
    123
    Male
    Claims adjuster
    the internet.
    Hey guys, I just wanted to share a quick Android related situation.

    So the other day, I went to my local best buy. There was an Asus laptop that was on clearance due to being an open box. The problem the last person had? A tiny tiny insignificant scratch that was almost invisible to the naked eye. 4 GB RAM, yes a celeron processor, but 15+ inch screen (or thereabouts) and plenty of disk space.

    At 200$ flat I fancied it a good deal.

    So I brought it home, got it running, and started to download my... "Necessities" (games I planned on getting that would be suitable for the hardware). I've never been more disappointed in the speed even for simple games like hearthstone or even runescape. So I download ccleaner, clear up registry errors and BAM... Nothing changed :p

    Something was defective I'm sure.

    Long story short, I quickly began realizing I like using Android more than a pc. Especially when I wanted to play vainglory but knew I shouldn't because I just got this new laptop! (No, bluestacks was a nightmare for speed on this thing..)

    Anywho, this is just my little story for Android enthusiasts :)
     

    Advertisement

    mikedt likes this.
  2. AZgl1500

    AZgl1500 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #43
    Points:
    618
    Posts:
    6,400
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011

    Feb 3, 2011
    6,400
    3,144
    618
    Male
    Retired and loving it.
    Oklahoma grasslands
    I too bought an ASUS laptop that was open box, someone took it home, didn't like it, brought it back.

    for the most part, it is pretty snappy, mine is a TP500L with a Touch Screen and it folds over 360* to make into a Tablet.
    Win 8.1 ala Win 10 makes that imperative....

    I formatted it and put Linux on it, even faster now.
     
    ndex477, mikedt and bcrichster like this.
  3. bcrichster

    bcrichster Android Expert
    Recognized Developer
    Rank:
     #33
    Points:
    713
    Posts:
    6,036
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013

    Jan 23, 2013
    6,036
    4,213
    713
    Male
    Electrical, Electronics
    Florida
    I bought an ASUS laptop as well (i7 quad core + 16GB RAM), that thing is ludicrous speed compared to my Toshiba..
     
    mikedt and AZgl1500 like this.
  4. kate

    kate Dreaming of Bugdroid.
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #44
    Points:
    618
    Posts:
    5,441
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013

    Gaming on a budget laptop with a Celeron processor wont go very well, even with low/mid-range games. Runscape needs an i3 for decent settings.;) The laptop probably doesn't have a good gaming GPU either.
     
    ndex477, mikedt and chanchan05 like this.
  5. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
     #26
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    15,130
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    15,130
    4,802
    1,108
    Male
    This isn't a story about Android being better. This is simply a story of someone who is a little misinformed about laptop processing in general. Getting a Celeron CPU to run games and Windows is like getting a single core Android phone nowadays.

    It's really the same thing. Get a <$200 laptop, and you get what you pay for. Get a $700 laptop or better, and you'll be able to play some mid range games. And even Hearthstone on a laptop uses more power than the same game on Android because you'll have to run it over Blizzard's Battlenet program.
     
    mikedt and bcrichster like this.
  6. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    2,238
    Posts:
    24,631
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    24,631
    13,632
    2,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    Late last year I bought a cheap Windows 10 tablet, only 2GB RAM, Intel Atom Mobile 1.6GHz quad-core CPU. I actually found for some gaming it does pretty well, runs Asphalt 8 quite nicely. Runs MS and WPS office no problems of course. I didn't actually buy it for gaming though, got it for lessons and for plugging into the TVs HDMI, for streaming movies, TV, etc.

    The same tablet, Ramos i9s, also has an Android version. Windows 10 version is about equivalent of $200.
    http://en.ramos.com.cn/showproduct.php?id=38

    A few weeks later I did buy a new laptop as well, an Apple Macbook Air. :thumbsupdroid:
     
    #6 mikedt, May 14, 2016
    Last edited: May 15, 2016
    bcrichster likes this.
  7. Fox Mulder

    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #68
    Points:
    393
    Posts:
    1,748
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012

    Feb 19, 2012
    1,748
    1,296
    393
    NYC
    Celeron=slow.
    I have one of those Atom tablets as well, it's ok for some basic applications and things that don't require much horsepower, but beyond that it's a dog. Fortunately I bought it as a toy and not for serious daily use.
    There are good deals to be had if you look at refurbs of higher-end machines, I got my Dell i7 ultrabook for about half-price this way.
    Anyway I think we're outside the realm of Android discussion here- ;)
     
  8. Chelsie_Sweet

    Chelsie_Sweet Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2016

    Jun 1, 2016
    14
    2
    16
    Female
    I'm using an Asus but I don't let my daughter used it for gaming. I would expect it to be slow. For gaming, my brother is recommending a lenovo or a Dell laptop.
     
  9. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
     #26
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    15,130
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    15,130
    4,802
    1,108
    Male
    Brand has nothing to do with slow or fast or whether it would be better for gaming.

    I can get an ASUS ROG and it will be way faster and more powerful than a Lenovo Yoga. Just look at the laptop specs. In my example, the ASUS ROG would run latest gen i7 for laptops with mobile GTX graphic cards. The Lenovo Yoga would be running a Celeron with no graphic cards.

    In the same way, getting a ASUS Transformer would be be a bad idea if your purpose is PC gaming.

    The ASUS ROG line is specifically made for gaming, to go head to head with Razr, Qosmio and Alienware laptops.
     
    bcrichster and psionandy like this.
  10. bcrichster

    bcrichster Android Expert
    Recognized Developer
    Rank:
     #33
    Points:
    713
    Posts:
    6,036
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013

    Jan 23, 2013
    6,036
    4,213
    713
    Male
    Electrical, Electronics
    Florida
    I'm running an Asus ROG and really couldn't be happier. Slightly older than the newer Alienwares (a 2014 laptop) but at 1/3 the cost and 100 ×'s the capabilities, this thing is bad@$$. Worth the cost, but use this for Development & compiling. This thing has so much RAM that it doesn't use any swap at all for compiling, gonna reduce the swap a little bit soon
     
    #10 bcrichster, Jun 18, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2016
  11. SiaGarcia

    SiaGarcia Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2016

    Jun 24, 2016
    3
    1
    6
    Female
    two months ago i bought Lenovo:

    • Intel Core i3-4030U 1.9 GHz Processor
    • 6 GB DDR3 RAM
    • 500 GB 5400 rpm Hard Drive
    • 15.6-Inch HD (1366 x 768) Display
    • Windows 8.1
    Not the coolest one, but i love it.
     
    bcrichster likes this.
  12. boyo1991

    boyo1991 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    573
    Joined:
    May 26, 2011

    May 26, 2011
    573
    106
    123
    Male
    Claims adjuster
    the internet.
    I knew what I was getting into with a celeron, but I think what i was getting at at this time (cuz I was a bit crabby no game would work on lowest settings I don't even remember fully) was that even if it worked just fine.. I wasnt as interested in it.. then again maybe I was just crabby lol. For the record altho jagex "requires" i3 or above, (laughably) for runescape, for this example I couldn't even play in the "min" settings. I guess to be fair i didnt have a clue about the graphics chipset... meh its done and over with now lol
     

Share This Page

Loading...