1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support I bricked it

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Socrats, Feb 24, 2011.

  1. Socrats

    Socrats Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    98
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011

    Feb 11, 2011
    98
    5
    36
    I finally did it' I bricked my phone. I tried to use odin to restore to stock to update to the new 2.2 froyo for the phone. Odin didn't work no progress bar or anything. I tried to retry it and now the phone won't turn on:mad: so i guess im getting the atrix or inspire since i've had this phone for only thirty days.
     

    Advertisement

  2. drapacioli

    drapacioli Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    126
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010

    Sep 11, 2010
    126
    7
    36
    Try these steps exactly first, it worked for a few people and it might take several attempts. Try switching USB ports if it consistently doesn't work:

     
    The Shape likes this.
  3. ~Reaper~

    ~Reaper~ Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    170
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010

    yeah that should work man i thought i bricked mine a while ago and that exact method worked for me
     
  4. Dante04SRT

    Dante04SRT Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    138
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    138
    14
    38
    Any update? Still bricked or did you try anything?
     
  5. Socrats

    Socrats Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    98
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011

    Feb 11, 2011
    98
    5
    36
    It's not bricked anymore that method worked! Now im just trying to put froyo on it then ill root it
     
  6. Socrats

    Socrats Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    98
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011

    Feb 11, 2011
    98
    5
    36
    odin isn't working right now, it won't allow me to put 2.2 froyo on my phone, Any Ideas?
     
  7. drapacioli

    drapacioli Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    126
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010

    Sep 11, 2010
    126
    7
    36
  8. NJR

    NJR Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    157
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    157
    23
    38
    If that's the case edit your title on the original post..somewhat misleading now
     
  9. Socrats

    Socrats Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    98
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011

    Feb 11, 2011
    98
    5
    36
    Wait it's stuck at a screen with a phone and computer with a exclamation mark.! help!
     
  10. Snow_Fox

    Snow_Fox Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,498
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010

    Mar 31, 2010
    1,498
    131
    163
    My phone won't turn on at all now.. no nothing..

    My computer died while I was flashing.. x.x
     
  11. Socrats

    Socrats Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    98
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011

    Feb 11, 2011
    98
    5
    36
    Anyway to fix this?
     
  12. Snow_Fox

    Snow_Fox Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,498
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010

    Mar 31, 2010
    1,498
    131
    163
    no idea.

    I don't even get a light or anything to turn on.
     
  13. Dante04SRT

    Dante04SRT Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    138
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    138
    14
    38
    Same thing happened to me - Do you have a jig? I didn't when this happened to me so I wound up exchanging the phone; HOWEVER, I am confident that the jig will get you back to download mode.

    You will want to make sure you look at your phone batch number before using ODIN-1-CLICK. I made the mistake, before I learned, to use ODIN3 (NOT 1-click) on 1010 and 1012 phones. Since using ODIN3 for my phone, I've not had any issues.
     
  14. Snow_Fox

    Snow_Fox Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,498
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010

    Mar 31, 2010
    1,498
    131
    163
    no..

    And to be honest I am extremely comfortable with software.. not so much with hardware mods..
     
  15. The Shape

    The Shape Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    180
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010

    Jul 28, 2010
    180
    27
    43
    NY
    2.2 killed my phone today. I never rooted my phone or anything like that. It's been "pure" since day one lol. I Tried everything... I took it to the store and they were worthless. They are now sending me another Craptivate. I had to basically fight with them to get them to comply.
     
  16. Dante04SRT

    Dante04SRT Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    138
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    138
    14
    38
    I'm assuming you're talking about the jigs... if not, disregard the information below.

    A jig is nothing more than a 'modded' USB connector - Simply plug it in and unless the phone is totally bricked, it WILL force the phone into Download Mode. They're like $10 at Welcome to MOBILETECHVIDEOS.com (where I bought mine).

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2hBUOPh_9mI
     
  17. Snow_Fox

    Snow_Fox Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,498
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010

    Mar 31, 2010
    1,498
    131
    163
    so the update has bricked a few captivates..

    I wonder if I sent mine in if they would be able to tell mine had been rooted or what not before being hard bricked..

    I may go buy some resistors from radioshack for .99$ tomorrow and see if I can get anything done.
     
  18. Dante04SRT

    Dante04SRT Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    138
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    138
    14
    38
    I wondered the same thing too... My theory is this.

    (a) If the phone messed up during ODIN, who knows how much of the info is still left in tact... Even if it was a soft brick and Sammy can get it back into Download Mode, DLM only lets you prep the phone to flash, which wipes it clean anyway... I don't think there is any kind of data recovery at that point.

    (b) Even if they did find it was rooted/flashed - What would be the harm at that point?

    As for the resistors; I tried the "make your own" method and it just got me pissed off - The only way I'd go back that direction is if I cut up my USB cord and soldered the resistors directly to it. Screw that whole 'tape method' bit - It got me no where. Other option - Depending on where you're located, someone local may already have a jig - I saw someone on my local Craigslist looking for someone with a jig to get their phone into DLM, so I'd try that too - Certainly worth a shot. Hell, someone on here or XDA may be local as well.
     
  19. Snow_Fox

    Snow_Fox Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,498
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010

    Mar 31, 2010
    1,498
    131
    163
    I am going to get up early in the morning and go to radioshack get the 3 resistors and try that method before I send it in.

    *IF* I can't get that to work.. I'll just try to get it switched out..

    With that said.. i don't think there is anything that can be done to recover data. I am a bit relieved to see the guy here [FIX] Unbrick captivate w/o cutting up USB! - xda-developers has a similar problem.

    I figure what the hell? nothing to lose.

    I also doubt data can be retrieved.. I am pretty sure the internal sd card is soldered in so I don't think they cna just take it out and say "WELL THIS IS WHAT HAPPENED" But, I could be worng..
     
  20. xxbrysonxx

    xxbrysonxx Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010

    Sep 20, 2010
    78
    11
    18
    I actually did the same thing a few days ago. It is a bitch trying to get the resistors to only contact the 4th and 5th contacts in the usb port.

    I ended up cutting up a cheap usb cable i had lying around, it took about 30 minutes worth of work to expose the hardware in it. Then it was just a matter of plug that in to the captivate and touch the resistors to the proper leads on the usb.

    Here's my thread I posted at XDA. They were extremely helpful in pointing me in the right direction.

    Partially Bricked Captivate - xda-developers
     
  21. Snow_Fox

    Snow_Fox Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,498
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010

    Mar 31, 2010
    1,498
    131
    163
    Unfortunately my phone isn't turning on at all :( so I am hoping maybe it will work.

    I have a spare micro usb if absolutely needed.

    *edit*

    Also I noticed you mention the 125$ for a replacement..

    Is that under insurance or is that through their warranty department?
     
  22. Dante04SRT

    Dante04SRT Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    138
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    138
    14
    38
    Well, keep us updated - I'm interested to see if you get it powered back on.
     
  23. Snow_Fox

    Snow_Fox Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,498
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010

    Mar 31, 2010
    1,498
    131
    163
    trying non usb butchering method first..so far nothing..
     
  24. Dante04SRT

    Dante04SRT Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    138
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    138
    14
    38
    Yeah, I struggled with that method too - It sucks. Especially when you're not even sure if the phone is totally bricked - You could be hitting the correct pins and not even know it - OR - You could not be on the right pins for long enough... either way, bite the bullet, hack your USB! :) The cables are so cheap, spending another $5 for a new one outweighs sitting there TRYING to hit the right pins with a tape jig.
     
  25. Snow_Fox

    Snow_Fox Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,498
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010

    Mar 31, 2010
    1,498
    131
    163

    Er.. not to be mean.. but, I'm getting a little frusterated here.

    I am 99% sure I am 100% bricked.

    when I press the power button, the lights don't even turn on in the phone :/

    I read one thread saying if the phone doesn't even turn on these method won't work.

    I guess the possible upside to all of that is if the phone doesn't turn on at all.. then maybe I can get it replaced.
     

Share This Page

Loading...