1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support I Bricked My Phone

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by m07775, Feb 25, 2013.

  1. m07775

    m07775 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2013

    Feb 25, 2013
    11
    0
    35
    OK I can probably find the answer by Googling but have already spent 2 hours doing it and can't

    I have a Samsung Ace S5830i that ran Gingerbread 3.2 (I am sure it was 3.2) and wanted to back it up. I set about yesterday backing up my ROM, downloaded ROM Manager who said he could not do it as I did not have ClockWorks installed, so off I went to look for ClockWorks and found it here, sadly I did not read the comments on the bottom.

    Now the phone starts but freezes as soon as it comes onI am no idea how to fix it.

    Went into restore factory settings but I think all that did was wipe my data.

    So any Saints or Angels help me out
     

    Advertisement

  2. ryancmatchett

    ryancmatchett Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,119
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011

    Nov 15, 2011
    1,119
    744
    213
    Male
    Auditor
    Austin, TX
    Hi again M!
    I have moved your post from the Lounge to the Galaxy Ace section as there may be more help available here. Good Luck!

    Galaxy Ace
     
  3. m07775

    m07775 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2013

    Feb 25, 2013
    11
    0
    35
    Thanks, I( never noticed this section untill you pointed it out
     
  4. m07775

    m07775 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2013

    Feb 25, 2013
    11
    0
    35
    If I download gingerbread onto the phones SD card I should be able to instal it from there?

    Als I have a Tatanium backup on the sd card, I guess that just backup the apps?
     
  5. ayush29k

    ayush29k Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,275
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011

    Aug 19, 2011
    1,275
    245
    143
    Delhi
    You are lucky that your phone is switching on, for most people it doesn't even do that after using rom manager on the ace.

    You need to flash a fresh samsung firmware on the phone through Odin. Google up the procedure and guides. And your firmware was gingerbread 2.3, there is no GB 3.2, android 3.0 is honeycomb which was for tablets mostly.
     
  6. m07775

    m07775 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2013

    Feb 25, 2013
    11
    0
    35
    Downloaded Odin and Kerl onto the laptop but the phone will not connect, the drive letter appears in the file manager but it is not accessible, any advice please.

    Read that putting clockworkrecovery on my sd card will work, any thoughts.

    I have the following error msgs
    e:failure to mount/system (invalid argument)
     
  7. Powie21

    Powie21 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012

    Sep 21, 2012
    37
    7
    16
    England, UK
    do you have the galaxy ace drivers installed on your laptop ?

    Sounds like you have corrupted your firmware. Only way to fix this is to re-flash with Odin or take to repair shop.
    If Odin won't connect to your phone then it will have to be repair shop.
    Putting Clockworkrecovery on sd card will not help as you can't boot the phone to do anything with it.
     
  8. m07775

    m07775 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2013

    Feb 25, 2013
    11
    0
    35
    Thanks for the reply.

    Odin will not connect but I ccan get to the SD card via the phone!
     
  9. Powie21

    Powie21 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012

    Sep 21, 2012
    37
    7
    16
    England, UK
    I'm confused, how can you get to the SD card via the phone if your phone is doing the above ?

    Clockwork recovery will only be any use if you have made a backup of your firmware that you can then restore. did you manage to do this before it all went wrong ?
     
  10. m07775

    m07775 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2013

    Feb 25, 2013
    11
    0
    35
    OK if I turn the phone on normally, the logo comes on and nothing happens.

    However it allow to go into recovery mode, I have four options reboot, apply update from SD card, wipe cache, wipe data/factory reset

    It also tells me applying muli-csc-
    e:failedto mount.

    No I do not have a copy firmware, trying to do that got me into this mess in the first place.

    However will an update off the SD card not work?
     
  11. Powie21

    Powie21 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012

    Sep 21, 2012
    37
    7
    16
    England, UK
    Sadly no, you cannot re-flash the firmware via apply update from SD card. Only via Odin.
     
  12. m07775

    m07775 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2013

    Feb 25, 2013
    11
    0
    35
    Ah well, thanks for your answer once again!

    What I really do not get is why my phone gets recognized by the computer yet can not communicate. Odin 3.07 also recognizes the phone does the checks and says ready to communicate or something similar then nothing happens.

    Anyone know how much is will cost to fix and what have they oot that will fix the problem?
     
  13. m07775

    m07775 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2013

    Feb 25, 2013
    11
    0
    35
    anyone point me to a firmware please!
     
  14. ryancmatchett

    ryancmatchett Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,119
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011

    Nov 15, 2011
    1,119
    744
    213
    Male
    Auditor
    Austin, TX
  15. ayush29k

    ayush29k Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,275
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011

    Aug 19, 2011
    1,275
    245
    143
    Delhi
    I think you are using the wrong Odin version, its been more than a year since i used Odin, but as i recall ACE users needed Odin 4.38 to flash the firmware.
    Just confirm what version you need to flash the firmware on the phone.

    All firmwares, tools, guides and all related stuff is available at sammobile.com
     

Share This Page

Loading...