1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

I can not seem to backup my phone

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by brandonpaz, Apr 29, 2010.

  1. brandonpaz

    brandonpaz Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    73
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    73
    4
    16
    Tampa
    I have tried to backup my phone multiple ways and I have not had any luck.

    I manually rooted my phone, using the steps on this webpage:
    [GUIDE] How To Root The Sprint CDMA Hero (Windows) - xda-developers

    Manual Root Backup
    When I tried the step 19 reboot recovery my phone just reboots to an HTC splash screen.

    CLOCKWORK MOD

    I also tried to use the clockwork mod market app to make a backup as see on this page
    [Complete Guide] How To Fully Back Up And Restore Your Android Phone Using Nandroid Backup | Android News, Reviews, Applications, Games, Phones, Devices, Tips, Hacks, Videos, Podcasts - Android Police

    I click flash clockwork mod recovery
    it auto senses my phone cdma htc hero
    I click on the hero, and nothing happens, I never receive a successfully flashed.

    PREKITCHEN
    Last I tried to perform a backup using prekitchen
    the diagnostic showed I am green in all areas
    I click on the nandroid backup and it reboots my phone and brings up a HTC splash screen.

    basically I have to pull out the battery to get phone functionality back.

    I have read else where that I can hold volume down and power to bring up a recovery mod (this works) but I am not sure what to do when I get there.

    Any help or advice would be appreciated


    Thanks much in advance!

    Brandon
     

    Advertisement

  2. ccapasso

    ccapasso Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,127
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010

    Jan 12, 2010
    1,127
    278
    163
    Once you are in recovery you choose create backup, and then make a nandroid backup.
     
  3. brandonpaz

    brandonpaz Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    73
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    73
    4
    16
    Tampa
    Wut! I now have a backup of my phone, and I was able to successfully restore from my backup! I would say i am ready to flash now.

    I am thinking about going with damagecontrol 2.7
     
  4. msierra519

    msierra519 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    261
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010

    Mar 9, 2010
    261
    10
    58
    IT Security
    South Florida
    have you already tried fresh 2.0d?

    any particular reason why you choose damagecontrol instead?
     
  5. brandonpaz

    brandonpaz Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    73
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    73
    4
    16
    Tampa
  6. davec1234

    davec1234 Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

  7. brandonpaz

    brandonpaz Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    73
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    73
    4
    16
    Tampa
    I did update to 2.08 from 2.07, I have only used it for a few hours, but I noticed a few things appear to be snappier. The biggest change for me was the keyboard. It appears to have no lag at all.

    Gl, and let me know if you have any other questions.

    Brandon
     
  8. DFRESH

    DFRESH Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    559
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009

    Dec 26, 2009
    559
    39
    88
    The Bay Area SF/Oak
    i hate the keyboard on the DC 2.08 ROM....I prefer the stock keyboard...easier, faster...
     
  9. davec1234

    davec1234 Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Thanks for the info.
    I'll probably have at it after I receive my new sd card.
    I want to partition the card and then flash the ROM.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...