1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root I can root 2.1 OTA right? RIGHT?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ThorSkaagi, Jun 13, 2010.

  1. ThorSkaagi

    ThorSkaagi Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    215
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010

    Mar 30, 2010
    215
    12
    38
    Denver, CO
    I realize I'm beating a dead horse here, but I am really confused. I've went to the root forums or the Eris, but I can't find a definitive answer. All I want to do is simply root my Eris with OTA 2.1. Can anyone help me out possibly? Links? Do I have to roll back to 1.5?

    Please help!



    EDIT: Now I realize why it didn't work... my replacement Eris I got today is apparently a v3 leak. HBOOT 1.49.0000. That pisses me off.
     

    Advertisement

  2. SyDTRaKKeD

    SyDTRaKKeD Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    262
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    262
    23
    38
    SEO/Marketing
    SoCal
    it is possible that you just got a leaked refurb...

    however... it might not necessarily be a v3 leak... i think i heard that Verizon is just using 1.49 now to prevent rooting... (anyone feel free to correct me if i'm wrong)
     
    ThorSkaagi likes this.
  3. ThorSkaagi

    ThorSkaagi Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    215
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010

    Mar 30, 2010
    215
    12
    38
    Denver, CO
    That's incredibly smart of them, should that be the case.

    I know it sounds dumb, but the ONLY reason I wanted to root in the first place was so I could have the white notification bar like stock Android OS's. I hate the black one so much!
     
  4. incrediblenotinstock

    incrediblenotinstock Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    396
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    396
    18
    38
    so you can root on 2.1 ota? or no?
     
  5. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,242
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,242
    23,428
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    Yes, if you truly received the OTA (i.e., were 1.5 --> 2.1 via OTA).
     
  6. incrediblenotinstock

    incrediblenotinstock Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    396
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    396
    18
    38
    yea thats what i did. so i can?
     
  7. erisuser1

    erisuser1 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    1,644
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    1,644
    759
    223
    If the phone is more than a month old or so, and the only software upgrades that have taken place over its life have been OTA updates, then YES.

    And the same methods for rooting that worked with 1.5 work in exactly the same way for these OTA-2.1 phones.

    Note that the OP did not have an OTA-2.1 phone; he had one that recently came from the "factory".
     
  8. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,242
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,242
    23,428
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    Yep. If you were 1.5 and accepted the OTA, your HBOOT bootloader should still accept root. Following the http://androidforums.com/all-things-root-eris/53963-guide-stock-1-5-latest-root-2-1-a.html also works for 2.1 OTA receivers just like it did for original 1.5-ers (like me :)).

    Also, if you are going to take this journey, make sure you read through the posts and processes very carefully and that follow the instructions very carefully, especially making sure to check that the ROMs that you are downloading and installing are the correct ones (i.e., check the MD5 sums very carefully as erisuser1 strongly suggests :D)--because you don't want to end-up accidentally installing a leak ROM.

    erisuser1 has also posted many replies to folks going through the root process. His posts are an excellent source of information and walkthroughs for going through this (wish I had seen them when I was rooting ;)).

    Good luck!
     
  9. ThorSkaagi

    ThorSkaagi Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    215
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010

    Mar 30, 2010
    215
    12
    38
    Denver, CO
    Yeah, I saw the lady pull it out of the box that said 'certified like-new'.

    You think it was a refurbished leaked phone? Is it possible that I still have a v1 or v2 leak installed?
     
  10. ThorSkaagi

    ThorSkaagi Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    215
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010

    Mar 30, 2010
    215
    12
    38
    Denver, CO
    Yeah, delete
     
  11. doogald

    doogald Android Expert
    Rank:
     #56
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,695
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,695
    1,927
    483
    To be honest, I don't think that's the reason. I just think that they want to sell it with 2.1 pre-installed, rather than have the user go through OTA, and the image that they use to preinstall 2.1 includes the new bootloader.
     
  12. MrDangerous

    MrDangerous Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    534
    Joined:
    May 21, 2010

    May 21, 2010
    534
    57
    78
    Fort Worth, Texas
    I think the OTA doesn't mess with the bootloader because if it did and the bootloader got messed up, you'd have no way back to unbrick the phone.

    So really if the phone got a bad OTA update you'd still be able to go into HBOOT and reflash an image file from the SD card. Not that Joe-Salesrep at the VZW store would know how to do this, but you never know.

    The new phones are probably flashed with an app that puts a fresh HBOOT on them. Probably no more dangerous than using the original image from the factory.
     

Share This Page

Loading...