1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support I can't mute my shutter sound

Discussion in 'Android Help' started by Syreth Gracelin, Apr 2, 2016.

  1. Syreth Gracelin

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2016

    Mar 5, 2016
    24
    1
    16
    Is there a way I can just take it off my (rooted) phone? If so, how?
     

    Advertisement

  2. girolez

    girolez Often Off Piste
    Rank:
     #46
    Points:
    543
    Posts:
    3,847
    Joined:
    May 29, 2011

    May 29, 2011
    3,847
    1,919
    543
    Male
    Retired
    Les Gets, France
    Hi

    In some countries it is illegal not to have a shutter sound. That's why it's hard to do. You should be able to turn your volume down to zero to stop it. I use macrodroid to do this automatically when I open the camera app. (non rooted phone) If you can find the sound file with the shutter noise, make a copy and replace it with a silent file of the same name.
     
    Mikestony and psionandy like this.
  3. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    13,815
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,815
    13,871
    2,043
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    You can also use a 3rd party camera app like Pro Shot, which allows you to turn off the shutter sound. AGAIN, check local laws before doing this.
     
    Mikestony likes this.
  4. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    29,814
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    29,814
    24,503
    3,118
    Male
    Next to you
    Using a root app like Root Explorer, I believe the file path is /system/media/audio/ui/camera_click.ogg.
    Rename it to "camera_click.ogg.bak" without the quotes, set permissions and reboot. Root Explorer will automatically create the backup, but just to be sure make a copy of the original.
    Nandroid before hand!
    To echo @girolez and @The_Chief, check your local laws.
     
    The_Chief likes this.
  5. Syreth Gracelin

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2016

    Mar 5, 2016
    24
    1
    16
    Can't I just delete it?
     
  6. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    29,814
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    29,814
    24,503
    3,118
    Male
    Next to you
    I suppose you could, but you'd never get it back again.
    Scratch that, I guess you could always recreate an .ogg file and name it the same, set permissions and reboot. :D
     
  7. Syreth Gracelin

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2016

    Mar 5, 2016
    24
    1
    16
    How would I do that?
     
  8. Syreth Gracelin

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2016

    Mar 5, 2016
    24
    1
    16
    Nothing happens when I try to delete the file...
     
  9. Syreth Gracelin

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2016

    Mar 5, 2016
    24
    1
    16
    I just figured out that this but is because my (root) file manager apps aren't requesting root permissions..
     
    #9 Syreth Gracelin, Apr 2, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2016
  10. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    29,814
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    29,814
    24,503
    3,118
    Male
    Next to you
    Does your device have superuser installed? Not just the app, but the other "flashable" Superuser that I think should have been flashed in the rooting process.
     
  11. Syreth Gracelin

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2016

    Mar 5, 2016
    24
    1
    16
    Kingroot, and yes, it's rooted.
    Edit: what do you mean by "'flashable' Superuser"?
     
    Mikestony likes this.
  12. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    29,814
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    29,814
    24,503
    3,118
    Male
    Next to you
    Well, I'm not familiar with Kingroot, but with other root methods (at least in my experience) they provide a superuser file in the form of a .zip file that is flashed via a custom recovery such as TWRP or Clockworkmod (CWM).
    But with Kingroot, I'm wondering if their version of Superuser was installed, namely kinguser I believe.
    Like I said, I'm not familiar with Kingroot.

    I suppose to check if your device (by the way, what device do you have?) is rooted, download and run the app root checker in the PlayStore.

    Do any other root-only apps prompt you for root access?
     
  13. Syreth Gracelin

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2016

    Mar 5, 2016
    24
    1
    16
    Yeah, another app prompts me for root access: root checker. -_-

    Also, I have a ZTE Obsidian (Z820).
     
  14. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    29,814
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    29,814
    24,503
    3,118
    Male
    Next to you
    Does the app indicate you are rooted?
    What root file manager are you using? I recommend Root Explorer ;)
     
  15. Syreth Gracelin

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2016

    Mar 5, 2016
    24
    1
    16
    Yeah, it does, and I'm using File Manger ("offered by Gira Mobile").
     

Share This Page

Loading...