1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root I Can't update my DroidX

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by bgardner15, Jul 19, 2011.

  1. bgardner15

    bgardner15 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010

    Feb 4, 2010
    60
    1
    16
    I am trying to recover my droidx but I keep getting this message and I seem unable to do anything, E:Can't open /cache/recovery/command , what do I need to do reflash it or what? All help is appreciated, thanks it is running apex 1.4.1 and I can't even update, the update starts and then about a quarter of the way it stops and then boots up and I get an update failed message, wtf?
     

    Advertisement

  2. razorloves

    razorloves Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010

    Sep 16, 2010
    37
    20
    18
    bgardner15 likes this.
  3. bgardner15

    bgardner15 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010

    Feb 4, 2010
    60
    1
    16
  4. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
     #63
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    423
    Male
    Virginia
    i do not think there is one for the mac just yet, hopefully im proven wrong. but is there a way you can get to a laptop for at least 10 minutes?
     
    bgardner15 likes this.
  5. bgardner15

    bgardner15 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010

    Feb 4, 2010
    60
    1
    16
    Is there a way to remove a bad rom? My phone got messed up someone took my sdcard out and put in a different one and I cannot do anything but be in rootand that's it
     
  6. jaydubbs

    jaydubbs Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011

    Mar 19, 2011
    80
    32
    23
    Northern NJ
    bgardner15 likes this.
  7. bouchigo

    bouchigo Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,756
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    3,756
    1,026
    413
    Production Engineer Mngr.
    Stockton, CA
    I agree with this, it's one of the main reasons the linux cd was made (for mac users).
     
    bgardner15 likes this.
  8. cougar214

    cougar214 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,423
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    1,423
    157
    143
    The only way, I know of anyway, to remove a bad rom is to flash it again. Or you may have to SBF then flash the rom again.
     
    bgardner15 likes this.
  9. bouchigo

    bouchigo Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,756
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    3,756
    1,026
    413
    Production Engineer Mngr.
    Stockton, CA
    It's probably best to start from fresh and just sbf, not necessary, but I would do that.
     
    bgardner15 likes this.
  10. Ninja Monkey

    Ninja Monkey Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    712
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    712
    197
    93
    Southeast MI
    I use this method on my MacBook Pro and my Windows desktop. Works like a champ! :cool:
     
    bgardner15 likes this.
  11. bgardner15

    bgardner15 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010

    Feb 4, 2010
    60
    1
    16
    Getting ready
    Y to give it a shot, thanks to you all.
     
  12. bgardner15

    bgardner15 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010

    Feb 4, 2010
    60
    1
    16
    Got be to stock and now running gingerbread, thanks a lot for the help, now I need to root gingerbread, any takers welcome.
     
  13. z0mb13m4n

    z0mb13m4n Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    289
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011

    Mar 8, 2011
    289
    40
    43
    Male
    Salt Lake City
    Only way to root GB is to flash the 2-part pre-rooted GB, and I think you have to be on rooted FroYo to do that
     
  14. Metfanant

    Metfanant Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,450
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010

    Sep 23, 2010
    2,450
    412
    163
    You're gonna have to SBF back to Froyo again lol...

    You need to root Froyo...then install the pre-rooted version of GB...
     
  15. Bugly

    Bugly Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,057
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011

    Jan 30, 2011
    1,057
    104
    143
    Male
    VW mechanic
    Tacoma, Washington
    /facepalm/ after all these posts, another one bites the dust.... There are plenty of threads dealing with this issue, I don't want to be "that guy" making mention of "read the f-ing manual", but damn....
    Anyway, sBF back to FroYo, root with Z4, Droid2 bootstrap and flash the 2-part GB ,596, then you can go buck-wild....
     
  16. bgardner15

    bgardner15 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010

    Feb 4, 2010
    60
    1
    16
    Do I need to change the file names to update? or leave them the way they are as zips.
     
  17. sx4dude2013

    sx4dude2013 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    857
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    857
    64
    78
    Student
    Georgia
    No....do not change any file names.
     
    bgardner15 likes this.
  18. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    [​IMG]

    Nice avatar, just wish it was bigger.
     

Share This Page

Loading...