1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root i did the CyanogenMod 7

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by wayne137, Apr 10, 2011.

  1. wayne137

    wayne137 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    395
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011

    Apr 7, 2011
    395
    38
    43
    Highe School
    Florida
    i did the mod i cant wait on metro no more and it is awsome any tips on things i should do
     

    Advertisement

  2. Xgon

    Xgon Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011

    Feb 12, 2011
    15
    4
    16
    Florida

    Did you have Icarus before? If so how would you compare the two?

    I am thinking of switching to it when the mms bug is fixed.
     
  3. wayne137

    wayne137 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    395
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011

    Apr 7, 2011
    395
    38
    43
    Highe School
    Florida
    nope and yea mms dont work but i never really use it
     
  4. Tokenpoke

    Tokenpoke Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,110
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,110
    1,156
    313
    Male
    Arborist (tree man)
    Miami, FL
    tip on customization or on performance? :coolness!: you can make your lockscreen respond only to gesture! go to settings>cyanogenmod setiings> lockscreen> hide slider (or similar, i am on icarus atm due to my own stupidity cm7 tomorrow) guestures must be set for this to work.


    the best thing you can do is just explore the settings and such.
     
  5. wayne137

    wayne137 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    395
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011

    Apr 7, 2011
    395
    38
    43
    Highe School
    Florida
    Thanks... I notice when I start to use wifi it only pick up some of the wifi networks and not all that's around me for example it would not Pick up the wifi at my house or my friends house
     
  6. efeigenbaum

    efeigenbaum Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    297
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011

    Jan 30, 2011
    297
    45
    63
    Male
    Lincoln, NE
    It sounds like CM7 and Icarus are great but, given the fact that they cut into some of the functionality of the phone, I think I'll stick with 2.1 and hope/pray that 2.2 comes out some day.
     
  7. PlayfulGod

    PlayfulGod Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    8,109
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    8,109
    4,938
    353
    Male
    Web Design and Hosting/PC Repair
    NW Georgia
    believe everything is working in icarus. Only things not working in cm6 is mms, about the same for cm7, nothing I miss anyhow lol.
     
  8. efeigenbaum

    efeigenbaum Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    297
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011

    Jan 30, 2011
    297
    45
    63
    Male
    Lincoln, NE
    That's something I'd miss. I do send MMSs from time to time.
     
  9. lmarisy

    lmarisy Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010

    Dec 20, 2010
    65
    11
    48
    Male
    Computer Tech
    Florida
    You know i run Icarus and tried both CM6 and CM7, they would not run on my ascend, was either a constant Loop or error upon error so i reinstalled the Icarus MOD again and phone is running ok now. Dont know what CM mods dont work for me :( oh well...


    Luis
     
  10. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,331
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,331
    2,526
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State

    what cwm do you have install? and also did you wipe everything before flashing?
     
  11. wayne137

    wayne137 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    395
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011

    Apr 7, 2011
    395
    38
    43
    Highe School
    Florida

    U had did something wrong
     
  12. BlastGT1

    BlastGT1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    732
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011

    Jan 20, 2011
    732
    335
    123
    Doesn't pay enough
    The Gate
    Icarus does not have any non-working functions. I can verify this because I've been running it since January and have no issues whatsoever.

    Anytime you install a different ROM, you need to be performing a complete wipe before installation. If you don't know what a complete wipe is, you need to go back to the installation instructions for each ROM and re-read them. I have had more than one talk with pip2kk and isaacj87, and both of them reiterate time and again that 99% of issues are because someone has not done a complete wipe first, therefore some piece of the previous install is left behind which causes the problems.
     
  13. PlayfulGod

    PlayfulGod Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    8,109
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    8,109
    4,938
    353
    Male
    Web Design and Hosting/PC Repair
    NW Georgia
    yup 99.999% of the time its user error ;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...