1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root I don't understand...

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by not2shabby, Jun 10, 2011.

  1. not2shabby

    not2shabby Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    47
    3
    16
    lab tech
    Columbus, Oh
    If they can get the leaked version of GB rooted, why not the OTA?
     

    Advertisement

  2. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    Some have speculated that root is acquired as part of the two file flash process when installing the rooted GB rom.

    That's a lot different from running an app to get root. Besides, with rooted GB stock roms available, there's not a lot of need for a DX GB root app.

    Eventually a root app for another phone will be found to work with DX GB. No telling how long that will take tho. :D
     
    not2shabby likes this.
  3. cougar214

    cougar214 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,422
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    1,422
    157
    143
    The leaked version of Gb 596 IS the OTA. It's striped and it's code is modified for deodex and root. Something that a one-click app cannot do at this point in time. Maybe in a few more weeks, perhaps months. But not right now.
     
    not2shabby likes this.
  4. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,299
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,299
    23,735
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    +1 / well said!

    Yes, you have to have root (in Froyo) in order to get root (in GingerBread).

    I believe P3Droid broke the OTA .zip file into two parts and inserted the root-related pieces into the .zip files. Then, you flash these two files in ClockworkMod ('cause you already are rooted, right?) since they are unsigned files (which you can't do from the bootloader).

    So, you are basically doing the GB OTA install from ClockworkMod instead of flashing the signed OTA .zip file from the bootloader (which can only flash Moto-signed .zip files).

    Very clever and very cool (and fortunate for us :)).

    Cheers!
     
    not2shabby, Raw Dodge and llamakc like this.

Share This Page

Loading...