1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

I Dont Want A Soft Reset

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by InternetIsUnsafe, May 17, 2019 at 6:06 AM.

  1. InternetIsUnsafe

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Friday

    Friday
    3
    0
    15
    Problem: battery drains from 100% to 0% in just 4 hours.

    I don't want to do a soft reset.
    How do I do a hard reset?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,468
    Posts:
    23,584
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    23,584
    17,392
    2,468
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Why do you want to do a hard reset but not a soft one?

    There terms are vague, but "soft reset" basically means a forced restart. Usually just press the power button down until the phone restarts (may be 10 seconds or more - ignore any prompts on the screen). If you have a removable battery just pull the battery out instead - if you can do that then keep it out for a minute or two while you are there (ensure everything is discharged). Though in most cases just restarting the device will do as well.

    A hard reset I understand to be a factory reset, i.e. erase all user-installed apps and all user data (does nothing to the system software). That's the thing you'd want to avoid if you can.

    The best solution however is to identify what is causing the power drain and deal with that. The system settings can tell you something about power usage, apps like GSam Battery Monitor can give you more details. If the cause is a rogue app holding the phone awake you want to know which one.

    Of course if you are living on the edge of network coverage, constantly losing signal, searching and reconnecting (or dropping from 4g to 3g then switching back) that's going to drain you quickly no matter what you do (apart from changing network).
     
    #2 Hadron, May 17, 2019 at 8:00 AM
    Last edited: May 17, 2019 at 10:53 AM
  3. dontpanicbobby

    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #16
    Points:
    1,563
    Posts:
    13,888
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011

    Dec 31, 2011
    13,888
    8,761
    1,563
    Male
    Boston MA USA
    ocnbrze likes this.
  4. InternetIsUnsafe

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Friday

    Friday
    3
    0
    15
    Hadron,
    Settings > device maintenance > battery...
    Says, "battery usage per hour: 0%".

    Could an app be draining the battery? Even if the phone says it's not?
     
  5. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,983
    Posts:
    24,728
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    24,728
    15,148
    1,983
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    maybe you are looking at the wrong app. there is a possibility that another one is draining the phone. it is hard to say. have you tried just rebooting?
     
  6. InternetIsUnsafe

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Friday

    Friday
    3
    0
    15
    YES. I rebooted/soft reset.
    And then recharged to 100%.
    And then checked battery life after an hour, and it was still 100%. That was good news.
    Fast forward to the next morning and battery drained again to 0%.
     
  7. svim

    svim Android Expert
    Rank:
     #33
    Points:
    708
    Posts:
    4,321
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013

    Dec 19, 2013
    4,321
    3,373
    708
    Illinois
    When checking Settings >> Battery you've mentioned it states the battery is at 100% after charging but it might be more revealing as to which app is draining your battery overnight to instead check your Settings >> Battery menu in the morning when the battery is depleted to see which app, or apps, might be the possible source of a problem.
     
    Hadron likes this.
  8. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,468
    Posts:
    23,584
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    23,584
    17,392
    2,468
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Exactly: the battery menu will tell you what has used power in this charge cycle. So you need to let it run fairly low and then look at it.

    If that isn't enough then try a better battery monitor app.
     

Share This Page

Loading...