1. Check out our companion app, Forums for Android! Download from Google Play

Root I finally get the performance I want!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by donjuro, Jul 22, 2013.

  1. donjuro

    donjuro Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    163

    Mar 29, 2013
    1,036
    270
    163
    Male
    Aurora, IL
    I always knew this phone had some pretty good hardware, I always wondered why it felt so sluggish though. I feel like the second core is off most of the time though. I used kernel tuner and changed the scheduler to deadline and turned cpu1 on, I left the governor as is. You guys might wanna try it. Swype for me is now lag free, and opening up gallery is buttery now. I can't wait for this custom kernel to be released and see what this phone can really do!
    ^ original post ^

    setting cpu1 on and changing scheduler
    Remember, you need to be rooted!

    As for setting the scheduler, I made an init.d script with these two lines:

    [HIGH]echo "scheduler-name" > /sys/block/mmcblk0/queue/scheduler;
    echo "scheduler-name" > /sys/block/mmcblk1/queue/scheduler;[/HIGH]

    This sets the scheduler both for internal memory and the sdcard. As for which scheduler you should use, refer to this post: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showpost.php?p=23616564&postcount=4
    :I went with deadline, but it's all personal preference.

    References/sources:
    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showpost.php?p=23616564&postcount=4
    http://androidforums.com/motion-4g-all-things-root/693252-guide-unleash-dual-core-enable-cpu1.html

    I've added copies of my own files for those of you who just want to "drag and drop"
     

    Attached Files:


    Advertisement

  2. MidshipAc

    MidshipAc Well-Known Member
    43

    Jul 7, 2013
    238
    33
    43
    Male
    Georgia
    Where is the scheduler option?
     
  3. donjuro

    donjuro Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    163

    Mar 29, 2013
    1,036
    270
    163
    Male
    Aurora, IL
    Misc.
    Not sure about this but it could be possible cpu1 could still be turned off by other apps. If possible, hopefully the kernel being built well keep it on at all times. I have Rom toolbox pro, so I just use the cpu tools in there. I don't like having to many of the same apps, or even apps that perform the tweaks for me, I feel it slows my phone down, that's why I'm so excited for this new kernel and the development happening.
     
  4. andrew.johnson

    andrew.johnson Well-Known Member
    36

    Aug 31, 2011
    101
    4
    36
    There's an option under settings in the top right of the app to prevent other apps from disabling cpu1.
     
  5. andrew.johnson

    andrew.johnson Well-Known Member
    36

    Aug 31, 2011
    101
    4
    36
    Might wanna add the fact that you need to be rooted to use the app as well.
     
  6. donjuro

    donjuro Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    163

    Mar 29, 2013
    1,036
    270
    163
    Male
    Aurora, IL
    No, I know. I'm not gonna keep any apps yet. I wanna see how this kernel turns out first. Otherwise using apps to do your work would be a waste of resources.
     
  7. MidshipAc

    MidshipAc Well-Known Member
    43

    Jul 7, 2013
    238
    33
    43
    Male
    Georgia
    Donjuro. Where is the deadline option mentioned above?
     
  8. donjuro

    donjuro Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    163

    Mar 29, 2013
    1,036
    270
    163
    Male
    Aurora, IL
    If you're using kernel tuner, it's a scheduler under misc.
     
  9. AMOCO

    AMOCO The Computer Guy
    Moderator
    543

    Mar 10, 2012
    2,733
    1,285
    543
    Male
    Computer Tech.
    Colorado Springs,CO.
    I installed Kernel Tuner & Enabled CPU1,
    This how they should run all the time,Like your CPU in your computer.
    I was wondering why the phone was a little sluggish.With a 1.5GHz Dual Core CPU in it.
    I to hope this can be fixed with a new kernel,And I understand that a lot if not all apps only use one core most of the time.
    :D:D:D:D:D

    Sent from my N9100
     
  10. donjuro

    donjuro Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    163

    Mar 29, 2013
    1,036
    270
    163
    Male
    Aurora, IL
    So you agree too that this phone runs better and should have the second core enabled at all times?
     
  11. andrew.johnson

    andrew.johnson Well-Known Member
    36

    Aug 31, 2011
    101
    4
    36
    Prettu much all dual core phones with 4.0 and above have that power saving feature enabled. The only drawback I see from enabling both would be more battery drain.
     
  12. sonicbluemustang

    sonicbluemustang Well-Known Member
    53

    Dec 11, 2010
    431
    82
    53
    Male
    Tallahassee
    I really don't see enough slow down on this phone to need any modification to it. I am very carefule about what I install on it as for apps. No crapola for sure.
     
  13. AMOCO

    AMOCO The Computer Guy
    Moderator
    543

    Mar 10, 2012
    2,733
    1,285
    543
    Male
    Computer Tech.
    Colorado Springs,CO.
    Agreed.

    Sent from my N9100
     
  14. AMOCO

    AMOCO The Computer Guy
    Moderator
    543

    Mar 10, 2012
    2,733
    1,285
    543
    Male
    Computer Tech.
    Colorado Springs,CO.
    I agree with this too.

    Sent from my N9100
     
  15. MidshipAc

    MidshipAc Well-Known Member
    43

    Jul 7, 2013
    238
    33
    43
    Male
    Georgia
    Do you play any high end games on it?
     
  16. donjuro

    donjuro Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    163

    Mar 29, 2013
    1,036
    270
    163
    Male
    Aurora, IL
    I think lag is even on the simplest games. I see lag in con dozer too, but once I enabled the second core, it was all butter. I don't see the problem with leaving the second core enabled, I don't think the the cores being disabled is the same across all phones, I think what may be the same on many, but not all, is the governor. I'd leave mines to ondemand2 to still save power, but I'd like to have both cores enabled at all time, this phone already has a long battery life, I just want the performance.
     
  17. AMOCO

    AMOCO The Computer Guy
    Moderator
    543

    Mar 10, 2012
    2,733
    1,285
    543
    Male
    Computer Tech.
    Colorado Springs,CO.
    Agreed,Like I said in an earlier post.
    Both cores should be enabled,Like computer CPU's.
    Like donjuro said,The only reason it's disabled is to conserve power and prolong battery life.

    Sent from my N9100
     
  18. donjuro

    donjuro Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    163

    Mar 29, 2013
    1,036
    270
    163
    Male
    Aurora, IL
    But would it make too much of a difference in battery performance if both cores are enabled? Like I said, I would leave the governor to ondemand2 to save battery, I wouldn't be using the cpu at full tilt, only what I need when I need it. What I really wonder is if it uses more power to constantly turn the second core on and off, and if it would be saving more power to just leave it in at all times. Besides, what's the point of having a dual core phone if you only use it like it's a single core phone?
     
  19. AMOCO

    AMOCO The Computer Guy
    Moderator
    543

    Mar 10, 2012
    2,733
    1,285
    543
    Male
    Computer Tech.
    Colorado Springs,CO.
    No,Shouldn't.
    Because the cores split the work load,Instead of the one core doing all the work load

    Sent from my N9100
     
  20. sonicbluemustang

    sonicbluemustang Well-Known Member
    53

    Dec 11, 2010
    431
    82
    53
    Male
    Tallahassee
    yes I play only a couple of games like Iron man 3, Solar Warfare those two are my favs. But the difference may be that I have removed most of the apps that want to run in the background like most of the Google apps and there is several, Browser, mms, Sprint stuff everything I don't use or need. I did a wipe once after they were gone and let me tell u it was a different phone. Kinda like running Slim Rom. :p
     
  21. donjuro

    donjuro Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    163

    Mar 29, 2013
    1,036
    270
    163
    Male
    Aurora, IL
    Updated original post
     
  22. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    2,138

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,088
    23,130
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    Interesting thread, guys! :) :thumbup:

    BTW, I've moved your thread over to the all-things-root area for you.

    Cheers!
     
  23. redjama

    redjama Well-Known Member
    78

    Mar 7, 2013
    415
    131
    78
    Male
    Glorified Welder/Fabricator
    Denver, PA
    Anyone notice any excessive battery drain from having both cores on at the same time??
     
  24. MidshipAc

    MidshipAc Well-Known Member
    43

    Jul 7, 2013
    238
    33
    43
    Male
    Georgia
    Nope none that is noticeable
     
  25. redjama

    redjama Well-Known Member
    78

    Mar 7, 2013
    415
    131
    78
    Male
    Glorified Welder/Fabricator
    Denver, PA
    How do I get the settings to save after a reboot??
     

Share This Page

Loading...