• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

I gave up

Hi all, This sounds really dumb but I gave up trying to root my hero. I downgraded to the .5 as instructed. No problem. I installed the required programs, the sync,hero root, etc. connected to computer as instructed for command prompt but it would not read phone. I could not get past that stage. I went through all of the faq file, responses etc but i kept getting the response no a valid source,file. Forget exact wording. My command prompt kept showing document/setting nothing about phone. I'm really a newbie and thought I could do this. Thanks again for everyone's attempt but I just give up.:mad:

On your hero is USB debugging on? Are the drivers for the phone installed? Did just extract/unzip the Android SDK or did you actually install it? If possible can you post the exact message you are receiving when it fails.

Upvote 0
Hi all, This sounds really dumb but I gave up trying to root my hero. I downgraded to the .5 as instructed. No problem. I installed the required programs, the sync,hero root, etc. connected to computer as instructed for command prompt but it would not read phone. I could not get past that stage. I went through all of the faq file, responses etc but i kept getting the response no a valid source,file. Forget exact wording. My command prompt kept showing document/setting nothing about phone. I'm really a newbie and thought I could do this. Thanks again for everyone's attempt but I just give up.:mad:

You have 1 post.... Instead of telling us that you give up and trying to get sympathy responses, why don't you ask us for help. Everyone here is more than happy to help and assist in anyway.

Now to your problem - What do you mean it won't "read" the phone? Are you saying that your computer won't recognize that an HTC Hero is connected to your computer, or are you saying that the PreKitchen is having trouble?

-Kevin

Upvote 0