1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root I got message with a update today?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by gtpdjw, Aug 21, 2011.

  1. gtpdjw

    gtpdjw Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    389
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009

    Dec 17, 2009
    389
    38
    63
    Machine operator
    Kettering Ohio
    Just wondering how I got a message when I'm on the rooted gb .596
     

    Advertisement

  2. Wally World

    Wally World Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    981
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010

    Dec 28, 2010
    981
    61
    78
    Because your Blurupdate.apk is still active. Doesn't mean it will install without errors. It will kill your root if it installs though.
     
  3. gtpdjw

    gtpdjw Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    389
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009

    Dec 17, 2009
    389
    38
    63
    Machine operator
    Kettering Ohio
    Ok so if I change the apk name to something like .bak it will stop looking for the update right
     
  4. chmodx

    chmodx Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    567
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010

    Dec 31, 2010
    567
    25
    68
    I found that if I just say ok go ahead and try to update, the phone rebots, fails to update, and I never hear about it again.
     
  5. bigbabys

    bigbabys Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    490
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    490
    116
    88
    Personal Account Manager
    Largo, FL
    I tried this, phone indeed rebooted and said "update failed!" but I'm still getting pestered about the update every 2 hours. I'm just gonna stick it out till either the new GB 2init roms come out or the Bionic does. :D
     
  6. FirebirdStud

    FirebirdStud Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    453
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010

    Sep 19, 2010
    453
    9
    56
    Male
    Student
    Minnesota
    Yeah no kidding i got that message too i was like wtf this morning! Is it ok to try the update just so it goes away? Or how do you delete this stupid update message? :)
     
  7. fonefreak

    fonefreak Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    179
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010

    Oct 25, 2010
    179
    25
    43
    North of the ecliptic
    Using Root Explorer to either move the Blur update apk or rename it to .bak will get rid of the annoying popup
     
  8. FirebirdStud

    FirebirdStud Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    453
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010

    Sep 19, 2010
    453
    9
    56
    Male
    Student
    Minnesota
    I d/l es file explorer cuz it was free. Where do I look for that file??
     
  9. bouchigo

    bouchigo Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,756
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    3,756
    1,026
    413
    Production Engineer Mngr.
    Stockton, CA

    /system/app
     
  10. Buckeye Boy

    Buckeye Boy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    377
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010

    Jul 30, 2010
    377
    34
    43
    Cleveland,Ohio
    if i go into Astro, can you tell me what i am looking for and what i am changing from and to? thanks guys:thinking:
     
  11. ylexot

    ylexot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    2,336
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    2,336
    405
    183
    Saint Inigoes, MD
  12. Buckeye Boy

    Buckeye Boy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    377
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010

    Jul 30, 2010
    377
    34
    43
    Cleveland,Ohio
  13. teamgood

    teamgood Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011

    Jun 12, 2011
    14
    1
    16
    when i try to move or rename i can't because it is read-only. probably means that it is in use - so how do i kill it so i can move it?

    Thanks
     
  14. bouchigo

    bouchigo Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,756
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    3,756
    1,026
    413
    Production Engineer Mngr.
    Stockton, CA
    When in Root Explorer you have to press the R/W button at the top of the screen to make make it R/W to delete/rename.
     
    teamgood likes this.
  15. Buckeye Boy

    Buckeye Boy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    377
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010

    Jul 30, 2010
    377
    34
    43
    Cleveland,Ohio
    where in explorer is it? dont see a sys folder ?:thinking:
     
  16. ylexot

    ylexot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    2,336
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    2,336
    405
    183
    Saint Inigoes, MD
    It defaults to the SD Card. To get to the root directory, click on the icon in the upper left that looks like an SD Card. Then you can scroll down to the system directory.
     
  17. bouchigo

    bouchigo Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,756
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    3,756
    1,026
    413
    Production Engineer Mngr.
    Stockton, CA
    It will be system not sys.
     
  18. Buckeye Boy

    Buckeye Boy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    377
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010

    Jul 30, 2010
    377
    34
    43
    Cleveland,Ohio
    sorry , but i am lost? i clicked on system folder, now what? and what exactly am i changing? :thinking:
     
  19. ylexot

    ylexot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    2,336
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    2,336
    405
    183
    Saint Inigoes, MD
    In the ES File Explorer settings, make sure that the checkbox for "Mount File System" is checked.

    From the root directory...
    Go into the "system" folder
    Go into the "app" folder
    Find the file named "BlurUpdater_VZW.apk"
    Long press on the file
    Select "Rename"
    Add .bak to the file name so that the file name is now "BlurUpdater_VZW.apk.bak"

    If you want to undo this, follow the same procedure, but delete the .bak from the file.
     
    FirebirdStud likes this.
  20. Eryl Flynn

    Eryl Flynn Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    311
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010

    Feb 22, 2010
    311
    16
    38
    Mine got this and keeps shutting down, I might have enough time to get in and do this we will see but if not, any idea on how to get out of this loop with say RSD?

    So far so good, got into my explorer and renamed the file before reboot and so far no reboot. Hopefully I won't need anything drastic. But this is one of those things that really annoys me, why are they forcing updates? I should have the choice of when, where and if I take a system update.
     
  21. FirebirdStud

    FirebirdStud Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    453
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010

    Sep 19, 2010
    453
    9
    56
    Male
    Student
    Minnesota

    Awesome! Worked great for me! I'm using this as a band aid until I go back to stock!
    Cheers!!
     
  22. Buckeye Boy

    Buckeye Boy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    377
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010

    Jul 30, 2010
    377
    34
    43
    Cleveland,Ohio
    when i rename and hit ok, it says "sorry operation failed"... wtf?:thinking:
     
  23. ylexot

    ylexot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    2,336
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    2,336
    405
    183
    Saint Inigoes, MD
    Did you go into the ES File Explorer settings and make sure that the checkbox for "Mount File System" is checked?
     

Share This Page

Loading...