1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root I just want to root my Evo 4G

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Striffy, Aug 28, 2012.

  1. Striffy

    Striffy Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2012

    Aug 28, 2012
    4
    0
    5
    For the past 2 days, I have been trying at all means to root my HTC Evo 4g. I've tried unrEVOked, z4root, SuperOneClick, Universal Androot, GingerBreak, rEVOlution, etc. none have given me the results I am looking for.

    Whoever said its as easy as 1, 2 ,3 is wrong on so many levels. Nothing worked...i've spent literally 2 days trying to root this phone in order to get a better battery and delete junk apps, but this is so complicated...

    Help would be appreciated.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    28,555
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    28,555
    21,996
    3,118
    Male
    Next to you
    Welcome here to AF!!
    Can you get into bootloader and post what it says and then we will guide you to the correct guide to root your phone.
    No worries, it is easy trust us!:)
     
  3. Striffy

    Striffy Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2012

    Aug 28, 2012
    4
    0
    5
    Bootloader says:

    Supersonic EVT3 SHIP S-ON
    HBOOT- 2.16.0001
    MCROP-041f
    TOUCH PANEL-ATMELCO3_16ac
    RADIO-2.15.00.0808
    Mar 8 2011, 17:02:15
     
  4. Striffy

    Striffy Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2012

    Aug 28, 2012
    4
    0
    5
    Bootloader says:

    Supersonic EVT3 SHIP S-ON
    HBOOT- 2.16.0001
    MCROP-041f
    TOUCH PANEL-ATMELCO3_16ac
    RADIO-2.15.00.0808
    Mar 8 2011, 17:02:15
     
  5. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    28,555
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    28,555
    21,996
    3,118
    Male
    Next to you
    o.k...when you said you tried revolutionary, was it this guide? or something similar?
    I assume your bootloader says nothing about locked or unlocked correct?
    And I assume with that hboot version, your desired results were to be s-off correct?
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  6. Striffy

    Striffy Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2012

    Aug 28, 2012
    4
    0
    5
    When I tried revolutionary it just said "Waiting on mobile device...." I thought it had something to do with the software I have. But correct!
     
  7. kolosus

    kolosus Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    923
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010

    Oct 12, 2010
    923
    341
    113
    PA/NJ Usa
    Did you select to have USB debugging on? When you plug in the phone to the computer how many icons pop up on the stat bar?
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...