1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root I just want to run SetCPU, and a temp monitor

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by kens97sto171, May 17, 2010.

  1. kens97sto171

    kens97sto171 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    86
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010

    Mar 20, 2010
    86
    0
    15
    Truck Driver
    Florence, KY
    I am pretty happy with the stock 2.1 OTA.. But I would like to overclock the phone, and use a temp monitor to keep it safe.

    I have looked around in the "all things root" and most post seem to be about putting on a different ROM.

    Is there an easy way to just get Root access, and then put on SetCPU..

    sorry if this is a simple thing. Its late and I am tired.. maybe I missed it.

    Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. dmodert66

    dmodert66 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,551
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009

    Oct 24, 2009
    1,551
    221
    163
    Project Manager
    Southern California
  3. messenger13

    messenger13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,133
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    3,133
    381
    163
    Director of IT
    Cleveland, OH
    Actually, you would need to install the SPRecovery, then UPDATE TO THIS STOCK ROM WITH ROOT ACCESS, then install a custom kernel.
     
  4. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,290
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009

    Nov 27, 2009
    3,290
    825
    213
    Finance
    Pennsylvania
    you dont have to install a custom rom. You can simply push the su files with ADB in SPRecovery which will give you root. It is explained in that thread
     

Share This Page

Loading...