1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General I just want to use my Nexus.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Taleas, Jan 4, 2012.

  1. Taleas

    Taleas Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012

    Jan 4, 2012
    3
    1
    6
    I've been with android since the G1. Always have been very excited about android/google.

    Of course I was very excited to be upgrading to the Galaxy Nexus.

    But I just can't figure out how I am supposed to use it?

    My service is grayed out when I have full wifi and service...and by the time it does come back to blue my battery is dead? Lolwut Google/Samsung/Verizon? I can't believe they released this thing.


    I turned off LTE, ran with the lowest brightness, turned off GPS, etc.. etc.. and had MINIMAL use. Most of the day it was in my pocket. It made it 6 hours with a full battery.


    Sorry to roll in here on a rant. I'm not a trolling type of person.

    This thing just sucks!!!!!
     

    Advertisement

  2. kylecummins

    kylecummins Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    841
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011

    Dec 11, 2011
    841
    160
    93
    Union Member
    Canada
    Sounds like a dud, id swap it if possible.
     
  3. Lohung

    Lohung Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    387
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011

    Dec 15, 2011
    387
    56
    53
    Pittsburgh
    with the grey bars that means no or very limited GOOGLE connectivity. you will still have service typically. You might have an issue in your AREA where your having 4g/3g issues and it may be a combination of your area and the phone itself.. try forcing it into either just WIFI or 3g

    if you are having problems connecting to 3/4g that will suck your batter dry.instead of being connected and it is constantly straining for a signal. So that will drain your battery really badly.

    i would call VZW tell them the issue ask if your area is in fact 4g. if it is then maybe they will have you do factory reset. other then that swap the phone out. but i would try VZW first cause it may be a issue in your area instead of phone
     
  4. sperho

    sperho Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    270
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2011

    Dec 2, 2011
    270
    126
    68
    Eastern TN
    Definitely contact Verizon.
     
  5. trophynuts

    trophynuts Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,630
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    5,630
    1,792
    313
    I work in a Tech related field. Have been in a tec
    SouthEastern US


    Welcome to AF i'm sure you can find some help in here concerning your issues. A lot of us share the same ones and have found ways to cope or make them better.


    Would you mind if i move this thread into the VZW specific section of the GNEX?
     
  6. Taleas

    Taleas Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012

    Jan 4, 2012
    3
    1
    6
    Not at all. Move it where ever it belongs.

    But thanks guys, Ill inquire about this more.
     
    trophynuts likes this.
  7. quickaudi

    quickaudi Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    3,100
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    3,100
    415
    273
    TN
    OP, what PRL is showing on your phone? Try to update it for roaming?
     
  8. Taleas

    Taleas Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012

    Jan 4, 2012
    3
    1
    6
    PRL Version is 15098

    Also: Turning wifi on/off seems to fix the grey bar problem.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...