1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root I know I'm doing this wrong, but...

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by StillHacking, Jul 21, 2011.

  1. StillHacking

    StillHacking Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010

    Jul 13, 2010
    85
    12
    38
    Field Engineer
    Pittsburgh
    OK, so I have changed roms too many times to count and still for the most part I'm sticking with Vegan-tab. Anyhow the question is how bad is it to NOT do a full data, cache, and dalvic wipe before each change? I have been pleasantly surprised to see all my apps there after each change. Today I backed up select apps in Titanium and noticed some inactive apps at the bottom. I know this is because I did not wipe. Should I do a data wipe and then restore through Titanium? Other than cluttering some storage space what can go wrong?

    SH
     

    Advertisement

  2. beboyle

    beboyle Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011

    Apr 22, 2011
    29
    0
    35
    Phoenix, AZ
    It's all about stability. It is strongly recommended that you wipe all three if you are either upgrading a ROM to a new major version, or if you are changing to a different ROM. If you don't you run the strong risk that some apps will FC, unexplained reboots, etc. If you don't clear and don't have any problems, you may have gotten lucky. On the other hand, the problems may just be to subtle to see for now.
     
  3. StillHacking

    StillHacking Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010

    Jul 13, 2010
    85
    12
    38
    Field Engineer
    Pittsburgh
    Thanks beboyle.
    I understand recommended procedures and will most likely change things again and follow them. Apparently others have not tortured their G Tablets in this fashion or are not reporting. I have never restored from Titanium. Is it as simple as load Titanium from Market and restore all apps and settings one by one? Assuming you have backed them up beforehand of course. I could not see an option in the free version to back up all so I assume there is not a restore all either. Is this in the premium paid version?

    Thanks again,
    SH
     
  4. SolidOrange

    SolidOrange Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,640
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    1,640
    1,599
    313
    Clemson, SC
    the premium version will allow you to batch backup and restore. This makes switching between Roms and keeping your app info incredibly easy. Doing it one by one with the free version gets old when you flash as many Roms as I do, lol.
     
    StillHacking likes this.
  5. StillHacking

    StillHacking Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010

    Jul 13, 2010
    85
    12
    38
    Field Engineer
    Pittsburgh
    Thanks Solid, I'm heading to the market to buy now. This will allow me to, "clean up" my Droid X as well as my G Tablet. Your posts here have been most helpful.

    SH
     

Share This Page

Loading...