1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

I Lowered the IQ of Galaxy S Smartphone

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Rotorhead, Sep 29, 2010.

  1. Rotorhead

    Rotorhead Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010

    Jul 30, 2010
    12
    0
    15
    I am posting this because I have seen others in the Forum that appear to have been looking for something like this.

    My Galaxy S is now "IPod Touch Like" with phone capability with the very important proviso that I'm in control of it. I'm happy with the phone now.

    Not a novice to phones, but I am to the Android system.

    The phone setup is EXACTLY what I was looking for: Mine is an SGH-i897 AT&T Captivate

    1. AT&T pay as you go service. I paid almost full price for the phone to keep from having a contract. I pay by the minute, so I have to manage it. This option isn't for everyone. There are other options available.
    2. APNs turned off, so no data via AT&T EDGE.
    3. Turned off AT&T browsing.
    4. WiFi data connectivity only. You'd be surprised how many hotspots there are.
    5. Rooted phone.
    6. Android SDK installed onto computer.
    7. Samsung Kies installed on computer. It works.

    Being new to Android, I spent a lot of time on this Forum and others to gather information.

    Taking Root turned out to be so easy I didn't think it "took" at first. (But I had studied hard for days before I took the plunge.)

    The most difficult issue for me was turning off the AT&T browsing. That was more hit and miss and reading from the Forum.

    So now my phone isn't as smart as it wants to be, but at least it does just what "I" want it to do.

    Regards
    Steve
     

    Advertisement

  2. Jack45

    Jack45 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,186
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010

    Jul 13, 2010
    1,186
    239
    143
    First, a belated welcome!

    Interesting post...glad you're happy with the Captivate and your customized setup.
     
  3. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,479
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    Let me add another hearty "welcome to Android Forums," Rotorhead.

    Interesting way to go about it, indeed.. good that you have a setup you like (I see you posted it in the AT@T forums, as well ;)).

    Perhaps others will give those pointers a try.
     
  4. Rotorhead

    Rotorhead Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010

    Jul 30, 2010
    12
    0
    15
    Thanks,

    I was just tired of being held hostage by the provider, but i still wanted a smartphone. I had tried an iphone but did not like being a hostage to the provider as well as Apple.

    Is this the best solution? That i dont know. It's just one Option that I got to work.

    Btw Frisco, I posted it here because this is where i got the knowledge to make those changes.

    Regards
    Steve
     
  5. mnemonicj

    mnemonicj Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    289
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010

    Sep 21, 2010
    289
    32
    43
    I think it's great that you could do that. It shows the flexibility of Android and the ability to customize the phone to do what you want. This also goes to show the critics are wrong, Android can be a good tablet OS without a cell chip.

    With the iPhone, you get what you want and get get to do what Steve Jobs wants you to do with it. With Android, you get what you want and you get to do what you want with it.
     
  6. Rotorhead

    Rotorhead Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010

    Jul 30, 2010
    12
    0
    15
    Hello mnemonicj,

    It's STILL a phone. I just killed the AT&T data. My data is all by WiFi now. There are only a "few" apps that still want/need that phone data download, that is the only downside i found.

    Phone works as it always has. So i have a Phone/Tablet/w Wifi. :)

    Regards
    Steve
     
  7. 3gAndroid

    3gAndroid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    277
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    277
    26
    63
    CA, USA
    Brilliant...

    Congrats for "doing your own thing" and sharing it with all of us here on the forum.

    Personally, I think it's really cool that you did what so many of us may have thought of but didn't do because____________ * fill in the blank with appropriate excuse * :)

    Enjoy!
     
  8. 3gAndroid

    3gAndroid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    277
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    277
    26
    63
    CA, USA

    Kudo's, this is the best I've heard it expressed yet, I could not agree more ... :)
     
  9. Rotorhead

    Rotorhead Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010

    Jul 30, 2010
    12
    0
    15
    Thanks 3gAndroid,

    There were so many people (mostly AT&T) saying that i couldn't do it as i was already operating on an expired contract. :mad:

    After doing my homework, I convinced them that it could be done and they then made it work, and i tweaked the rest. I will say that they were as nice as they could have been. AT&T has been good to me, I just get irked at having to have a contract.

    Regards
    Steve

    3gAndroid
     

Share This Page

Loading...