• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

I may have bricked my HERO2000 trying to flash a custom ROM.

chrisdegraw

Lurker
Sep 20, 2010
I'm new to this whole flashing custom ROMS business. I have a CDMA HTC Hero 2000 and I downgraded to the original 2.1 before the update just fine, rooted my phone just fine. Then I tried to flash Aloysius to it using instructions I found here: [Complete Guide] How To Flash A Custom ROM To Your Android Phone With ROM Manager + Full Backup & Restore | Android News, Reviews, Applications, Games, Phones, Devices, Tips, Mods, Videos, Podcasts - Android Police

After all was said and done, my phone starts to boot with the "HTC quitely brilliant" logo, following by "SPRINT the Now network" logo and after it shows "Now" for many seconds (as it normally does before pulling up the home screen), it reverts back to the HTC logo and repeats this process until I remove the battery.

I removed the microSD and attempted to boot, same thing. Then I held down HOME+BACK+POWER to do a manual hard reset, this took a little longer but again had the same result.

I may just cry now. Please help!! :eek:

Good news is, you can't really brick your phone unless you flash a GSM radio.

Did you make a nandroid backup before attempting to flash your ROM? If so, boot into recovery and restore you backup.

If you did not make a backup, there are still several things that can be done. Let's start with the basics though. Boot your phone into recovery mode.

(I do not have a lot of time to type out everything this morning, but if you aren't familiar with booting into recovery or anything else I'm about to say, please refer to the guides/tutorials we have on here, as the instructions go into detail on how to do all of this.)