1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

i need help going back to stock

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by rivak24, Mar 9, 2010.

  1. rivak24

    rivak24 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009

    Dec 15, 2009
    26
    0
    15
    i am currently rooted to fresh 1.1 and i need to go back to stock since im sending it out to sprint and i am having trouble with this.
    can anyone give me a step by step on doing this?
    please and thank you
     

    Advertisement

  2. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,566
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    1,566
    86
    128
    Student/Engineer
    Minnesota
  3. rivak24

    rivak24 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009

    Dec 15, 2009
    26
    0
    15
    how do i get it on my phone?
     
  4. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,566
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    1,566
    86
    128
    Student/Engineer
    Minnesota
    connect your phone to your computer, just like you do every other time.

    Then run the program from your computer. It'll go through some steps, might give you some instructions, and when done, you'll be back to stock, unrooted
     
  5. rivak24

    rivak24 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009

    Dec 15, 2009
    26
    0
    15
    okay im going to try that now
     
  6. DFRESH

    DFRESH Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    559
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009

    Dec 26, 2009
    559
    39
    88
    The Bay Area SF/Oak
    use the 1.29 RUU ...then upgrade through OTA to 1.56 ..

    Sprint will never know you rooted :D
     
  7. rivak24

    rivak24 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009

    Dec 15, 2009
    26
    0
    15
    its not working :/
     
  8. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,566
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    1,566
    86
    128
    Student/Engineer
    Minnesota
    what kind of error is it putting up?
     
  9. rivak24

    rivak24 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009

    Dec 15, 2009
    26
    0
    15
    it loads the boatloader then says its not connected and when i unplug my hero it shows a while screen with random numbers on top and the android on a skateboard on the bottom
     
  10. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,566
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    1,566
    86
    128
    Student/Engineer
    Minnesota
    USB debugging on?
     
  11. rivak24

    rivak24 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009

    Dec 15, 2009
    26
    0
    15
  12. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,566
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    1,566
    86
    128
    Student/Engineer
    Minnesota
    hmm. are you using the 1.56 or the 1.29 RUU? Try the other one :p
     
  13. rivak24

    rivak24 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009

    Dec 15, 2009
    26
    0
    15
    i tried both...
     
  14. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,566
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    1,566
    86
    128
    Student/Engineer
    Minnesota
    hmm...anyone have any ideas? I've only RUU'd a couple of times, and not recently enough to remember how it worked...I don't recall getting any errors when I did it though
     
  15. rivak24

    rivak24 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009

    Dec 15, 2009
    26
    0
    15
    do you think you can give me like a detailed step by step on doing it or if you no where i can find one?
     
  16. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,566
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    1,566
    86
    128
    Student/Engineer
    Minnesota
    here's what instructions are available for running the RUU. This was from 1.56, but it should be the same for 1.29, although the file name might be different

    1.) Download the file and run the exe.
    2.) Go in to the folder that the exe created and run ARUWizard.exe
     
  17. mysticmead

    mysticmead Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,348
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    1,348
    175
    143
    Kingston, GA
    maybe turn off usb debuging...
     
  18. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,566
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    1,566
    86
    128
    Student/Engineer
    Minnesota
    damn, I always forget to try toggling it at the very least lol
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...