1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root I need help with cwm

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by unw0rthy1, Jan 7, 2012.

  1. unw0rthy1

    unw0rthy1 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012

    Jan 6, 2012
    6
    0
    5
    I'm new to root but thanks to the one the click root for the prevail i rooted my phone to.day but now I want a custom rom but I don't understand cwm. After the root I have a folder that says clockwork but can someone please explain to me what to do?
     

    Advertisement

  2. thomasmbl

    thomasmbl Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    480
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011

    Jul 11, 2011
    480
    72
    53
    Try my Rom.and that folder is where you can backup and restore your phone.the way you get in cwm is complety turn off your.ill take out the battery just to be safe.after your phone is off.hold the up volume button and then presss and hold power button.and hold those those two buttons until to see a screen that has reboot system,install from sd,backup and restore.that is how you put your phone in recovery mode. basicly it cwm.so ill try my rom.all the instructions is in the thread http://androidforums.com/galaxy-pre...excel-prevail-beta-2-updated.html#post3767357
     
  3. SpCowboy2842

    SpCowboy2842 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    289
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011

    Jun 29, 2011
    289
    55
    53
    Male
    Warehouse Manager
    The mountains of N.C.
    Exactly which apps have you installed so far? There is one in particular which may possibly add a CWM folder (ROM MANAGER) even if you don't have Clockwork installed. Please do not attempt to download anything from ROM MANAGER if that's the case. The Prevail is not compatible and will be turned into a plastic brick by the ROMS on that app.

    Clockworkmod is an add on system in which you can make a recovery backup of your phone if CWM is installed . To access CWM on a "stock modded" phone you have to boot into recovery by pressing the power button, volume up, and the camera button basically at the same time. Upon the reboot screen let go of the buttons.
     
  4. SpCowboy2842

    SpCowboy2842 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    289
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011

    Jun 29, 2011
    289
    55
    53
    Male
    Warehouse Manager
    The mountains of N.C.
    Sorry for the double post. I can't edit for some reason...

    One issue... Clockworkmod is not installed by 1 click. You need to download and install Odin on the computer to install CWM.
     
  5. unw0rthy1

    unw0rthy1 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012

    Jan 6, 2012
    6
    0
    5
    So you have to have odin to install CWM?
     
  6. thomasmbl

    thomasmbl Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    480
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011

    Jul 11, 2011
    480
    72
    53
  7. hroark13

    hroark13 Android Expert
    Recognized Developer
    Rank:
     #49
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    3,288
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011

    Jul 15, 2011
    3,288
    4,136
    483

Share This Page

Loading...