1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root I need serious help!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by CycloneFever, Nov 3, 2010.

  1. CycloneFever

    CycloneFever Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    88
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010

    Jan 15, 2010
    88
    3
    16
    Phoenix, AZ
    New DInc, yesterday. Rooted no problem using unrevoked. Tried installing a new rom using ROM manager. Big problem.

    Apparently neither my recovery image (Clockwork) or the rom support the SLCD screen on my DInc! I get a black screen with just about everything I do.

    Someone please tell me I didn't brick my new DInc. What can I do?
    :(
     

    Advertisement

  2. rcrott1

    rcrott1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    730
    Joined:
    May 23, 2010

    moved to the root section for further advice
     
  3. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
     #15
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,182
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,182
    8,677
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    As I understand it, you still need Adrynalyne's modified CWM found here due to your SLCD Incredible:

    http://adrynalyne.us/files/recovery/cwm/PB31IMG_cwm_mod.zip

    Need S-Off and a FAT32 formatted SD card.

    Rename to PB31IMG and place on the root of your SD card, then load via hboot by powering down phone, then hold volume down and press power button. When prompted to load, volume up to proceed.

    I have not had the need to perform this yet so my experience is limited. For any specific questions not addressed by others, I recommend contacting AF member Doug Piston. I believe he has some knowledge on the topic.
     
    CycloneFever likes this.
  4. CycloneFever

    CycloneFever Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    88
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010

    Jan 15, 2010
    88
    3
    16
    Phoenix, AZ
    You are a huge lifesaver!
     
  5. Beatlesfan

    Beatlesfan Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    223
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010

    Apr 12, 2010
    223
    21
    58
    So did you get it fixed?
     
  6. DIncmanDan

    DIncmanDan Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010

    Jul 10, 2010
    63
    7
    16
    House Parent
    South Miami, Fl
    I am doing my brothers phone and am having this same issue, it's also an slcd so lets see how it works... I'll let ya know.

    Worked perfectly!! Thanks!
     
  7. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    So, just to be sure I'm understanding this correctly, If one just wanted to root WITHOUT flashing a new ROM or Kernel would you still need to flash the above file? I'm debating on rooting just to use setCPU and remove some bloat. I'm perfectly happy with sense UI and 2.2
     
  8. doug piston

    doug piston Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    126
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    126
    57
    53
    For clockwork to visible on a Slcd screen you need this file installed, otherwise you will see a black screen with white bars. And to run AOSP roms on a SLcd you need to flash the koush test kernel #2 over the rom. If you don't you'll never even make it to the boot animation.
     

Share This Page

Loading...