1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root I need to get back to stock.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by heyhaymayj, Mar 13, 2014.

  1. heyhaymayj

    heyhaymayj Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2012

    I can't find a stock ROM anywhere. All links I have found are broken or didn't work and sent me in to a bootloop. Right now, I've just restored a back up to get all my customization off, but it is not stock. I am selling this phone, and would like to get it back to stock for the buyer.
     

    Advertisement

  2. thIsgUy20

    thIsgUy20 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    512
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012

    Nov 27, 2012
    512
    86
    78
    Male
    Shreveport, LA
    If your trying to get back to complete stock like out of the box then your gonna have to use ruu. Which is what I'm trying to do also. Right now I'm just stuck on trying to relock the bootloader
     
  3. adamhos1234

    adamhos1234 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    860
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012

    Aug 9, 2012
    860
    336
    113
    S off?
     
    BRAINZ2013 likes this.
  4. BRAINZ2013

    BRAINZ2013 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    6,418
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012

    Feb 21, 2012
    6,418
    1,204
    353
    Male
    MECHANIC OBDII. NOS. FUEL INJECTION. Saving a Life
    Park Ave., HELL
    I don't think it will ever say locked just relocked . what phone are u looking for a ruu for .
     
  5. heyhaymayj

    heyhaymayj Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2012

    Yes, I'm s-off
     
  6. heyhaymayj

    heyhaymayj Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2012

    Last night, I went through a horrible amount of boot looping for at least an hour. At times, it wouldn't even get past the white HTC splash screen. It seemed like there was nothing I could do to stop it. Even trying to use my backups was sending me in to a loop, which it had never done before. Eventually, I did something, can't remember what or how or why it worked, but I managed to get Harmonia ROM on the phone for now.

    I HAVE TRIED numerous things to get this thing back to stock.. I've followed some instructions on here, and tried downloading ROMs. But somethings just going on with it, it seems. All my attempts failed. Bootloader kept trying to update and for a while, I couldn't even get past bootloader to get to the menu to put me in recovery.
     
  7. heyhaymayj

    heyhaymayj Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2012

    htc evo v 4g
     
  8. BRAINZ2013

    BRAINZ2013 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    6,418
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012

    Feb 21, 2012
    6,418
    1,204
    353
    Male
    MECHANIC OBDII. NOS. FUEL INJECTION. Saving a Life
    Park Ave., HELL
    You need the correct ruu for your device . the wrong will do a bootloop aka brick. Search for the correct ruu or try a custom rom
     
  9. luis32744

    luis32744 Newbie
    Rank:
     #619
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2014

    Mar 14, 2014
    34
    5
    16
    Male
    Sales/Tech/Android Enthusiast
    North Carolina
    Have you tried checking the HTC website for stock ROM downloads for the HTC Evo V and the HTC Evo 3d are the Same. If I were you I would look into that.
     
  10. adamhos1234

    adamhos1234 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    860
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012

    Aug 9, 2012
    860
    336
    113

    First Make sure there are no pg86img.zip files on the root of your SD card
    Then download this https://www.dropbox.com/s/d4baafpgchgg4ef/ruu-PG86IMG.zip
    Rename it to pg86img.zip and put it on the root of your SD card

    Reboot to bootloader and accept update
    It may reboot itself to boot loader, accept update again

    Reboot

    You should be stock everything

    You will still be s off but I would leave it

    Whoever buys your phone will either never know its s off or they will be extremely happy its s off
     
  11. adamhos1234

    adamhos1234 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    860
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012

    Aug 9, 2012
    860
    336
    113
    Make sure to rename or move that pg86 file when you're done:-D
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...