1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root I now have 3 problems!! :(

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by daniel178, Apr 1, 2011.

  1. daniel178

    daniel178 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    88
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011

    Mar 26, 2011
    88
    1
    16
    Hi all,

    So I rooted and flashed BAMF 1.3, and now it seems like I have 2 problems (sorry, not 3):

    #1
    When someone calls or when I dial a number, I don't have the area (city, town, etc.) indicated during the call. This used to happen before I rooted/flashed, but now all it displays is the number (or name if it's a programmed contact). This may seem minor, but this feature is EXTREMELY helpful to me as a freelancer.

    #2
    Whenever I turn the phone off and plug it in to the wall to charge it (say, if I want to bump charge), the phone boots up into Clockworkrecovery (ie, it doesn't stay shut off). I'd REALLY like to have it stay off -- both for the quicker charging time, and, well, just to keep my phone off at night, for example.


    Can anyone PLEASE help??
    :thinking:
     

    Advertisement

  2. scotty85

    scotty85 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,131
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,131
    7,411
    1,413
    this is a known issue. enabling "fastboot" in the power settings will let you charge with it off. however,you will not be able to access hboot via power on/vol down with this setting enabled.
     
  3. bamaredwingsfan

    bamaredwingsfan Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    525
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    525
    27
    88
    Mail Carrier
    Cullman, AL
    This dont work for everyone, my phone still boots into clockwork when power off charging even with fast boot enabled
     
  4. LexusBrian400

    LexusBrian400 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    699
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010

    Mar 3, 2010
    699
    154
    113
    Automotive Electrical Technician / Mechanic
    I'm a drifter.. here and there.
    If you want to know the locations of people calling you, may I suggest you purchase the City ID app. I think its in the Verizon section of the market?? Anyway, that is the app that came stock on our phones allowing us to see where people were calling from. I dont believe it is included in BAMF.
     
  5. scotty85

    scotty85 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,131
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,131
    7,411
    1,413
    I've not personally tried it... I never turn my phone off to charge. Thanx for the info :)
     
  6. bamaredwingsfan

    bamaredwingsfan Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    525
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    525
    27
    88
    Mail Carrier
    Cullman, AL
    Its strange how this works for some people, an some it dont. Leave it to me to be one of the ones that it don't work LOL
     
  7. scotty85

    scotty85 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,131
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,131
    7,411
    1,413
    i just tried it... it doesnt work for me either,if it makes you feel any better,lol :D
     
  8. Hellershanks

    Hellershanks Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011

    Feb 21, 2011
    31
    3
    16
    Actually, the CityID app is WHY you saw the area (City, town, etc.) when you were making a call. Its a "free trial" app / nagware on every Verizon cellphone. When you rooted and flashed, it disabled. If you want it again you can attain it from the app store I believe, however be warned. Its not a one time pay app, its a subscription fee.
     
  9. ska.t73

    ska.t73 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,659
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    1,659
    305
    163
    Phoenix, AZ
    I am also one of the ones who still boot into CWR even with Fastboot enabled. However I can confirm that CWR will still charge the phone, the led just wont come on but it will still charge.
     
  10. theacoustician

    theacoustician Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    440
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011

    Feb 18, 2011
    440
    123
    68
    To those people who are booting into CWR all the time, regardless of your fastboot status, do you have Titanium Backup installed? If so, did you let it install busybox? I noticed that after I installed Ti + busybox through the app, the latest superuser, and rebooted, I no longer go straight into CWR every time I boot. I'm not sure why that would change CWR, but maybe it did?
     
  11. ska.t73

    ska.t73 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,659
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    1,659
    305
    163
    Phoenix, AZ
    Yep I have TiBu and let it install busybox, still boot into CWR. However, now that you mention it das Bamf does come with it's own version of BB and I haven't tried overwriting it by installing the one fromm TiBu.

    Let me try it out and I will let you know if there is any difference.
     
  12. bjanow

    bjanow Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,763
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    2,763
    477
    163
    Colorado
    Try this one. View attachment com.threadabort.android.callerid.apk It's free and works IIRC.

    There is different hardware and thus the phones are acting differently. Some reboot directly into CWM some don't. Mine does not. If you disable fastboot most of us can get into recovery with power/vol dn. But if you need to get into recovery and you had fastboot checked, i.e. boot looping, then you can pull the battery, put it back in, and then pwr/vol and it will work. Once.
     
  13. ska.t73

    ska.t73 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,659
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    1,659
    305
    163
    Phoenix, AZ
    Ok so tried it, installed busybox using TiBu, turned on fastboot, powered down the phone and pluged it in. Booted up to CWR, not sure what is going on. However my fastboot hasn't ever worked anyway.
     
  14. theacoustician

    theacoustician Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    440
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011

    Feb 18, 2011
    440
    123
    68
    I don't know what to say other than I got 99 problems but a CWR boot ain't one.
     
  15. ska.t73

    ska.t73 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,659
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    1,659
    305
    163
    Phoenix, AZ
    Meh, I'm not really worried about it. Somehow Koush has it so that CWR will charge now while you are using it, not sure when he did that because I know it wouldn't charge when I used it on the OG Droid. However I started using Razr's recovery on the Droid a few months ago so I haven't used CWR in a long time.
     
  16. scotty85

    scotty85 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,131
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,131
    7,411
    1,413
    having titanium and busy box hasnt affected me either.mine still goes right to clockwork if i plug it in with it off. fastboot checked or not. i just leave it off so i can get to hboot if i need to. it doesnt particularly bother me either,especially knowing that it is charging in clockwork.

    im using RZR on my OG as well. i use Amon on my inc,when i can. id like an alternate for the TB,im not a huge fan of clockwork.

    bjanow,what is that .apk and what is it supposed to do?
     
  17. bjanow

    bjanow Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,763
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    2,763
    477
    163
    Colorado
    It's a free caller ID instead of City caller id from vzw. The name looks weird but I'm pretty sure that's the one I use cause I still have it on my SD card.
     
    scotty85 likes this.
  18. daniel178

    daniel178 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    88
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011

    Mar 26, 2011
    88
    1
    16
    bjanow,
    Thanks... does this caller id display the city/state of the caller and the number you're calling?
    Also, how do I install it? Do I just drop in into a certain directory?
     
  19. scotty85

    scotty85 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,131
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,131
    7,411
    1,413
    put it anywhere you can easily find it. i usually drop .apks into my downloads folder so they arent cluttering up to the root of my SD card. then just open your file manager of choice(i usually use astro),and navigate to it. tap on it and youll be asked if you want to open app manager. tap yes,then install. easy as that :)
     
  20. bjanow

    bjanow Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,763
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    2,763
    477
    163
    Colorado
    Yes it does. And scotty told you how to install.
     
    scotty85 likes this.
  21. daniel178

    daniel178 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    88
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011

    Mar 26, 2011
    88
    1
    16
    Thanks for finding that app -- it kinda does it. It only displays city/state for incoming calls. For outgoing calls it seems, however, it doesn't.

    Thank you though, I will use it until something else comes along :)
     
  22. bamaredwingsfan

    bamaredwingsfan Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    525
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    525
    27
    88
    Mail Carrier
    Cullman, AL
    I got 99 problems but a T'bolt aint one!
     
  23. daniel178

    daniel178 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    88
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011

    Mar 26, 2011
    88
    1
    16
  24. scotty85

    scotty85 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,131
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,131
    7,411
    1,413
    figured id point out the obvious... you could just pay for the verizon city id,if you really like its features ;)
     
  25. bjanow

    bjanow Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,763
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    2,763
    477
    163
    Colorado
    For $1.99 I'd have no problem paying for it. (If I used it and wanted it, which I don't) I figure if I don't know where the heck I'm calling, I shouldn't be calling anyway. But I don't use the TB much as a phone other than family and friends and I understand that some use it for.. eek.. business? But it's a monthly fee! That's just nuts for letting you know where you are calling, imo.
     

Share This Page

Loading...