1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root I think I rooted - 2 questions...

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by get-some, Jun 21, 2011.

  1. get-some

    get-some Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011

    Jun 21, 2011
    11
    0
    15
    Hello all. I've been lurking for a while, and I really can't seem to find what I'm looking for, so I thought I'd just sign up and ask myself... I have the 2.1 software version on my Desire, and I only rooted (I think I'm rooted... I have the superuser icon) for two reasons. To use my phone as a wifi hotspot, and to install/move apps to my 16 gig sd card, so I can get rid of this damn low memory warning. My questions are:

    How do I move or save apps to my SD card?

    Is it possible for my phone to be a wifi hotspot?

    (I'm willing to upgrade to 2.2.. but don't know if it's needed or how to do it...if it's even possible)

    Oh, and forgive my ignorance, I'm new to all this, but want to learn.

    Thanks for any help!!
     

    Advertisement

  2. eric_son

    eric_son Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010

    Dec 7, 2010
    19
    1
    36
    Philippines
    Hi,

    The functions you need are offered in Froyo (v2.2). You'll need to upgrade to Froyo.

    Since you have already rooted your phone (as indicated by the ninja icon), you should check out the ROM flashing section on this FAQ: http://androidforums.com/desire-all...esire-root-faq-guide-updated-june-2011-a.html

    It will provide you will all the info you need to proceed.


    You have two choices:
    - You can upgrade to stock Froyo
    - You can upgrade to a nice custom ROM.

    Whatever path you chose, you'll find above FAQ very helpful.
     
  3. get-some

    get-some Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011

    Jun 21, 2011
    11
    0
    15
  4. eric_son

    eric_son Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010

    Dec 7, 2010
    19
    1
    36
    Philippines
    Hmmm....
    Like you, I just rooted and reflashed my ROM last week, and lucky for me, I only encountered one minor problem for which the forum was able to quickly address.
    So I'm at a loss with diagnosing problems like the one you're experiencing. But I'll do my best. What advice I can offer will mostly be textbook procedures I picked up from the FAQ. :)

    I understand that the ROM you just tried to flash is a generic Modded Stock ROM. This would have debranded your unit. Assuming the flash operation went well, you should not have seen the Alltel logo splash screen. Hence your flash could have failed.

    Did you do a Nandroid backup from Recovery? If you did, you may want to restore your back up first and start over.

    Also, did you create a Goldcard? If you did, then you can use the Goldcard to flash an official Generic RUU.

    Can you describe the steps you used in flashing that ROM?
     
  5. get-some

    get-some Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011

    Jun 21, 2011
    11
    0
    15
    I made a goldcard and a backup thing when I first rooted my phone. Not sure how to use those tools now.... I just did a wipe data/factory reset and it still wont boot... getting nervous!!!
     
  6. get-some

    get-some Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011

    Jun 21, 2011
    11
    0
    15
    -bump- not really sure what to do here.. need someone to walk me thru getting my phone working again.. if possible. Thanks for any help!
     
  7. eric_son

    eric_son Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010

    Dec 7, 2010
    19
    1
    36
    Philippines
    Since you can still enter the recovery menu, try to restore the nandroid backup that you made. It should bring you back to the state before you flashed.

    You'll find the restore menu command under the same menu where you did the backup.
     
  8. get-some

    get-some Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011

    Jun 21, 2011
    11
    0
    15
    I tried that. It says it can't find the directory.... could I have erased the backup by clearing my cache and stuff?
     
  9. eric_son

    eric_son Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010

    Dec 7, 2010
    19
    1
    36
    Philippines
    I don't think so...clear cache and data should not have deleted the backup. Before I flashed over my original ROM, I did the same thing you did -- clear cache, clear data. After going back online, my nandroid backup was still there.

    If you can, try to stick your SD card to a card reader. You should see a folder called, ".\clockworkmod\backup\"
    Under that folder, you should see a folder with the date when you did the backup. In my case it's ".\clockworkmod\backup\2011-06-18.11.07.56\" My nandroid backup files are in there (*.img)


    If all else fails, you should still be able to run an RUU installer and flash a generic (unbranded) HTC Froyo ROM since you have a goldcard. That should be your last resort.
     
  10. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Alltel is cdma so you can only use. Cdma Roms. In the root sticky is a link to xda Roms. Look for the cdma section
     
  11. get-some

    get-some Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011

    Jun 21, 2011
    11
    0
    15
    Thanks SUroot. Any chance you can point me in the direction of one? I'm not finding that section... I'm not even picky at this point.. just want to be my phone to boot up. Thanks again!
     
  12. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
  13. get-some

    get-some Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011

    Jun 21, 2011
    11
    0
    15
    Thank you!!!! Do I want to include "radio" or no radio? What's the radio anyway? Also, what is the purpose for partitioning my CD card? Is this required, or just a good idea? Thanks a ton for the help!!!
     
  14. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Radio is the software that drives your radio. I.E, what is used to connect to your network.

    I dont flash CDMA roms myself so couldnt advice you either way really. With GSM (Sim card phones) we dont HAVE to flash radios. We can if we want to get newer ones.

    I would recommend staying away from radios initially if there are options without.

    Partitioning SD card is for more memory. Have a look at the memory FAQ in my signature and look at the apps2sd+ section
     
  15. get-some

    get-some Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011

    Jun 21, 2011
    11
    0
    15
    Ok, I installed one from the list and my phone is alive again!!!! Very happy! A couple questions: What can I do right now to make sure I have a back up if this happens again? & Should I have to do the HTC Desire battery fix thing again? This thing:

    Instructions

    1. Turn your phone on and charge it for 8 hours or more
    2. Unplug the charger
    3. Turn your phone off and charge it for one hour
    4. Unplug the charger
    5. Turn on the phone and wait 2 minutes
    6. Turn your phone off and charge it for one hour
    7. Unplug, turn it on and use as normal. Your battery life should now be a lot better [​IMG]
    Thanks!
     
  16. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    You should never have to do that. It's not good for the battery.

    Backup via recovery
     
  17. get-some

    get-some Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011

    Jun 21, 2011
    11
    0
    15
    When I back up with recovery, where does it put the file that it would call to later? Is it possible to get it off the SD card and put it on my computer in a safe place?
     
  18. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Sdcard/clockworkmod/backup/datetime...

    And yep put on pc is a good idea ;)
     
  19. get-some

    get-some Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011

    Jun 21, 2011
    11
    0
    15
    sorry for all the questions... does this backup my contacts too? or just the operating system and stuff..
     
  20. shauny13

    shauny13 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #123
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,272
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    1,272
    303
    163
    Male
    Beautiful Dorset
    it makes a complete copy of how your phone is now, like an image on a pc.
     
  21. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    It's a complete snapshot of your NAND. Ie, system, data and cache
     
  22. shauny13

    shauny13 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #123
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,272
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    1,272
    303
    163
    Male
    Beautiful Dorset
    your contacts should all get synced with your google account anyway. Install my backup for contacts, txts etc.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...