1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root I think something is wrong

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by bleedGreen, Jun 3, 2011.

  1. bleedGreen

    bleedGreen Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    420
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010

    Jul 2, 2010
    420
    7
    56
    Virginia
    I HAVE NOT received my OTA yet. I think im getting royally fukd!!!

    I do believe i will go to a verizon store than can force the upgrade.
    I was also told my ota is determined by my esn# (i think they call it that) any truth to that?
    I have checked phone status updates through setting, i pulled battery then *228, tried data section and unchecked the wifi option thing a ma doo. I check for ota via settings almost every 2hrs, I could go on....
    Verizon says my phone simply has not been selected yet. Meanwhile i could go to a corporate verizon store and out a force ota through my dx. So says Verizon.
    Any thoughts!
     

    Advertisement

  2. nsa_sailor

    nsa_sailor Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    413
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011

    Apr 6, 2011
    413
    52
    83
    Engineer
    Wichita
    You can have the phone do it without waiting.
    Settings > About Phone > System Updates
     
  3. OriginalGeek

    OriginalGeek Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    35
    6
    16
    IT
    Not OP but I've been trying that every ten minutes since about 9:00am - all I get is "Check for update was not available at this time. Try again later."

    Not even Please try again later. lol.
     
  4. Metfanant

    Metfanant Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,450
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010

    Sep 23, 2010
    2,450
    412
    163
    you guys could have had the update weeks ago....you could even have had the official update.zip file on June 1st...you just have to install it manually through the recovery menu..
     
  5. OriginalGeek

    OriginalGeek Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    35
    6
    16
    IT
    yeah, i kinda half-assedly looked for the official update.zip because that's how I did Froyo and it worked fine. I figured there would be a sticky thread with good detailed step by step for dummies instructions but I guess I just didn't want it bad enough to look very hard lol. It's not much to look over at my phone every once in a while and hit System Updates but I'm too lazy to go looking for the zip...I can wait for OTA, I just wanna complain while I do it! lol
     
  6. bleedGreen

    bleedGreen Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    420
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010

    Jul 2, 2010
    420
    7
    56
    Virginia

    I said I tried all that multiple times!!!!
     
  7. bleedGreen

    bleedGreen Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    420
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010

    Jul 2, 2010
    420
    7
    56
    Virginia

    Can u send me the link for the update please.!!
     
  8. nsa_sailor

    nsa_sailor Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    413
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011

    Apr 6, 2011
    413
    52
    83
    Engineer
    Wichita
    Only after you edited your post.
    :D
     
    bleedGreen likes this.
  9. TheGr81

    TheGr81 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    111
    2
    36
    Make sure you are on system version .340. I wasn't getting the update and it turned out that I wasn't using the correct SBF to flash back to stock Froyo.
     
  10. bleedGreen

    bleedGreen Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    420
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010

    Jul 2, 2010
    420
    7
    56
    Virginia

    I am not rooted. FYI
     
  11. bleedGreen

    bleedGreen Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    420
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010

    Jul 2, 2010
    420
    7
    56
    Virginia

    I am with 3.2.320 system version, unrooted.
     
  12. FragDroidX

    FragDroidX Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    820
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010

    Jul 24, 2010
    820
    314
    113
    You are not even on the most recent version of Froyo. Guess you never got it. It looks like you are going to either root and upgrade yourself or take it in and see what verizon can do for you.
     
    bleedGreen likes this.
  13. bleedGreen

    bleedGreen Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    420
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010

    Jul 2, 2010
    420
    7
    56
    Virginia
    Do you think Verizon can upgrade w/o the "latest froyo"?
    Is there a zip for updated FROYO, do that, then get updated gb?
    I really have no clue how root, sorta rather just use ota. I just recently received this dx (bought from someone)
    Please, I would love some input.
     
  14. Metfanant

    Metfanant Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,450
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010

    Sep 23, 2010
    2,450
    412
    163
    hop into the "All Things Root" section...right at the top of the forum there is a sticky with a link to all the versions that are out there...

    look above...

    if i remember right...that was one of the Froyo leaks for our phones...sounds like the guy who had it before you was rooted (im pretty sure you had to be rooted to install the .320 leak) and installed the leaked Froyo...never updated to the latest version...unrooted and sold it to you...shadiness...

    to get to .340 you will probably have to SBF...
     
  15. chippy

    chippy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    233
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009

    Dec 11, 2009
    233
    16
    38
    KS, USA
    Going to the store will be a waste of gas. They CAN'T push the upgrade to your device.
     
  16. twcowdery

    twcowdery Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    76
    Joined:
    May 18, 2011

    May 18, 2011
    76
    1
    36
    Not the OP, but I am a noob so be patient. :) Mine says 2.3.340 - is that the latest stock version of Froyo?
     
  17. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,269
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,269
    23,508
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    Yes, that is the most recent (official) version of Froyo for the Droid X.

    Cheers!
     
    twcowdery likes this.
  18. bleedGreen

    bleedGreen Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    420
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010

    Jul 2, 2010
    420
    7
    56
    Virginia
    dont even know what SBF is???

    What needs to be done to get me to GB??
     
  19. bleedGreen

    bleedGreen Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    420
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010

    Jul 2, 2010
    420
    7
    56
    Virginia
    when I get my phone to the latest Froyo will the phone then recognize the OTA for GB.

    What do I need to do to get to the latest Froyo. Tell me
     
  20. bleedGreen

    bleedGreen Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    420
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010

    Jul 2, 2010
    420
    7
    56
    Virginia
    can I get some help to get to most recent Froyo.
     
  21. bleedGreen

    bleedGreen Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    420
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010

    Jul 2, 2010
    420
    7
    56
    Virginia
    i just want to get to GB.......i know I need to wait and have all of yous to help me. But, I feel rocked right now. I just want to enjoy my DX to the fullest.
     
  22. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
  23. FragDroidX

    FragDroidX Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    820
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010

    Jul 24, 2010
    820
    314
    113
    First, are you 100% sure your device is not rooted? If its not you are going to need to install Z4root on your device. Once you are rooted we can then work on getting you on the right path to Gingerbread.
     
  24. Metfanant

    Metfanant Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,450
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010

    Sep 23, 2010
    2,450
    412
    163
    an SBF to .340 will get him to the latest Froyo without root...even after rooting he will still have to SBF...because a Maderstcok flash will fail on the update to Gingerbread...
     
  25. FragDroidX

    FragDroidX Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    820
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010

    Jul 24, 2010
    820
    314
    113
    Ah, good call. I forgot people were having issues going from maderstock to GB. I am going to blame my forgetfulness on Steven for not being around as much now that he is a mod. :p
     

Share This Page

Loading...