1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root I thought I was rooted?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ishx360, Jul 23, 2010.

  1. ishx360

    ishx360 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    28
    1
    16
    So I decided to root my phone today. Installed drivers then ran unrevoked and it worked through till it said done and at that point i had the green letters and black screen and i made a restore. I tried to download and install titanium backup and it said error root access failed. I thought I rooted my dinc but apparently I didn't? If i run the unrevoked will it mess up my phone in any way?

    EDIT** I just went through the menu and there is a superuser icon in there
     

    Advertisement

  2. TheWhiteBandito

    TheWhiteBandito Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    295
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    295
    48
    63
    Student / Software Developer / Web Developer
    Titanium Backup needs to download busybox. On the screen press "Problems?" and let it run that installation. See if that works.

    Try another app like Incredilight (free), if it works, then you have root.

    Since what you described above was clockworkmod recovery then you should have root.
     
  3. msjulie

    msjulie Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    87
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010

    Mar 14, 2010
    87
    9
    16

    The other thing that tripped me up is making sure your device has usb debugging enabled when superuser permissions are requested; don't know why it's needed but not doing that foiled me on my Eris...
     
  4. mrjinglesusa

    mrjinglesusa Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    381
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    381
    119
    88
    NoVA
    This. You need to let Titanium Backup install BusyBox or it won't work.
     
  5. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
     #15
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,182
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,182
    8,677
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    You are rooted. Follow the advice in post #2.
     
  6. ishx360

    ishx360 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    28
    1
    16
    thanks for the advice. I tried the incredible led app and it worked so I guess i am rooted. As for busy box, I tried installing that and it said my nand is locked so i will look into that. I should have paid more attention when reading the tutorial lol. I was in a rush to go somewhere so i rooted in like 10 mins skimming through stuff. (yes not a goo idea)
     

Share This Page

Loading...